We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be 3 and 1/2 stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal Cottage to your Saves list
Hotel Royal Cottage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6, avenue du 11 Novembre, 13260 Cassis, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Laguna, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Should be 3 and 1/2 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

French friends recommended this place which at first appears to be up the hill and away from the action, It is actually in a quiet location, but a five minute walk to the port, quite convenient unless you have walking challenges or multiple uncooperative children.
The welcome is warm. We did not pre-reserve when we cam in June 2012 so even weeknights suggest calling first, they speak English. We did get a quiet and private room facing away from the bay (and the street) with a large patio and even an extra small children's room with bunk beds,. As we were just two, we used this for luggage.
The breakfast (10Euro extra per day) is worth the cost in that it is pretty generous in a European sort of way and will save you time walking into town to search for your meal. They have a great machine for rapidly making variety of fancy coffees.
I especially enjoyed the pool during the hot humid days we stayed here. The beaches are a bit crowded and the water a bit cool (but wonderfully clean) due to local sub maritime fresh water springs. The pool was clean and just the right temperature. with a waterfall to keep out the sound of conversations and other ambient noise around you. My wife and I spend one of the oct relaxed afternoons of our Cassis vacation just sitting around the pool reading and dipping in to cool off from time to time.
They have three gym machines, free WiFi throughout the building and a computer for your use if you did not bring your own. Parking is easy and protected, a big plus in this crowded town.

Room Tip: Book ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    78
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
30
84
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed as an extended family - husband, my mother-in-law and our teenaged kids for 7 nights over May half term. We paid extra for the sea view rooms (302 and 303).

The sea views and the view of Cassis harbour and Chateau Cassis on the cliff are lovely. The balcony is generous sized. The bedrooms are on two levels with the sleeping area up some quite steep narrow steps. The sitting area and bathroom are on the lower floor. This suited us and the kids but wouldn't have suited my Mother-in-Law as the steps made access slightly challenging for her. Luckily we'd booked her into a room on the other side (304) which had a view of the garden and the pool and was only on one level.

The rooms had air conditioning which was OK, but you had to work hard to keep the room on our side tolerable in the afternoon as the sun came belting in. You had to keep the curtains shut and the air con on. The rooms were clean but the decor uninspiring. A bit tired and unfashionable. I longed to give it a makeover as it had the potential to be really nice. The toilet was small but that wasn't a problem.

The staff were really delightful - everyone from receptionists to cleaning staff were ready with a smile and a bonjour, and many of them spoke good english if you needed it. They seemed very relaxed and there weren't lots of rules. For instance, my son kept forgetting his shoes at breakfast time and they didn't bat an eyelid. My teenaged daughter didn't get up until really late and the chambermaids smiled and said it was fine, they'd come back later.

The pool, which was one of the main reasons I booked this hotel, is great. It has ample sun beds and umbrellas so you could always find sun and shade depending on what you wanted. The pool has waterfalls, bridges, steps, deep bits and fun glass sides where you can go down and take photos of people underwater from the garden. It has a bubbly bit, like a jacuzzi but not hot with a button nearby to make the bubbles appear. The kids loved that. It was also clean and nicely maintained. Not heated though. The only gripe I had is that the website promised a snack bar by the pool serving ice creams, pizzas etc but this apparently doesn't open until July. This wasn't made clear on the website and was a bit of a pain come lunch time when you had to go hunter gathering in Cassis.

The location of the hotel was also very good. 10 minutes walk into town down a hill. Again, my mother-in-law struggled and we took to picking her up in the car for the trip back up the hill (the hotel has a car park and we never struggled to get a space their even in our ridiculous seven seater - car parking is very difficult in Cassis so this was a real boon). The rest of us had no problem with the walk though.

Downsides? The breakfast - really mediocre. Not outrageous at 10 euros (by local standards anyway) but it comprised slightly stale croissants and jam, bread you could toast, fresh fruit, yoghurt, apple compote and ham and cheese. The coffee and tea came from a machine and the coffee was OK for machine coffee but I can't say more than that. The breakfast room is OK, dark and functional with good wifi (patchy everywhere else in the hotel). We ordered an omelette one morning for a change - it was the vilest I've ever had, like egg flavoured leather.

It's a shame the hotel doesn't up the ante on its catering. I know there's a lot of restaurant competition in Cassis but sometimes, you didn't feel like facing the bustling harbour twice a day (lunch and supper) and it would be nice to have something simple by the pool, in your room, or somewhere communal in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Victoria
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We spent three nights at the Hotel Royal Cottage Cassis after arriving by TGV and local bus from Paris. The Hotel was the most modern of our 3 week stay and we loved having an outside terrace where it was great to sit an enjoy a Cassis Rose or two! The Hotel is a good 10 -15 minute stroll downhill to the beautiful harbourfront and town area. Yes, the hill is a little steep on the way home but we saw it as good exercise after consuming the gastronomic delights of this gorgeous village. Breakfast was a bit expensive (13 euro) for what was on offer, and by about 9.30 am a lot of it appeared to be picked over and not replenished. At one stage we felt we had stepped into the set of Fawlty Towers when we asked the young waiter if there were any more dessert spoons. He went out to the kitchen for a look and said "no!" so we had to eat our cereal with a tea spoon!! We had a giggle about that. We had connecting bedrooms and although small, having full length glass sliding doors opening to the terrace made the room appear larger. The bathroom was also very small but adequate and the toilet - think areoplane and you'll know what I mean!!
All in all we enjoyed this Hotel - the beds were comfortable and clean and after all you are only in it to sleep!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We booked two rooms, a double and a family quad. The rooms were clean, quiet, and had very nice balconies looking out at gardens and pool behind the hotel. The pool was very clean and a reasonable size with poolside showers and lots of room to enjoy the sun. There is a snack bar at the pool, but it wasn't open when we were there. It is an easy five minute walk to the port and town. Instead of breakfast at the hotel, we bought fruit and bakery goods. Parking is free, plentiful, and the hotel is in a very convenient location to drive in and out of town.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I arrived tired and very late (after 1am). The night porter could not have been more helpful, and got me into my room as quickly as humanly possible!

The room itself was of a good size, with a large balcony which would be great if I had been on holiday rather than on business! Cleanliness was fine, and fittings were OK - though not opulent in any way.

The wifi was both free, and faster than many hotels which change significant amounts for it, which was a major bonus.

A few people have commented on the bathroom arrangements. Yes the toilet and bathroom are separate, but it didn't bother me.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

A good, clean three star hotel in a well-known French seaside town with free-of-charge car parking and wireless Internet connection. What would you want more?

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

This hotel was recommended by the tourist office. The staff working there was a little odd and things were moved in our room when we returned from dinner. Old old bed, smelt like smoke. No free parking. Way too expensive for what you got. Won't stay again, didn't feel secure. Walk into town was down a steep hill. Not so bad getting there but a pain in the butt climbing up. Took about 20 minutes uphill, but at least it was good exercise! Had to drag suitcases up the same hill from the free car park called mimosa. Nice rose bush out the front. Oh and if you do stay there... Be careful getting off the toilet. The wall practically touches your knees when sitting, which you tend to head butt when you get up, or lean forward.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Cottage

Address: 6, avenue du 11 Novembre, 13260 Cassis, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Royal Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Cottage Cassis
Royal Cottage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.