We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we had dinner there twice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RESTAURANT LE CHAUDRON

RESTAURANT LE CHAUDRON
4, rue adolphe Thiers, 13260 Cassis, France
+33 4 42 01 74 18
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 88 Restaurants in Cassis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $39
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“So good we had dinner there twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We enjoyed our first dinner at Restaurant Le Chaudron so much we returned a second time. The quality of the food was superb and David was a great host and spoke English well. Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    143
    41
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food and kind service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We had lovely dinner at this place. I think it was the best tagliatelle al pesto I ever had. Service is warm and friendly. And I also enjoyed the ambiance.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Keep the kitchen skill, lose the attitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Fabulous food that is inventive and delicious will not always make up for slow, inattentive service. We went to Chaudron based on TA reviews and it lived up to anything good said about the food.

But the front of house team was not at the same level. It took 15 minutes (not an exaggeration) for them to even bring water. There were many comments about I'll be right tehre, I'll be right with you. Dinner took more than two and a half hours - and I don't have a problem with that unless I feel abondonned much of the time with dirty dishes sitting in front of me. And it was not impressive for the witer - a gentleman who appeared to be very much in charge - to argue with an american tourist about his interpretation that service was very slow basically insulting him and saying americans want everthing like it's fast food. Bring the patience of Job with you if you go - the food is worth it, the service is not

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Certainly not number 1 in Cassis, good food, OK service, expensive for what it is. Nice outside seating on small interior street.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful food, service & atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We went to Le Chaudron for our first night in Cassis and had an incredible experience. The service was excellent from the start with the owner serving and checking in on us throughout the evening. Each item that we tasted was amazingly delicious beginning with the appetizers of cod brandade and the soupe poisson. I had the fish of the day which was sea bream with eggplant and it was incredibly fresh and just a perfect dish all around. The desserts were also wonderful and not to be missed- my husband's panna cotta was one of the best desserts we have ever tasted, ever. I cannot say enough great things about this amazing restaurant- it is a must visit in Cassis!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RESTAURANT LE CHAUDRON also viewed

Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to RESTAURANT LE CHAUDRON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RESTAURANT LE CHAUDRON, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.