We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be repeated!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Port et son bar a vin Toche

Auberge du Port et son bar a vin Toche
7 et 9 Allee Jean Moulin, 83150 Bandol, France
0494294263
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 82 Restaurants in Bandol
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Isle of Wight UK
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Not to be repeated!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We tried Auberge du Port one lunchtime, lured in by the formule du midi 2 course lunchtime offer, which offers good value compared to the high prices in the evening.

The setting is smart, on the promenade front. Once seated, it becomes very hard-sell – no mention of the lunchtime special offer unless you ask, and they try and up-sell the more expensive options and a glass of champagne (at 13-14 euros each). They also try hard to sell the fish on ice from a stand which is walked around the restaurant all through the lunchtime service - all big prices.

As soon as we chose the formule du midi our waitress lost interest. Service was austere and for the first time during the whole week no-one enquired if everything was ok with our meal.

We had a nice piece of tuna, but it was served with a strange sweet potato mash and stir-fried vegetables including seaweed, with sweet chilli sauce – it didn’t quite work.

The dessert which had been advertised on the black board, moelleux au chocolat was replaced by a pretty but tasteless sponge dessert – no mention of the change, no apology and at that point it was wiped off the blackboard.

Interestingly we had eaten a wide variety of food all week without any problems but later that day and the next day we both suffered with very unhappy stomachs.

A disappointing experience and a reminder to stick to the small independent bistros which deliver much better food and customer service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    48
    45
    57
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice but check bill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We ate here 2 nights on our recent holiday. Food was very good. Loved the Italian Burger. Chicken nuggets for the children were home made too. Also enjoyed the desserts. Waitress was very friendly. Only slight niggle was that on the 2nd night when we checked the bill we realized we had been charged 8 euros for the children's drinks that should have been included as part of the set menu for kids. We hope it was a genuine mistake but we are not sure. Other than that, would recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Go for the seats on the left (as you face the restaurant)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is actually two restaurants sharing the same shellfish stand and kitchen.
At the Auberge, they wheel around large fishes for you to look at, priced per 100g, about 8 or 9 euros per 100g. Thus a 900g fish between two will cost 72 (or 81) euros. We watched the fishes on ice get wheeled around all evening without a sale. It was Saturday.
Perhaps they could just stick a badge with the full price in each fish, to save people the embarassment of asking for it to be weighed?

Auberge's shellfish platter was bigger than, but less fresh, than the one we ate at La Toche 7 days later. We found Auberge's tiny table made us really unrelaxed about the platter balanced on the table - one nudge wouldve sent it crashing.

The platter was smaller/cheaper, but fresher at La Toche. No sand in the whelks. Bigger mussels and moister crab. It could have been just a weeks difference (mid June).
But we also were more impressed by the two guys serving in La toche, quick and thorough.
So we went back twice.
Sea Bass or bream for about 20 euros, for a 350g-400g fish. Note: not 8 euros per 100g. Both cooked fine, with a lovely dim-sum style rice and provencal veg accompaniment.
Locals here have the plats du jour, about 14 euros.
Locals ate a lunchtime main of little squids in breadcrumbs cooked "au persilade" (garlic and parsley) with salad, plat du jour, 14 euros, while we tourists chose calamars squid rings and tartare sauce starter for 19 euros. So we would recommend La Toche, and the lunchtime plat du jour option as alternative to a ala carte.

(NB The Auberges choice of fish extends beyond the ubiqitous Sea Bass or Sea Bream option that we found slightly uniform thruout Bandol. They showed us turbot and St Pierre fishes)

La Toche does a nice, moist salade nicoise with pan bagnat sytle "lid" and "base" of bread. Seats were nice out of doors in La Toche and Auberge. Shared toilets very flash
Wine we liked the Domaine Souviou Blanc de Bandol 2011 very much indeed, on sale in both.

In a nutshell, you pay more at Auberge, and its not clear why. The service is a little quicker and more practical in La Toche, and the tables a little bigger.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Too slow and too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We had a lunch in this restaurant. The service was too slow: we waited 20 min for a glas of champagne and one hour for a main course. The food was ok, but not delicious: tha pasta was overcooked. We paid for two people with a vine 224 Eur, which was the biggest bill in Bandol. The only advantage of this restaurant is the view.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge du Port et son bar a vin Toche also viewed

Bandol, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Bandol, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Bandol, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Bandol, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Auberge du Port et son bar a vin Toche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Port et son bar a vin Toche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.