We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "vacation" from our trip to the Côte d'Azur and Provence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Plage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel de la Plage to your Saves list
Hotel de la Plage
14 Rue des 3 Dauphins | Aiguebelle, 83980 Le Lavandou, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Le Lavandou
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great "vacation" from our trip to the Côte d'Azur and Provence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

In May 2011, traveling from Grasse to Aix-en-Provence, we took the coastal route for a couple of days and wanted a "vacation" from the trip, just to enjoy the beach near Le Lavandou and to give us the chance to visit Bormes-les-Mimosas at leisure.

We were very pleased with our choice of the Hôtel de la Plage, on Aiguebelle beach. In mid-May, the sea was cool, but we enjoyed swimming at this sandy beach. The beach club sun loungers were included in our room rate, as we were not in high season.

We booked a room on the second floor, with a balcony ("loggia") fronting the beach. The hotel's website doesn't mention this, but there are a couple of two-bedrooms with shared bath mini-suites (no kitchen), with a balcony. We found the half-board option to be an excellent value (good food!) and loved our stay there. In a very busy trip, we were very glad to take the time to sit in the sun, swim, read and rest.

We booked it directly, by e-mail. The website lists the hotel as a 2-star, but we found it comparable to a 3-star -- very clean, comfortable, and with very pleasant staff. The location was perfect. Wi-fi was available in the lobby.

Lunch was in Le Lavandou, where we lucked into a lavender festival, and in Bormes-les-Mimosas the second day. I see why people return again and again to this hotel and we would have easily stayed a week!

Room Tip: The hotel's website doesn't mention this, but there are a couple of two-bedrooms with shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    40
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
39
73
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
beaugency
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Hotel de la Plage is a fine hotel. Rooms are good, the owner and help are very nice, the easy access to the beach is terrific and it's basically very quiet. What's not to like? Well, nothing really, except...let's say that it lacks a certain charm. It has more of a bigger hotel atmosphere. But, hey, that's probably nitpicking and purely personal.

Also, we weren't too fond of the fact that they made you pay for Internet access, which seems kind of cheap, especially when that's rarely the case in most hotels that we've stayed in - even less expense places.

The food the first evening was just completely ordinary, maybe not even that good. An off night? Perhaps it was just that. We didn't want to try it again after the first night's less than satisfactory experience. Instead we ate dinner the following two nights at the Hotel Beau Soleil across the street. Not only was dinner very good there, but the dining room itself was far nicer than sitting outside behind plastic sheets in a picnic table type setting. It's one thing if you're eating casual at casual prices, but not for the prices they were charging. Also the young waiting staff were even more casual and rather indifferent. Again, I have no qualms about that if what you're paying is based on that kind of service and setting, but that's it not at all the case.

Now, if you go next door to La Nautique you have much the same atmosphere (though nicer view), but there, at least, you get far better food for a much more reasonable price.

So, you probably won't be disappointed in the hotel, but give La Nautique and Hotel Beau Soleil a try for food (especially La Nautique for lunch)

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea are obviously far and away the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maubec, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

i honnestly cannot fault this fantastic adress . professional,reasonable rates,excellent
position on the beach ,great servive +food ,very clean rooms .
unfortunate we can only stay 1 week a year .best adress on the coast !!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden-Baden, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed already twice in this nice hotel. Recommenable are rooms with private terrace. Quiet and clean. Best offer for price. Rooms have acceptable size. Bathroom with shower. Nice small beach. Good restaurant next door.We intend to come back. Interesting for people who want to practice walking or biking.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

Excellent room, comfortable bed, bathroom on the small side, but everything you need is there. Being kept very clean by a team of friendly ladies. Family run hotel with friendly staff who go to great pains to make you comfortable. Good kitchen too.
Real value for money and a pleasure to stay!
Public transport outside the season is next to inexistent, so a small car helps.
Very quiet, no nightlife.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel de la Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Plage

Address: 14 Rue des 3 Dauphins | Aiguebelle, 83980 Le Lavandou, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Le Lavandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Le Lavandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de la Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.