We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Table du Meunier

La Table du Meunier
42 Cours Hyacinthe Bellon, 13990 Fontvieille, Arles, France
04 90 54 61 05
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 17 Restaurants in Fontvieille
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bedfordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The host makes for a very entertaining evening! Excellent relaxed atmosphere, Thierry explains (translates) in detail every item on the smallish menu which is so helpful if your French isn't up to much. Very nice food and excellent house wine. I really liked the 'staged' illuminations as it got darker!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    44
    14
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topsfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

When my mom and I sat down at the dirty outdoor table with crusty place mats we knew we should have left. Unfortunately it was too late at night to try and figure something else out. I ordered the lamb and my mom ordered the fish. The fish was fresh and edible but the lamb was awful. First time in 45 years I didn't eat more than 1 bite of my meal. A definite thumbs down!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Shhhh don't tell!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Some French friends took us for dinner here. Thierry and Marie are so friendly, lovely restaurant, fabulous setting. Relaxed and enjoyable dinner.. Fab food, very reasonable prices, good wine too..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
525 reviews 525 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
“Cosy & convivial atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The restaurant is on one of Fontvieille main streets close to the church. There is a narrow porch that leads to a backyard parking-lot. The restaurant is small with lots of paintings hanging on the walls. The owner usually greets you in a friendly - and often humorist fashion. Since he wears a conspicuous mustache, you cannot miss who he is! The setting and the service both create a warm and convivial atmosphere. The food has a definite local touch but it is a great French cuisine with a superb and unusual selection. Granted, the service is slow. But this is not a problem. After all, you are in Provence and you want to enjoy the art de vivre. The food is fresh and must be cooked according to the orders in a small and familial kitchen. But it is done with the endless entertainment of the owner, who knows how to make people laugh and make them feel at home. Prices are moderate too. Definitively a place to recommend if you like what is different.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It's like returning home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Thierry & Marie run the friendliest establishment possible, with the help of their excellent team especially Chloe. We've been dining there since 2006 and the food has always been consistently good, both delicious and excellent value. The Gardianne de Taureau is a must have every year and this year the fillet steak was so superb, I had to eat this on two occassions!
The house wine is easy drinking and the list provides a good choice.
Can't recommend the place enough

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Table du Meunier also viewed

Fontvieille, Arles
 

Been to La Table du Meunier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Table du Meunier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.