We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bijou but welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Baie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Baie to your Saves list
Hotel de la Baie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Rue Docteur Marcon, 83150 Bandol, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Bandol
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Bijou but welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Down for a weekend at Le Castellet and our regular hotel was full, but really pleased with having found this one. Whilst the rooms are small(as are all French Hotels) they were clean, comfortable and quiet. Hotel staff were very helpful in resolving a problem with the double bed and the breakfast was both good and well priced.
Its a really convenient spot for the town, restaurants and the beach with car parking just across the road and the reassurance of an adjoining Police Station.
Front of the hotel is nice view of the beach rear is quiet (buts the bins are collected early in the morning....
Would use again

Room Tip: Front rooms great view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
25
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated across from a lovely sandy beach. Our room faced onto a quiet street. It was quiet small but with a large comfortable king sized bed. The room and en suite were very clean with lots of hot water and a forceful shower. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, fresh bread rolls, croissants, jams, yogurts, ham, cheese, fruit juice and a selection of teas or coffee. Extra was offered if you could eat it! A good wifi connection was available in our second floor room. The staff were all very friendly and obliging

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Me and my friend stopped in this hotel for one night during our roadtrip. It's an okay hotel. The price is reasonable, we had a view on the sea and the room had everything we needed. The room was clean, had a mini-bar and a tv. The bathroom was small, but in good shape. We didn't have the breakfast, but the hotel WiFi did not work properly and the owner had left that evening, so there was no-one to help in the hotel itself. We did call him, but he couldn't offer much assistance. He was very friendly though and greeted us enthusiastically in the morning.

The hotel is located right at the beach and the casino. There are some shops, bars and restaurants at the beach front and there is a small harbour nearby. All in all a good location to stop for the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. It's cooler and generally nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Our room was very nice, facing the beach and apart from the casino had a great view of the beach. The toilet was very new and clean but the shower was a bit unstable. Good breakfast and friendly staff. Very good value for mone!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne AUSTRALIA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

disappointed in hotel, only internet in lobby, street parking if you can get it otherwise parking opposite very expensive no tea or coffee facilities rooms we did have however a lovely view from our room

Room Tip: good for a stop over
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nissa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

We've booked a hotel facing the stret/other ones maybe diferent/
Room was so small with small uncomfortable bed no aircondation, dirty and the smell of it... disgusting!We do not advice to go there.
Cleaning&refreshing&renovating etc.they all needed this hotel.INTERRIOR LATE 70's AND ORIGINAL but used/beaten up condition.
The beach is one of the ugliest around the aeria, whitout shower toilet etc.
We left it the first day, lost more then 400 euros.It was the best decision of our holyday.
The manager was nice, speaks english but i guess he's got enough of his profession.Breakfast is a joke.
NOT RECOMMENDED!

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in Copenhagen
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

Stayed in this hotel for three nights during the Rugby World Cup quarter finals in Marseilles, so Bandol was packed with good humoured rugby supporters (both England and France won).

The hotel is located on the sea front right opposite the casino and very convenient for everything in the relatively small and charming resort of Bandol. If you're travelling by train, the station is a 20 minute walk away up a fairly steep hill. If your travelling by car, there is a car park right opposite the hotel, but it costs EUR 10 per day.

The hotel itself only has 14 rooms, about half of which have sea views. Rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable and completely without any frills. The bathrooms have baths with shower attachment (but nowhere to hang the shower head so you have to sit in the bath to shower your hair) and no shower curtain so the bathroom gets very wet, no matter how careful you are. There are TV's in every room, with several foreign channels (although my remote control didn't work) and every room has a small french balcony. My room had a smallish, comfortable double bed, and a great view over the sea front.

Breakfast was perfectly adequate, coffee, juice, fruit, fresh bread and yoghurt and it's served until 10am.

Apart from the breakfast room, the hotel has no facilities and very little service (you let yourself into the hotel after 10pm with your room key), but the staff were very helpful and friendly and spoke a good standard of English.

The best thing about the hotel is that it provides basic and comfortable accomodation in a great location at a bargain price. We paid EUR 60 per room plus EUR 8.50 for breakfast per day. Because we booked four rooms all as singles I didn't have to pay the sea view suppliment (about EUR10) but even if you do pay the extra, it's still a bargain, particularly if you put two people in a room - which most of the other guests did.

No hesitation at all in recommending this hotel, but don't expect luxury.

  • Liked — The price and location
  • Disliked — Very little really. the TV remote control and lack of shower curtain.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Baie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Baie

Address: 62 Rue Docteur Marcon, 83150 Bandol, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Bandol
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Bandol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Baie 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de la Baie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Baie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.