We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting with very helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L 'Orangeraie Parc Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added L 'Orangeraie Parc Hotel to your Saves list
L 'Orangeraie Parc Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Ramatuelle | 545, Bd Georges Selliez - BP 33, 83420 La Croix-Valmer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in La Croix-Valmer
Suffolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting with very helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Hotel L'Orangeraie is a beautiful property set in an old convent. We stayed for a week in July 2014 and couldn't have been more pleased. We had a large superior sea view room on the 2nd floor which had the most spectacular view of the sea. The bathroom was large with a separate shower and bath. Really hot water and good pressure which can be a problem in older properties. The air conditioning was also really appreciated as the south of France can be very hot in the summer. We were also pleased to find coffee/tea making facilities in the room as well. Plenty of wardrobe and drawer space.

Breakfast was buffet style downstairs (€18) near the beautiful pool area. Typical sort of offerings of both continental style breakfast and a small selection of cooked breakfast bits. Our only complaint would be that the cooked breakfast bits had gone cold on a few of our days there. The girls who served a at breakfast were really helpful.

We ate dinner at the hotel once and it was very good. A very seasonal menu and nice selection of local wines.

The reception staff, Christophe and Sinead, were incredibly helpful and friendly and went out of their way to sort things out for us.

La Croix Valmer itself is only a ten minute walk downhill and you can catch the free shuttle (Navette Gratuite) in town. The tourist information office is there as well. To go a bit further afield like St Tropez etc. you can take the normal bus (Varlib) for €3 one way. We walked down to the nearest beach, Debarquement, twice through the vineyards which was a nice distance like 3km-ish.

We had an exceptional holiday and would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralex, Directeur général at L 'Orangeraie Parc Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for having dedicated a part of your time to post a comment further to your recent stay at our hotel. We were very happy to welcome you and hope to have the pleasure to see you again soon at l'ORANGERAIE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    39
    23
    10
    10
See reviews for
23
95
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grasse, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A lovely hotel with a unique style, very friendly staff, great breakfast and the best ever receptionist who went out of his way explaining the history of the building, making everything to feel us most welcome!

Room Tip: The room with mezzanine worked well for us, travelling with children aged between 3 - 5 - it allowed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralex, Directeur général at L 'Orangeraie Parc Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for having dedicated a part of your time to post a comment further to your recent stay at our hotel. We were very happy to welcome you and hope to have the pleasure to see you again soon at l'ORANGERAIE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolle, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have stayed for many years at this charming hotel. Close to the beaches in La Croix Valmer and easy access to St Tropez. We like that we are able to fit our family in one two story room. It is a beautiful old manor with lots of charm and very nice reception staff. We have never had anything but a great experience at this hotel.

Room Tip: We travel with our two sons and are able to get a great room with a second floor mezzanine and two s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralex, Directeur général at L 'Orangeraie Parc Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for having dedicated a part of your time to post a comment further to your recent stay at our hotel. We were very happy to welcome you and hope to have the pleasure to see you again soon at l'ORANGERAIE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We fist stayed at the hotel in summer 2013, we found it by searching for a reasonably priced hotel near St Tropez to stay for a long weekend. Little did we know on what to expect, none of the pictures you see give the true impression of what this hotel has to offer. From the moment we drove in through the grand metal gates, we were mesmerised! The building is of a beautiful and impeccably finished orange colour, with all its grandeur of a colonial French architecture … with a fountain in the middle of the courtyard that murmurs out the water, a grand staircase entrance to the hotel reception decorated with seasonal flower pots. The reception, which was a chapel in the days when it was owned by a family, gives you that sense glamour that transits you back in time. The reception staff is always most helpful and courteous. The rooms, are all decorated in a unique and individual style. You will not have a room looking alike and we know, as we had our wedding this summer at the hotel that hosted all of our guests. My favourite rooms are 19, grand and they call it the honeymoon room. Room 6, beautiful blue decor and room 2, simple colour pallets but with an immense beautifully tiled bathroom. The views from all the rooms facing the sea are breath taking, you have to see it to fully understand it!

Breakfast is simple, but has all the classic servings. This is the area where the hotel perhaps can improve. Not necessarily the food itself, but the presentation. The terrace is beautiful, surrounded by flowers growing over the balcony and facing the grand pool, with palm trees and greeneries. The new tables on the terrace we feel are slightly of out of place by design, the tables that were there originally in 2013 when we first visited the hotel where best. Those were metal tables and chairs, in white designed in a true French style that evoked class and relevance to the surroundings. Something the hotel might want to consider changing …

After the 2013 trip, we decided to have our wedding at the hotel, it took place this year in June. If you are a couple about to get married, we cannot recommend enough this place. It was the most perfect, personal and fun event! The hotel staff and manager will be your wedding planner throughout, recommending and referring you to all the relevant contacts to make it a perfect experience.

This hotel is our home in South of France now!!

Room Tip: Chose the rooms facing the sea. My favourite rooms are 19, 6 and 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralex, Directeur général at L 'Orangeraie Parc Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Google Translation
Cher client,
Nous vous remercions d’avoir dédié une partie de votre temps à poster un commentaire suite à votre récent séjour parmi nous. Nous avons été très heureux de vous accueillir et espérons avoir le plaisir de vous revoir bientôt à l'ORANGERAIE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

beautifully located on the hills of La Croix Valmer. Wonderfully overlooking the mediterranean sea and the vignards. Very nice rooms, very quiet. Breakfast ok, dinner outstanding quality, service ourstanding!

Room Tip: get the second (highest) floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralex, Directeur général at L 'Orangeraie Parc Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for having dedicated a part of your time to post a comment further to your recent stay at our hotel. We were very happy to welcome you and hope to have the pleasure to see you again soon at l'ORANGERAIE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is a very imposing hotel with views to the coast and the islands. We stayed here in May and the weather was warm and sunny. Our room on the front had sea views, was light, clean and attractive. The staff were all very pleasant and friendly. We would definitely stay here again. The only slight downside was that at 12 Euros per person, the continental breakfast was very plain - a yogurt or piece of fruit should be added at this price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The staff were warm, welcoming and very professional. The room we had did not have a sea view but this did not bother us in the least. It was double aspect and bright and airy. It was large and comfortable with aircon, minibar and safe and tv. The bathroom was large as well, yes the shower head was mounted at waist hight but there was also a mount at head hight. The pool was clean and well maintained and the gardens were immaculate. A very calm oasis away from the madness which is St Tropez. The local town had great bars and restaurants and was only a 10 minute walk down the hill. Be careful though as there are no pavements on the way.
We ate here one night and the food was pleasant, but the menu was not as extensive as I imagined. The bar staff were extremely attentive and all in all it was a very lovely experience.

Not long back from this delightful hotel and I am surprised by some of the reviews written.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L 'Orangeraie Parc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L 'Orangeraie Parc Hotel

Address: Route de Ramatuelle | 545, Bd Georges Selliez - BP 33, 83420 La Croix-Valmer, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > La Croix-Valmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in La Croix-Valmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — L 'Orangeraie Parc Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel l’Orangeraie is ideally situated in La Croix-Valmer in the Gulf of Saint-Tropez , between the Maures Hills and the most beautiful sandy beaches of the Côte d’Azur.From the long ago convent to the just born Orangeraie, this majestic 1900’s mansion did not loose anything of its former charm. Nestled in a magnificent park of secular palm trees, this hotel of legend offers a wide panorama on the sea, from Cap Lardier to Les Îles d’Or : Le Levant and Port Cros.31 sunny and spacious bedrooms and suites recently renovated, faced south for most of them, offer a breathtaking view on the sea and the islands ; heated swimming-pool under the palm trees, long ago convent beautiful Chapel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your L 'Orangeraie Parc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Orangeraie Parc Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L 'Orangeraie Parc Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.