We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up into the clouds !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mont Ventoux

Mont Ventoux
Vaison-la-Romaine, France
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Biking, Mountain biking, Hiking
Attraction details
Wilton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Up into the clouds !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We drove up the mountain, from Malaucene, to enjoy the spectacular scenery and to see what the Tour de France cyclists face as they climb this steep mountain. There is a beautiful look-out just before you get to the top - best place to take photos.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    82
    14
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fascinating transition from sun to snow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Visiting the summit of Mont Ventoux was an awesome experience. We did it by car, taking the highway that went through Malaucène. We were so impressed by the cyclists that were making the trip up (and down!). It's chilly at the top (-4C in May) so if you want to wander, make sure you are dressed for it.

It's important to note that there are two approaches to get to the summit along D974. We found the one that came through Malaucène to be the more stunning of the two, as the another approach had denser vegetation.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you follow the Tour de France you have seen Ventoux many times. It is the climb where you think they have all of a sudden landed on the moon. The trip up is steep, and on a foggy and windy day a little scary, but continue because it really is something that deserves to be seen. Besides the next time you watch the Tour you can say - I can't believe they are climbing and then tell everyone why!that

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pernes-les-Fontaines, France
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly beautiful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

As avid Tour de France spectators, we were excited to be able to make the drive up Mont Ventoux. My husband will certainly come back to do the more traditional cycle but even driving up in a car is quite intimidating. We had snow at the top so we could not go all the up but the views are beautiful..

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“On top of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The roads are great ascending and descending. The view at the top is wonderful, very invigorating. Well worth the trip!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mont Ventoux also viewed

Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse
 

Been to Mont Ventoux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mont Ventoux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.