We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff & food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Sol

El Sol
23 Quai Baux, 13260 Cassis, France
04 42 01 76 10
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 88 Restaurants in Cassis
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice staff & food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

It was a hard choice of restaurant at the waterfront but I chose this one primarily because there was also an English translation to the menu and I was tired of trying translate/guess. The entree was a nice, well presented and high quality. The main was good but had more a 'home cooking' feel but also including large portions. I was disappointed that they didn't have any of the local Cassis beer in bottle that was on the menu and it wasn't because it was sold out due to being busy.The staff where very friendly and I could not ask for better service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    50
    24
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“First patio to fill...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Always a good sign when the restaurant you choose fills up first and stays full all night! The food was all very good (calamari, great marinated octopus salad, entrecôte cook just right and good pasta!). Service was friendly and attentive. A good choice right on the harbor.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great location/fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

great food and location. We loved the octopus salad, whole fish and mussels. We went back 2x in 2 days. Nice table with plenty of shade from afternoon sun.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Va
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great choice among limited possibilities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

El Sol was recommended by both Rick Steves book and the front desk, we decided to make it our first dinner in Cassis. The dinner was nice, mussels were outstanding. Service was a bit lacking. It seemed as though the waitresses were far more interested in preparing tables for the next day's lunch than serving the customers. It was probably just a bad day because the place really is one the best in Cassis.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sol also viewed

Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to El Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.