We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed and Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Premier Vieux Port

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Premier Vieux Port to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Premier Vieux Port
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   252, quai Francois Mitterrand, 13600 La Ciotat, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To -30% Off Room Rate
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in La Ciotat
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Great Bed and Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

There is simply nothing to fault with the seaview room we enjoyed. The bed was huge and comfortable with back-rests for those who wished to recline to read/watch the large TV etc. The bathroom had all one would expect with an excellent shower above the bath. The balcony was big and there was an extra chair just in case you wanted to invite a friend to enjoy the view. The room also had a nice bluetooth enabled sound system though which you could play your own music from your bluetoothed enable device.

The roof-top infinity pool area has now had day-beds added to lounging on. There is also a mini-gym for those who feel the need to work off the calories.

Love it the last time....still love it.

Room Tip: Don't bother with anything other than a Seaview room. The extra price is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    175
    28
    15
    14
See reviews for
54
217
8
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymm, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

The hotel has a great location and the views from my room were stunning (room 303). The hotel doesn't have its own restaurant or bar but there are plenty on the street and one right next to the hotel entrance where the food is delicious. The hotel is immaculate and the rooms are modern and clean. Great stay for a business trip and would go back for a weekend with my husband

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Great location next to the old port with pool and sunbathing terrace on the roof. A lively location for a hotel right on the edge of the harbour. The room had a great view out over the harbour and the markets that set up every evening during our stay. Plenty of restaurants to choose from all within walking distance of the hotel. For the more adventurous La Ciotat makes a very good base to hike out into the stunningly scenic countryside that forms the coastline from La Ciotat to Cassis. We hiked the cliff top path through to Cassis which is about 13-14 km depending on your route then taxied back. For lovers or haters of Jazz watch out for the annual jazz festival which is held outside the hotel. We caught one night of it which was ranged from unbearable to great depending on the act, fortunately the hotel does warn guests of the festival prior to your arrival so that you can either plan a different date to stay or pick a room that doesn't face the harbour. Great friendly staff who made the stay all the more pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the harbour are great for the views and the entertainment of watching the yachts t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea, New Caledonia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Clearly the location is the draw card here - situated right on the marina adjacent to the old dockyard with views right across the harbour. The room was furnished in very contemporary style, comfortable bed and small balcony to watch the world go by below. Only niggles were despite telling staff the safe wasn't working no one came to fix it and the plumbing needed attention as well as the air con which seemed a little ineffective in our room (302). You get a great view from the roof where the small pool and fitness centre are located. We loved our stay especially being able to walk out straight out into the night market and restaurants. There was a bit of noise from the Friday night market when we got back to the room but hey you really can't complain given moments earlier you were soaking it all up.

Room Tip: You need a room with a view over the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

This Hotel is good located beside the Old Port, near of the market and many restaurants, Church and tourism office. It is decorated in a contemporary style and shiny colours. Every looks neat and clean.
We spend there only one night, but I believe that is for a minimum of 2 night.
Hotel’s front open directly onto the bay. In other way, I must mention than the hotel´s back (from ground level to 3 floor or even the four have many rooms that have NOT view) there are few rooms that windows look directly to the neighbors’ kitchen and laundry of an old building; in that way if view is important I recommend that ask in the reservation to be in the front or in last floor.
Room was modern, calm and clean and have a balcony WITHOUT VIEW (or with a bad view). Bed was very comfortable with good lights for reading, they have a minibar, flat TV and a modern bathroom with an open view to the room, with a really fantastic shower and toilette apart. All the commodities are provided with a good service of free Wi-Fi access.
This Hotel have a lovely rooftop swimming pool overlooking the bay that is good but not huge. It have too Solarium, lounge chairs, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Turkish bath, small gym and showers, they had pillows but they didn’t have towels service on the terrace. Private parking is available on site with a little exorbitant pricing like extra.
The "BEST BREAKFAST" that I took in the COTÊ D’AZUR. it was not cheap but was value for money. The buffet have a stunning assortment of meats, sausages, cheeses, yogurts, milk, natural juices, tea, chocolate and coffee of nestpresso machine. A complete selection of fresh fruits, dry fruits, cereals, boiled and scrambled egg and the typical French bakery delights (bread and sweets). At evening is possible to take a good cocktail or nice wine on the bar.
Friendship and helpful staff.
WIDELY RECOMMENDED!!!

Room Tip: Choose rooms from façade (hotel front) on the 4 or 5 floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Great hotel right on the Port. We went for a 3 night stay. Staff were very helpful, one of whom made a restaurant reservation for us as we arrived - very nice touch as I'd only asked for directions to the place.

Roof top pool is not massive but good enough for a cool down dip. The Jacuzzi is good fun with a nice view over the Port out to see and the Hammam and Sauna were both great!

Didn't eat at the hotel as we found a great little place next door for breakfast and in the evening there was a huge amount of choice from all the restaurants in the port. We chanced upon a brilliant Italian place, really fresh pasta, slightly set back from the hustle and bustle of the night market and also serving Aperol spritz! COme out of the hotel turn right and it is about 80m away on the left.

We visited Cassis on one day and drove the scenic route over the hills - the views were stunning! Whilst there we had a 1hour boat trip to the Calanques - that was very nice and just perfect timing wise.

All in all a great stay - rooms were very clean. We had a room at the front with a port view and balcony - very nice, although due to the night market it can stay noisy up to about midnight - but it didn't cause us any issues.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here for four nights in early July while holidaying in the South of France. Originally we wanted to stay in Cassis but nothing was available and La Ciotat seemed quite close. We were stunned by the quality of the room and the view across the harbour. Yes there was an old crane outside the window, but as someone else pointed out, this an historic remnant and needs to be viewed as such. The room was spacious, clean and very modern. The balcony doors drew right back making the whole room feel like is was open to the outside. The bathroom was fabulous and had a fantastic shower. Best of all if was open plan, so you could shower while watching the boats go by! We didn't actually have the breakfast; instead we kept some milk and orange juice in the fridge, bought croissants from the boulangerie a few doors down, and enjoyed these on our balcony.

We also really enjoyed the Jacuzzi and swimming pool up on the roof - very peaceful and uncrowded.

We weren't bothered at all by noise from the market that was set up each night outside our hotel and along the port. In fact, it added a greater sense of enjoyment.

We didn't have a car so were dependent on buses and trains, which were both very good value. However, its quite a distance from the harbour to the train station - too far to walk. While the bus is only about 80 cents, they are not that frequent, so you have to plan carefully. Same goes for Cassis itself.

While Cassis is a picture perfect kind of place, La Ciotat is a bit more gritty and real. We actually enjoyed it for having that edge, to be honest, and it was a lot less busy.

Not having a car, we did find that Sundays were quite tricky, as once the main market had finished around lunch time, everything seemed to close down. And there were no buses running. So we were a bit stuck, but there was plenty to explore and we walked to the nearby botanical gardens and calanque, which was stunning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Premier Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Premier Vieux Port

Address: 252, quai Francois Mitterrand, 13600 La Ciotat, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > La Ciotat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in La Ciotat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Premier Vieux Port 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Premier Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Vieux Port Hotel La Ciotat
Best Western La Ciotat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Premier Vieux Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.