We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understanding Bouillabaisse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Gilbert

Chez Gilbert
19 Quai Baux, 13260 Cassis, France
0442017136
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 87 Restaurants in Cassis
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Understanding Bouillabaisse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Four of us had lunch here and while my 3 dining companions had the 32 euro fixed menu or ordered from the carte, I had a bouillabaisee which came in at 50 euros. This may seem expensive at first glance but it is about standard in this area for a proper rendition, which if genuine must contain a number of particular species of fish. As it happens, some of these are becoming increasingly expensive. The restaurant is a member of the Le Charte de la Bouillabaisse Marseillaise, which is dedicated to preserving the traditional and correct version (bouillabaisse is not simply a soup made from any old available fish,which other cheaper places may have you believe). It was marginal value at 50 euros, but was certainly filling and tasty. Service was quite acceptable for a restaurant along the tourist strip and I don't agree that it is a tourist trap, as the standard of fittings and glassware is better than its competition. Several of my dining companions spoke excellent French and engaged with the staff, which may have helped our experience. The wine list is acceptable and the local Domaine de Paternel rose is perfect with this style of cuisine. We paid the bill exactly as presented, without any comment or complaint from the staff. French restaurants include the service charge in the bill so adding 10%, as another reviewer has commented, is naive and not required.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    109
    42
    31
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed by the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a dinner tonight at this place. It was quite expensive but we expected that the food would be really nice and this place was recommended by some other guests of our B&B. The food was ok but not extraordinary, the presentation was good. The worst came at the end: we gave the waiter a proper tip (around 10%, European standard) but he made us feel that it was not enough. I understand French and heard the staff sharing loudly some comments about it between them, other guests could also hear that. I think no matter what the tip is no staff should comment on it in front of the guest. It never happened to us before. Don't go to this place if you want a classy service and food worth its price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“professional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Excellent meal and attentive staff . Everything was perfectly spot on and professionally executed . Fish soup wonderfull , with all the accompanying croutons and sauce . Set menu good value and good wine list

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tasty but a bit overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

I wanted to try bouillabaise and was recommended this restaurant by the hotel staff. I was traveling solo and many places you had to book in advance for min 2 people. Chez Gilbert you can just order for one on the spot. The food was not baf, the fish maybe a little overcooked, and for the price of 50 euros not sure if it was worth it. The staff were very friendly and it was a pleasant experience.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent fish soup, chocolate dessert and service by the sea!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

It is easy to get overwhelmed by the string of seaside restaurants in this little port town... Chez Gilbert is a stand out! Recommended by a few locals we met... Excellent Traditional Fish Soup -- And Gigondas wine -- unreal value from north of Rhone ...delicious chocolate dessert - perfect end to the meal!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Gilbert also viewed

Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Chez Gilbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Gilbert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.