We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Souleias

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Souleias to your Saves list
Hotel Souleias
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plage de Gigaro, 83420 La Croix-Valmer, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in La Croix-Valmer
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

The rooms are small and jaded. It seems that we are back in the 1980s and 1970s. What may have been trendy then, is no longer "in" these days.

The restaurant is also expensive (there are not many alternative outlets unless you have a car).

Basically, the hotel try to capitalize on its location and sea view. These are the only positive things about it. The rest lags behind in terms of quality.

Limited choice and quantity of breakfast

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    12
    12
    7
See reviews for
9
38
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

A lovely hotel - discreet, unfussy with the most exquisite views of the Med. We stayed at the end of September for two nights and really didn't want to leave. The hotel was a gem. Charming but not pretentious, comfortable without fuss. Our room (47) was lovely. White colours that were fresh and relaxing, with the lush green garden in front. We were able to make the most of both the sea (a ten minute direct walk) and the glorious pool. And the price was very reasonable at the end of September. What the French do better than most - understated style and naturally beautiful.

Room Tip: 47 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

I don't mean to be nasty about the Souleias as the staff were very kind to us, but for the prices they charge, I feel I must be honest. The management run the place from their own perspective, ignoring all opportunities to be somewhere special, as well as client feedback and suggestions. The location is so amazing, I really hope that someone snaps this place up and refurbs it as it could be sooo fantastic.

The main gripe we had is the decor. The inside is DATED, extremely run down and does not look like it has been updated since it was done in the 1980s. The leaflet about the hotel uses photos that were taken in the 1980s and that pretty much sums this place up... Yes the terrace and restaurant are lovely, but for the prices they charge there are better options in the area. We rejected the first room we were shown - a tiny cramped, damp outdoor 'garden' (chalet) room with water marks, ants and cracked terrace, not to mention mosquitos. It had a beautiful view of the sea, but the room just didn't justify 300 Euros a night. It was like a bad butlins nightmare...

So we negotiated with the manager and she offered us a suite, normally 411 Euros, at a reduced rate. We normally stay in standard rooms but we really could not stay in the first room they showed us, so we took a deep breath and put it on Visa. The room was in the main building and was the most expensive room they had (and the only alternative at the time). It was much larger, with hideous white lacquered furniture, twin beds and a cheese plant - plus cracked terrace with ant infestation and a very old, worn out, wonky, plastic table and chairs. But of course a gorgeous view!

The staff were sweet enough but pretty basic service. For example the poolside restaurant is open from 12 - 4pm, but on one day when we went over for lunch at 2.30pm they told us they had closed early as it wasn't busy. We were the only people by the pool and they hadn't come to let us know so that was pretty annoying. We had to get dressed, with our 2 year old daughter and drive down to one of the beach restaurants. I mentioned it to the manager (being a believer in constructive feedback) and she was very blase about it - "yes I know it says 4pm, but if we are not busy we close".

The path down to the beach is pretty treacherous - we only took it once. Broken steps, bits of metal sticking out of the ground, overgrown plants - not particularly pleasant. Its much easier to stick to the main road (but a bit of a trek back up afterwards).

We had dinner in the restaurant once and it was lovely. The beautiful view (again), watching the sun set as we enjoyed a bottle of local rose wine and fresh fish. Lunches were fresh salads, again v tasty. Breakfast was fairly basic - no freshly prepared cooked food, just a boiler to boil your own eggs! At Euros 22 quite expensive we thought. I wouldn't go for the half board option - we had breakfast in the hotel a couple of times, but mainly drove to a boulangerie for amazing fresh pastries - rather than the doughy mini croissants the hotel had. Lunches are fine, but the local restaurants also offer great food and we found it nice to try out different places.

It really is stuck in a by gone era. Most of the other guests were in their 70s/ 80s and seemed to have been visiting for many years.

All hotels are expensive here, but when we return (which we will as the location is so beautiful), we'll stay at the Pinede Plage or Chateau Valmer. We visited both and they were lovely. Plage Gigaro is fine, but Plage Heraclees is the best place to sunbathe, with some great lunchtime restaurants.

I'll write a separate review about the local renowned restaurant Couleurs Jardin - but be warned, it won't be glowing!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Croix-Valmer hotels

San Diego, Ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

The 180°+ view from this hotel is so beautiful it seems unreal. The hotel is located just above the beach of GEGARO in La Croix Valmer which I think is the place where they shot "And god created woman" with Bardot. Enough said ! The hotel stands in the middle of the most charming "pinede". Taking a nap by the pool in the cool-hot breeze of a july aftenoon facing this god-given horizon is just a total blast ( I personnaly reached extasy whenever the waiter brought us the mesclun-and-parmeggiano salad). The place is ultimately quiet due to its location. Rooms are large and comfy, though we would have prefered a more frankly mediterranean kind of style (it seemed they were re-docaretaing the place for we noticed rooms have different styles) Staff is really caring. Owner's real sweet. Downtown Saint-Tropez is 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

We have just returned from a week at the Hotel Souleias. I was very disappointed by our room and the service of the staff at the hotel, particular the pool bar. The decor on the corridors of the main hotel building needs updating, I can't believe that a hotel would put carpet on the walls!!

One thing that you could not fault was the view from the pool. The Hotel is located in the hills about 600m above sea level and the view whilst lying by the pool was magnificient.

The food at the hotel was also very good but extremely over priced.

  • Liked — View from the pool area
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

It's a good hotel but definitely has some negative points.
The pool area is lovely - plenty of sun loungers, a cool but refreshing pool, swimming towels available, and robes in our room. We arrived late afternoon but they were still happy to give us lunch.
The cheapest dinner menu was 50 Euros for a starter and main. Obviously wine and water extra. Dinner was very good though - excellent quality.
Breakfast wasn't included in the price we had already paid so that was another 20 Euros.
However, we had asked for a twin room, which we got, but it was above the kitchen, so quite noisey, the smallest bathroom possible - you could almost sit on the loo, shower and clean teeth at the same time. There were L'Occitane bottles in the bathroom though which was nice. But the room decor was very basic and badly in need of re-decoration, as was the whole of the inside of the hotel I thought.
Be warned, the hotel is located high up a winding track above the sea - and once you are there, it seems like a long way down to go out for dinner etc. So you are rather cornered by their prices.
A pleasant stay but the extra charges all add up and definitely worth spending more time by the pool than in your room.

  • Liked — The pool area
  • Disliked — The bedroom
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2006

It was twenty years since we last stayed at this hotel and stayed by accident as the hotel we normally stay at (on the beach) was full. We were so pleasantly surprised - excellent restaurant, really well organised hotel - well priced and rather underrated.

Food was definitely superior to anything tried in the region, and possibly the best I have ever eaten on a half board basis. Five courses every night, substantial yet delicate with good choice.

We shall certainly come here out of choice next time.

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Souleias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Souleias

Address: Plage de Gigaro, 83420 La Croix-Valmer, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > La Croix-Valmer
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in La Croix-Valmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Souleias 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOULEIAS is a provençal oasis of life in the Peninsula of Saint-Tropez, in the heart of a park of 2 hectares overlooking the beach of Gigaro, with a panoramic view on the islands of Hyères (Port Cros, Porquerolles and the Ile du Levant).Situated at 5 minutes walk from a wonderful natural protected site of 220 hectares, this hotel will quite seduce you in thismarvellous landscape.It’s a preserved location in the Provence, which is ideal for rest and inspiration.The tennis court and the 21 meters heated swimming-pool with an exceptional panoramic view on the sea make the site idyllic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Souleias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Souleias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.