We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very unusual experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes to your Saves list
L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   D 570 | Route d'Arles, 13460 Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A very unusual experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

This is certainly one of the more unusual hotels I have visited, although that is not to say it was all bad. It is billed as a 4 star hotel which it is, at least in part. The accommodation is in individual huts (rather like the trulli in sounthern Italy). The bedrooms are of a reasonable size, but the shower/toilet/handbasin space (all linked) is decidedly small. On the other hand the decor and facilities were nicely done although there were none of the accoutrements that one expects these days from a 4 star establishment (water, slippers, gowns etc). The environs of the hotel are beautiful and well kept. I was there for a business meeting but I can imagine being very bored if I was not interested in horse riding, there is not much else to do for miles around. The biggest negative for me was the restaurant. The kitchen was very mediocre and for France, I thought the food was poor. The staff were friendly and helpful. So all in all a mixed bag; an unusual and attractive location to get away from it all. but don't expect the usual facilities of a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    79
    27
    20
    4
See reviews for
35
119
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

loved this place so much it was extremely expensive for what it was but it suited my lovely lady and I very well .. the little huts give privacy and seclusion in a very busy part of France .
im pleased I was away from road and at the end of a little peninsula and as the rest of my holiday was camping I was able to set up my camp stove(also useful as no kettle provided which is in my opinion bit unusual ) and cook at the decking while catching a few carp in the pond/marshland surrounding the hotel .. which I thought was great .. mosquito heaven thou :(( so pack and load up on jungle strength repellent.
I did love this hotel and I can understand all the other reviews but as I didn't have much to do with anyone during my stay I cannot really comment on that but I feel you could prob get better value for money else where

Room Tip: away from road if poss
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Everything about this hotel and accommodation was quality and of a very good standard. The management and reception were polite and helpful. Our room was stylish. The big negative was the restaurant...we arrived after huge traffic delays but were told we could still eat in the hotel restaurant. ..in actual fact it was only 9.40! Our experience was dreadful. The head waiter was rude and clearly displeased and we were rushed to our table and out again within the hour. He told us all the things we couldnt have including a cheese plate (this wasFrance!!!) and having paid £100 or so, for a scant meal and a bottle. Fast food served with temperament and a hole in our budget!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendrik S, Propriétaire at L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Dear Clients,

Thank you so much for your feedback on your stay in Camargue. We were delighted to welcome you and our Personnel at Reception is very pleased to read your comments. We take very seriously your remarks on your experience at the restaurant and apologize, should you have any inconvenience caused. We are very concerned about the overall service, as for the hotel and the restaurant.

You qualify your stay as “quality stay”; we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again in Camargue soon.

With our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to stay for one or two nights, and the little rondavel type room was very nice and in a peaceful spot, except outside you could hear noisy main road at 90+kph, no complimentary water in room, shower too short and no shower curtain, drains smelt, no bar service by pool in afternoon, no service by other pool near restaurant, no food available from any restaurant or by pool until after 7:30pm - no good for kids. Horse riding was great with little ponies for under 2 year old.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We have been in this hotel for one night and the room service was not so good .
First is not an hotel but the rooms are small houses around the area for the 'camargue lovers'
Old bathroom and not very cleen , old blanchets , no heating ...tv was out of service ( maiby because if old battery I the remote control), wii fi was not working in the room!
The rate was 230 euro for one night with breakfast ...too much

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendrik S, Propriétaire at L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor. We are sincerely disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at the Auberge Cavalière du Pont des Bannes. Like you mentioned, the hotel is not what we usually expect from a hotel. It is located on a huge domain in the middle of swamps surrounded by nature, bird species and flamingos. Indeed, Camargue lovers like to come here and enjoy the wild and charming landscapes. Obviously, you were not expecting this kind of property.

We duly take notes from your comments about the room and service. It seems that some technical problems occurred during your stay and we apologize for the inconveniences. Should you have notified it to us, we would have been more that delighted to discuss it with you.

Despite all this, we sincerely hope that you enjoyed Camargue region and its typical ambiance.

With our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes

Address: D 570 | Route d'Arles, 13460 Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
#9 Romantic Hotel in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
En bordure du Parc regional de Camargue, entre terre et marais, s'eleve la grande Cabane de l'Auberge Cavaliere du Pont des Bannes, suivie d'une envolee de cabanes de gardian, a fleur d'eau. Au gre du vent ou de vos humeurs, vous irez chevaucher a travers le marais sous le vol impromptu des flamants... Vous foulerez de vos pieds les etendues de salicorne au phare de la Gacholle... Ou, tout simplement, vous degusterez un verre de rose sous les tamaris et dormirez dans nos Cabanes de Gardian... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Cavaliere Hotel Saintes-Maries-De-La-Mer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.