We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Palunette is the type of hotel one only hopes to find in a foreign country. Spacious rooms, attentiive staff, and a welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Palunette

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Palunette to your Saves list
La Palunette
Route d'Arles, 13460 Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, France   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“La Palunette is the type of hotel one only hopes to find in a foreign country. Spacious rooms, attentiive staff, and a welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

4 star service in a small homey place to stay. Absolutely every effort is made by the staff to make patrons feel wanted and welcome. Helpful and knowledgeble guidance from restaurant suggestions to day trips, and a cozy lounge with a warm fire and lively conversation fueled by a tastefully well-stocked bar create a homey atmosphere and a sense of being among old friends. I wish I could find a place like this everywhere I go.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    42
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
85
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arley, Alabama, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I spent a week at this hotel, the staff is wonderful !! Rooms are very clean and comfortable.
A patio for each room. Very nice !! I would stay here again. Breakfast is great !
I can't tell you how much I enjoyed my stay here. Wonderful family run hotel !!! There are many hotels along the road to Santes Maries de La Mer, I'm sure none better...

Room Tip: Fitness, Spa N/A don't need them, walk into town, Very nice hotel !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I experienced excellent service. Loved the room décor, very comfortable, clean, it had a great view that included a beautiful Camargue horse grazing. Little patio to relax and drink espresso. Very quiet. Nice pool, but the weather was too cold for me to swim. Breakfast served every morning and yummy coffee. Will revisit some day with my family.
Great location, you can walk to the bakery and grocery store. Camargue Horses every where.
Aurélie was the BEST, great customer service and her suggestions on places to visit in the area were excellent. Very friendly, very helpful. Lovely family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel is small, only 12 roms, very quiet and only 1 km from Santes Maries de la Mer city, with all shops, restaurants, beaches and all other that you can need. The hotel is next to the road but from the room, we had the 4, we did not feel any motor noise. The room is big enough, with small terrace (all the romos are at ground level) and direct views over a lagoon. You can use the terrace forniture to take your breakfast (we do not book the petit dejeneur) or dinner only with the sound of the nature, frogs and birds from the lagoon. The bath was big and all right. Lots of wáter and very hot. The room temperature was nice, you can control by the wáter radiators and a/c for heat and cold. The room had a modern flat TV, fridge and water kettle. The hotel had private parking space. The room number 4 is straith ahead from car parking and had good views to lagoon. The manager are kindly and helpfull. We did not use the swiming pool as the weather was too cold.

Room Tip: The room number 4 is straith ahead from car parking and had good views to lagoon. The manager are ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We just spent one night at this hotel on June 26th 2012. When we first arrived, I thought we had pulled into the wrong place. It wasn't at all what I expected, I thought I had pulled into a barn. Yes, there are stables all around as the area is well known for its white horses, this property was also home to horses.

We paid €104 for the night, the room was very basic, even a little disappointing. There was no AC and the heat felt oppressive at first. We had to ask for more towels and the overall quality of them left a lot to be desired.

Having said that, the setting was great when the initial shock wore off. The owners are very pleasant and accommodating. They recommended a hotel for us down the steet as it was our anniversary and the meal we had was beyond incredible. Each room has a private balcony that looks out onto the marsh.

What I did not like about the hotel was the amount of bugs. But that's to be expected given the natural surroundings. The was also a lingering smell of horse poop in the air but again to be expected. There is NO AC in the rooms, but with the windows open and the screen door, it's comfortable.

Here is what impressed me the most....


My husband got violently I'll during the night, he was throwing up all night. The owners were very helpful, offered to call a doctor and allowed to stay till 2pm the next day so he could sleep. His illness was not related to the surroundings or food, just a preexisting condition that flared up unexpectedly.

The gown of Saint Maries de la Mer is about 3 minutes drive away. If you are looking for a " holiday inn" type of hotel, this is not for you. If you like rustic and down to earth owners, then you will like this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

There are quite a few hotels on the road into Saintes Maries but I doubt there's a better one than La Palunette. From the moment we got off the bus from Arles we were made to feel welcome. The clean, comfortable rooms back on to an etang. (As a keen birdwatcher, the first thing I saw when opening the patio door was a hoopoe taking flight, the first thing I heard was a black-winged stilt.) We fell in love with the decor (some 'French farmhouse', some modern, all beautifully combined), and the managers (especially Francois) were pleasant, talkative and extremely helpful. It is only a 15 minute stroll to the town - close enough for the beach and restaurants, far enough from the noise and crowds. It doesn't have its own horse rides, but there are half a dozen places for that within 5 minutes walk. All in all, an excellent spot for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: The best lake view is probably from rooms 7-9 as they are on (very) slightly higher ground and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The hotel was full of character and everything in our room appeared to be new. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had a good nights sleep in quiet, peaceful surroundings off the main road into Saintes Maries de la Mer.
The room had a lovely terrace overlooking the marshes with unusual birdlife.
The staff were extremely friendly and were anxious that our stay should be as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Palunette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palunette

Address: Route d'Arles, 13460 Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Palunette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palunette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.