We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calanques as good as the Fiords in Norway or the NW Passage in Canada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calanques

Calanques
Cassis, France
04 91 72 65 73
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 15 attractions in Cassis
Type: Geologic Formations
Attraction Details
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Calanques as good as the Fiords in Norway or the NW Passage in Canada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great touring under brilliant sunshine, blue skies and sparkling water. Our tour boat visited deep into three of the Calanques and we could admire the sheer cliffs, the wonderful limestone rock formations, the hardy vegetation and the daring French high divers.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    139
    28
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carces
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cassis & Calanques”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

From Cassis you have to take a motor sailer to view the Calanques which are like small inlets cut thru the white cliffs to various little beach communities. You can of course do this overland but we recommend the sea approach - it is well worth the trip!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Kayak the Calanques!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I had a WONDERFUL time kayaking the calanques. There are 3 ways to get there: 1) via boat, but you cannot get off the boat 2) via hiking 3) via kayaking. We rented a kayak for 4 hours, packed 2 sandwiches and 4 beers and were off. It was awesome! The 3rd calanque is the best! The water is amazing colored and you can park your kayak and picnic/swim. I recommend going 1 day in advance to reserve the kayak though (we did and were told no reservations were needed, yet when we returned the next day they were all booked. Luckily we found a local guy who had an inflatable kayak that we were able to use and it worked out just fine!). The company gives you a waterproof container or backpack for the boat so you can put your belongings in there. I HIGHLY recommend bringing waterproof shoes. It's impossible to walk on the rocky beaches barefoot!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“It's paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A must see in the area. When visiting from Cassis you get to see 8 Calanques. Every one has its own charm. If you rent a small boat (some can be rented without permit) you can take your time and enjoy all the details of the Calanques including swimming in the clear waters. About 5 hours is the time you need to fully enjoy it. If you go for the organized boat trip you get to listen to the interesting explanations of the guide but no swimming. Less time is needed though. You choose your trade off but both options are valid. Third option is to trek it but you need to be equipped and do pick a day where temperature is not too high. In all cases enjoy some ice cream or local specialties in the port of Cassis on the way back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“GO TO CALANQUES! Either in Marseile or Cassis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Do not miss the Calanques, any of them. This one is of an easier access: you can reach it by car. During weekends, hotter days and vacations/ holidays all traffic is forbidden. TIP: go on a weekday and reach it by car. In the GPS set it to "route de calanques" and follow the directions. Is you decide to walk, pack light and be prepared for a long and high way up and down (we hiked and it WORTH the effort, but...)
There are many different callanques and the way to go is different. Ask for help from a local.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calanques also viewed

St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Calanques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calanques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.