We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great pizza!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Place

La Place
19 Rue Michel Blanc, 13260 Cassis, France
0442011732
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 87 Restaurants in Cassis
Cuisines: French, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good value, great pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

This restaurant doesn’t look like much when you walk by. It's very fast food/cafeish looking. If you’re in the mood for a pizza, stop anyway and enjoy. The crust is nice, thin, and crunchy. We tried the Nono which is like a Reina but with basil oil oil on top that really brightens the taste of the pizza. We also sampled the Saint Jacques scallops—I found the cream sauce a bit bland, but the others in the group liked it (and asked for the same sauce to go with the veal, which had a nicely seasoned breading on it.)

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    62
    18
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We ate two good meals at La Place. The pizza was super. There were interesting, fresh, toppings. Overall, the service was good, although we waited quite awhile after sitting to be offered a drink.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Excellent stop for an evening meal in Cassis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very friendly and efficient staff. Owner/manager was extremely helpful and accommodating, managing to squeeze us in on a very busy Friday night and whilst we were waiting for our friends to arrive.
Yummy food, can personally recommend the carpaccio of beef and the Saint Jaques scallops.
Great setting on the corner of the street with the castle overlooking.
As a budget traveller, Cassis can be a struggle. We either found restaurants with excellent reviews that were£££ or affordable restaurants with poor reviews. La Place was very reasonable for the standard of food. For 2 people (shared starter, 2 mains, pichet of wine) €45.
Would recommend to everyone!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very friendly, simple and good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The place was full, but the owner arranged a table for the 4 of us. We had the tuna tartare, a seafood salad (the prawns were impressive). They have like most restaurants a kids menu with very good home made fries or pasta. The waiters were extremely friendly, but efficient at the same time. Good value, I recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value! Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is worth a visit! Great service... good value .. pizza is great! ! Burger too! Great position in town and you will not be disappointed! ! Russell and Moira Scotland 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Place also viewed

Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.