We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was great for our 2 night stay in Cassis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laurence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Laurence to your Saves list
Hotel Laurence
8, rue de l'Arene, 13260 Cassis, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Was great for our 2 night stay in Cassis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Great location close to harbor, beach, and casino but far enough from the harbor that you don't necessarily hear all the noise (it gets very lively on weekends- music was playing in a bar on the harbor until after 1 a.m. when we returned form the casino) Friendly front desk staff. But we aware that there is no elevator which can be a challenge if you have much luggage and are on the top floor as was the case with us. Our room had a view of the chateau on the top of the cliffs which was spectacular. - much better than a street view. Would recommend this place for a couple who wants a nice place to stay on a budget.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the chateau rather than on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    29
    26
    17
    9
See reviews for
6
51
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel has a good central location and is easy to find when you arrive in Cassis. However it is quite pricey considering that all you get is a small room, the rooms are very plain, and the decor and bedding rather 'tired'. I advise you to put your essential items in an over-night bag and leave the rest of your luggage in your car if that is the way you are arriving in Cassis because the staircase is endless and involves many hairpin turns. I wouldn't tell anyone to avoid this hotel, but neither should you steer hard in its direction. We stayed in much nicer places in the south of France for the same price. Perhaps Cassis has a limited number of hotels rooms and that means they can charge more, or perhaps it is a very popular resort town. I'm not sure the reason, but we paid the same amount for a very basic room as we did for much nicer places in Ales, Arles and Nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

The only reason to stay at the hotel Laurence is the location, as other commentators have noted. It's definitely overpriced for the quality of the rooms on offer, barely above the quality of a private room at a youth hostel. Our room was extremely small -- think door almost brushing the bed small -- the comforter had seen better days (cigarette burns and blood stains are always a nice touch), and the room was very damp. However, to my knowledge Laurence is the only budget-friendly hotel in Cassis that accepts pets, and we weren't even charged extra for our small labradoodle. That fact alone elevates the Laurence from a two-star to a three-star in my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

In hotel we have spent only one night. In room on the top floor (with a terrase). At first glance a room though also small, has seemed to the сlean. Through a 2-3 of hours after we have gone to bed, we have woken up. At first we have decided that from mosquitoes. Have turned on the light, it has appeared that the bed is complete of bugs.The reception is closed from 10 evenings till 8 mornings, our car was on a parking too far from hotel. So we had to wait for morning on terrace. We have gone down on a reception in the morning and have asked a receptionist to look at bed and bed-clothes. She has refused to upstears to room. We've shown photos of bad and floor with the insects, made at the night. The woman has told that it is accident since to us anybody on bugs didn't complain. We felt disgustingly!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Excellent location: few steps from the beach and restaurants, but at the same time not on main road, so quiet enough (discos won't disturb you). Room is tiny but there's everything you need, incluing conditioner. We stayed in room with garden view, in reality srectacular view on shateau.
Breakfast is expensive: 10 euros for bread and butter is too much I suppose, especially taking into account great number of restaurants outside.

Room Tip: ^Garden view is ok, you won't hear noise from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I feel bad giving this hotel a negative review, because the proprietress is nice, friendly, and efficient, and the room is in an excellent location (just two blocks to the bus stop from the train station, and two blocks to the beach and marina). And it's hard to complain about anything when you're staying on the French Riviera. However, you do ‘get what you pay for’ and while I always love a good price, I didn’t feel that this hotel represented a good value. The room was extraordinarily small, and the bathroom had to have been carved out of what was formerly a closet, so that the room could have a toilet en suite. And although I know the place was cleaned, it just had a generally run-down feeling.
Also, free wi-fi was advertised, but it is only available in the lobby of the hotel (not in the rooms) and the lobby closes at 10 p.m. If you know all this, you won’t have any other unexpected surprises, because Hotel Laurence is what it is. But don’t go just because it showed up in the Rick Steves guidebook.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

I had a great experience at Hotel Laurence. Both women I encountered at the front desk were businesslike but were kind and chatted with me a bit, gave me recommendations as to where to go to the beach, how to access the calanque walk and what restaurants to check out. They didn't ask to hold my passport but did ask that I pay up front 1 out of the 2 nights I stayed. They do not accept credit cards (I don't view this as a negative, just make sure to have cash on hand). Wifi is available in the reception area where there is a couch and magazines. The bus route to the train station is just up the hill and it is a 1 minute walk to the port and a 2 minute walk to the beachfront. The front desk opens at 8, (so don't plan to depart earlier than this) and closes at 10 in the evening but you can still access the hotel with a security code. The rooms are small and basic but I spent all of my time out and about anyway. The bathroom was clean and was cleaned during my stay - it was bright and had nice modern fixtures. The pillow on the bed is a french pillow- the long roll, but they do have rectangular pillows available if you need. TV in the rooms. I skipped breakfast and opted for a coffee at a restaurant on the port and pastries from a local pastry shop. Would return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laurence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurence

Address: 8, rue de l'Arene, 13260 Cassis, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Laurence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurence Hotel Cassis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laurence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.