We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect food. Perfect location. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Philippe

Chez Philippe
Port de Theoule | 06590, Theoule sur Mer, France
0493498713
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $54
Cuisines: Chowder, Seafood, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect food. Perfect location. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Celebrated my fathers 70th birthday. Book table in advance. Nice staff. Perfect location on the beach and old harbor. Great menu with fish and meat. Nicely arrangered and plenty of food. Strongly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    57
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Perfect setting and lovely fish soup! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We returned here after two years and the food and service was still superb. Fish soup for two served in a terrine so you can top up seconds yourself, croutons garlic mayo and grated greyere to go with it. Very good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Worth a return visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The location, ambience and décor are very appealing. The welcome and service was efficient and unobtrusive. We both had the St. Peter's Fish with mango sauce that was really excellent, as were the first courses. Great overall setting right on the beach with parking (at night). We are in the area for several weeks and plan on a return visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best fish soup...ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I was enjoying a short break in the area,and was using the beach opposite Chez Philippe daily.It looked like a typical seaside restaurant,but we decided to give it a try for dinner.As soon as we walked in I knew it was special.Great,but subtle,jazz music in the background,tables full of people in happy conversation-and really attentive staff.Excellant menu,with a selection of meat as well as incredibly fresh fish and seafood.The fish soup was the best I've ever had!My friend has a lot of food allergies,but the kitchen was really accommodating,and we're able to ensure she had a great meal too.Can't wait to visit again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoule sur Mer, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food, nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The food is constantly good, it is quite pricey. You can come here for lunch, but there are other places on the same beach that serve wonderful lunch options. Be sure to make the reservation. I like to come to this place as my kids can run around on the beach and you sit and enjoy the view and food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Philippe also viewed

Theoule sur Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Theoule sur Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Theoule sur Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Theoule sur Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Chez Philippe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Philippe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.