We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret in France!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Jour et la Nuit

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Jour et la Nuit to your Saves list
Le Jour et la Nuit
1205 Chemin des Ruches, 84110 Vaison-la-Romaine, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret in France!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in the summer of 2012 for 2 days. We toured around France for eight days and, out of all of the places we stayed, this was our favorite (and ironically the least expensive!)

It was all-around lovely! The best way I can describe it is the French version of the house from "Under the Tuscan Sun." It is a beautiful old converted farm house, but all of the bedrooms have been renovated - modern and chic - that beautiful combination of the old with the new decor. The house is located in the middle of its own vineyard. As soon as we got there, I was immediately in heaven. Instead of heading out to town as planned, we decided to open a bottle of wine and enjoy our picturesque surroundings, wandering around the grounds and relaxing in their beautiful outdoor living space.

The B&B is run by a sweet little family. The hostess is kind and friendly. We met her husband in the morning, and he gave us recommendations for places to go nearby. Even their cute little daughter helped with the family business, tiptoeing over to bring us our coffee at breakfast before scurrying back to her mom after placing it on the table.

Somehow, we seemed to be the only people there during our stay, but we still got the full spread for breakfast each morning! -- the highlight of which was an assortment of fresh juice and jams from their garden (including grape juice and grape jelly made with the grapes from their vineyard!) Also included in our spread were: (of course) baguettes, croissants, a marvelous assortment of cheeses, meats, yogurt...

If I were to go back to France, I would want to come back here & just soak up the beauty and peace of this place for as long as possible!

Also, as a bonus, their are several adorable little towns nearby, worth a visit, as well as beautiful vineyards & wineries (with delicious wine!). Check out Mourchon - they have a very thorough tour & tasting in English every Wednesday!

I cannot recommend Le Jour et La Nuit enough! (Though just as a heads up, we did not see a "Le Jour et La Nuit" sign anywhere when we were trying to find it. So if you're following their directions, but don't see a sign either, don't worry! - you're probably at the right place!) :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
83
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Very cool place to stay in the middle of a vineyard. Our room was very modern and cool in a rustic converted farmhouse. Perfect and unique mix of old and new. The bathroom was also cool. Good night sleep here. Breakfast was delicious with local juices and good selection of meats and cheese.

Very near Vaison la Romaine (5 minute drive). They were building a pool when we were there so that should add to the experience for future guests.

I will say that it was near impossible to find as google maps did not plot it properly. We had to ask a nearby hotel where it was after 30 minutes of circling. Definitely consult something better than google maps if you stay here. This hotel had absolutely no signage. Even once there we were not share we had arrived.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

When you look at all the places you can stay at, it's hard to be better then the rest. La jour & nuit, is better then the rest. When you're looking for rest and tranquility you will find it over here. The owners are very friendly and helpful people. We had the room just above the dining room, witch was very clean and comfortable (Imho they did a bang out job on the lighting, and design of the room). It is a well succeeded combination between a modern and classic style. The comforts of today with the charms of few hundred years ago.it was a bit hard to find, because it is located in the middle of some vineyards, but when you use these coordinates it would be allot easier : 44.250948,5.046176. One night we stayed in for supper which was very nice as well. Bottom line, if you would like to visit the Provence, and you pick the region round Vaisson- La-Romain, you can't be better of then this place. Thanks for making it a very pleasant stay !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A fabulous conversion by Emanuelle and David and they are just now building a swimming pool to make it even better. We stayed 4 nights: our welcome was fantastic and nothing was ever too much trouble, including offers to take issue with local store over faulty goods (I fight my own battles, but such a kind offer). Agree with all the other comments re interiors, comfort etc. Lovely breakfasts but just missed having the option of eating in as the hotel is 2-3 km out of town. Apparently planning permission for catering wasn't possible in an area prescribed as 'agricultural'.

This is also the perfect base for so many great excursions:Vaison is lovely, Mt Ventoux awesome, loads of footpaths in the hills....all-in-all hard to fault.

Room Tip: The rooms are individually designed and profiled on the website: we liked our west-facing room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was reluctant to write this review because La Jour et la Nuit is a secret I would prefer to keep to myself. There's nothing negative I could say from our stay.

The building is nicely renovated in a modern style while retaining the Provence charm, and was located in a beautiful setting just outside the town of Vaison la Romaine (if not a little tricky to find the first time). The hosts were wonderful, as was the breakfast.

For cyclists, Vaison-la-Romaine is a good place to be based. There are many great rides nearby including Ventoux and the spectacular Gorges de la Nesque.

The feel was contemporary casual. You'll feel completely comfortable in flip flops having a glass of wine in the courtyard, where Plume (the dog) was a welcome companion.

Will definitely be back...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticino
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great place on earth!
The building is renewed with a perfect balance between preserving the old and ancient and adding the new and modern. An exquisite mixture between old and new.
Spacious rooms, great furniture, every detail thought over twice, sleeping quality superb (room, but also matras etc.).
Breakfast very complete and delicious top quality, service by always smiling landlady that is always available for any additional information on the nearby city or area in general.
Unforeseen late arrival was miraculously accepted and solved.
THANK YOU !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed one night on our visit to Vaison la Romaine.
The farm house is well restored and situated among vineyards and orchards.
The rooms are stylish and well appointed , a good 4 star hotel standard and a warm welcome from the owners.
The breakfast is very good with fresh fruit and home made jams.
There are no sign posts to the BB even when you are in front of it. Look at the map and take the D975 to get there and do not rely on your GPS or you may arrive via dirt track!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Jour et la Nuit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jour et la Nuit

Address: 1205 Chemin des Ruches, 84110 Vaison-la-Romaine, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Vaison-la-Romaine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Vaison-la-Romaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming guesthouse between vineyard and apricot-trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Jour et la Nuit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Jour Et La Nuit Vaison-La-Romaine, Provence, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Jour et la Nuit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.