We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Les Roches Blanches

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Les Roches Blanches to your Saves list
Les Roches Blanches
Route des Calanques, 13260 Cassis, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Possibly the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. concierge service was helpful for dinner reservations but anything beyond that was rude and useless. It's sad as the location is magnificent and outdoor area is amazing. We had two rooms, one was obviously newly refurbished and the other was more like a dingy motel room.
Definitely NOT four stars or worth the money!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished sea facing room however they will probably not give it to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    46
    22
    21
    17
See reviews for
21
82
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

By far the nicest hotel in Cassis. A little outside the main tourist street (5-7 min walk) perched overlooking the sea. Elegant and phenomenal views. Good service.

I want to laugh at people complaining that there is no heated pool, why would you want one in the mediterannean? The pool and loungng area, boule court, and access to the sea (by jumping off the boulders) is the best. Pretty rooms, nice atmoshpere, great overall.

Room Tip: sea views or town and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I've been there with my boyfriend for a few days: it was relaxing and the place is truly stunning (amazing swimming pool in a quiet place from the top of which you have a beautiful view of cassis and the sea). A little bit expensive but worth a try if it's just for a long we or so. The little village of Cassis is just a few minutes walk away from the hotel. Nice service, very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I agree with the other reviewers who said that this is not a four star hotel. I suspect though that this is one of the better locations you'll find in the sleepy, delightful town of Cassis. The rooms though once fabulous are decling, but still beautiful old European styling. Great bathrooms. Fan provided in room does work, though may not be good enough for you if you insist on very, very cold room temps. The beds are a bit on the very firm side.

The beauty of this hotel is it's location. Right on the water. With incredible views of Cassis and the ocean. If you stay, be sure to have breakfast on the terrace. It's a wonderful ten minute walk into town.

The staff were exceptionally friendly and good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have stayed in nicer travel lodges. The price they charge for a night is utterly ridiculous and they should be downgraded to a 2 or 3*. The rooms are basic without proper air conditioning. We had a noisy unit which blasted out cold air unsuccessfully and kept us up all night. Our room consisted of two single beds pushed together.The pool wasn't heated outside. After complaining, we did get a discount (rightly so), but they're weren't apologetic. Location is good but that's where the benefits start and end. Would not recommend, you're throwing money down the drain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is by far the worse hotel room I have ever stayed in. Why bother to book a 4 star hotel, when the bed is a little bigger than a single, the noise from upstairs when people walk feels like they are walking ontop of you, the mattress is not more than 5 inched thick and the shower abobve the bath has no curtain? When you shower the entire bathroom is wet. The bathroom has one small "Ikea" or cheaper version, little cupboard on wheels, and that is it.

The hotel has a good setting and if you are prepared to pay 285 instead of 180 euro a night, maybe your get a balcony or seaview. Hopefully better funishings as well. We did not try the restaurant and I cannot comment on that. The setting of the hotel is nice overlooking the sea, but it is a good 10 minutes walk in the road to the harbour of Cassis and the restaurants. I will def. not stay here again and will not recommend it although the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Pay the axtra and ask for a seafacing room with balcony on the top floor. The place has no isalation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights, but essentially spent 3 days there. Booked this place due to location and the amazing pool. Had low expectations of the service based on prior reviews, but was very pleased with how friendly and attentive the staff were, particularly at the front desk. Held our bags on arrival and departure days while we enjoyed the pool and walked to town. Extra towels were no problem, even let us take them on our kayak trip. The pool area and terraces were even more amazing than the photos show, and ultimately made the high room and food cost more worth it. Only ate breakfast and lunch here and would say it was decent, but didn't justify the higher cost. The service justifies the higher rate though. I definately recommend this place for a good splurge and relaxing trip.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Roches Blanches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Roches Blanches

Address: Route des Calanques, 13260 Cassis, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Les Roches Blanches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Roches Blanches Cassis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Roches Blanches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.