We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel de la Breche

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel de la Breche to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel de la Breche
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Avenue Bujault Place de la Breche, 79000 Niort, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To -30% Off Room Rate
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Niort
Kent, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here overnight on a Pau to Calais journey, travelling with 2 adult sons and were looking for something better than the usual chain hotel on an industrial estate. This ticked all the boxes, easy to find, good clean and secure underground parking just outside (Parking Breche) and an efficient and friendly check-in. The rooms were a little small but very well equipped with comfortable beds and a good modern shower rooms. Our room was on the street side but well insulated and air-conditioned and we had a good night with no noise problems. The building is fairly old but the hotel has been recently modernised to a high standard and is very comfortable. The free WiFi was fast and worked well. Breakfast was good value, with a good selection of quality choices and available early, so good for an early start. Overall a good, well-run hotel - we couldn't fault it.

There are several restaurants & cafes within easy walking distance but we followed the previous reviewer's advice and phoned the hotel for a reservation at Le Billon while en route as we expected to arrive around 2000. This was excellent and I can't recommend it highly enough, see separate review.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    52
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
42
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We arrived at about 20.00 hours, it was very easy to find if you follow the signs for Parking Breche. The hotel is about 7 miles from the main autoroute A10. The reception was very welcoming and because of our late arrival we literally dumped our cases and went off to a restaurant recommended by the hotel. The Le Billon restaurant was excellent see my report under restaurants, and we had a 15% discount because the hotel recommended us. It was 5 minutes walk from the Hotel. We returned to the hotel and inspected the room which was very clean and comfortable with twin aspect over the square. There was coffee making facilities a very comfortable bed and a well appointed bathroom. We did not have breakfast as I generally find them a little disappointing and wanted to leave as early as possible. I personally find it difficult to sleep in a different bed when travelling but this bed was very comfortable (it could be I was extremely tired after a long drive, but I think it was the comfort of the bed).
I had parked my car in the secure underground car park which was just 30 metres from the hotel and again there was a deal, arrive after 19.30 and leave before 9.00 AM for 3 euros, a lot better that the 10 euros I normally pay in Spain. The front desk dealt with the exit parking ticket making it very easy. The morning receptionist was equally helpful and really helped to make the whole experience excellent. I have stayed in many similar standard hotels in France and this was by far the best, I would not hesitate to stay again if the occasion arises.

Room Tip: One reviewer had said get a room at the back because of the early morning noise, I had forgotten, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for a few days over Xmas 2013 and enjoyed the hotel. It was very quiet in the hotel and i dont think there were many guests staying over. The minimal staff were very helpful and professional. the room was immaculately cleaned daily. The breakfast was good quality usual continental offerings. We did not drink in the hotel bar, as we spent time in the city on an evening.
Niort itself is a beautifully clean and smart city, though we didn't walk far from the central area on an evening. The bed was fabulously comfy with a soft topper on the mattress. There is free wifi in the hotel which extends to the bedrooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Try the Best Western website for offers as the hotel website does not always have them. We got a breakfast inclusive deal for nothing extra on the room. This meant that we paid only slightly more than we would have staying at an Ibis.

Located in the centre of the town the hotel is very easy to miss. However, just following the signs to Parking Breche it is located to the right of the entrance to this very large, modern and safe underground car park. The outside is nothing special but as soon as you enter you do get a feel for the style of the place. Reception was quick and easy. There are lifts to all floor although the corridors are not very wide and seem a little 'maze' like. Our room, a small suite, was a reasonable size, with a decent size bed and a very small seating area. The bathroom was modern and very clean. Robes and slippers were supplied as well as a bottle of water. WiFi in the room is OK but not very quick. The view from the room was urban.

Breakfast was the usual fare that you get across all of France. It was OK. If you are not one for a large breakfast and just want to grab a coffee and a quick bite then there are plenty of nearby cafes which could save you money.

The parking in the undergroud car park across the road is cheap and needs to have your ticket 'authorised' by the hotel.

I didn't eat in the hotel on the evening but went out. There are lots of places to eat just a very short walk away. This meant that there were lots of people around and therefore very safe. I enjoyed my night in Niort. It is worth having a wander around Niort the following morning as the shoping is good and it has an excellent morning market.

Room Tip: There is a bus teminus just across the street. If you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

we stayed over night here on the way to southern France. Location was great, right on square / park. A number of restaurants were along one side of the park, we ate in one of them can't remember the name, but food was good. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel was clean, decorated nicely. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on it, we just went for walk in morning and got some croissants. Great place for a stay in Niort.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed overnight on Thursday 9th May on a last minute reservation.
Very clean and modern hotel, located smack in the middle of the city centre overlooking the newly renovated Place de la Brèche, close to many restaurants.

Hotel staff gave us a warm welcome and was very friendly and helpfull.
Rooms were modern and tidy with all the necessary amenities. The bathroom of room 103 had a large walk-in shower separated by a large glass sliding door, but no bath (anyway, who uses a bath these days).
Breakfast area was spacious with a standard buffet choice (excellent croissants) and a large coffee selection.

Only one minor complaint : one of our friends, sleeping on the first floor on the front street side of the hotel (room 109) was woken up early friday morning by the noise of a street worker with a leaf blower. Definately no fault of the hotel.

Room Tip: rooms on the side street side of the hotel seem to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Excellent location right in the middle of the square. Close to the center of shopping and restaurant that line the square. The hotel is well maintained and the hotel staff speaks English. The breakfast is limited but typical of Europe. The room was spacious by all standards as it was a suite "110" on the quiet side of the hotel. One drawback was that the there was no room service on a Saturday.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the back the street rooms can be noisy with the Bus Stops out in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWNIORT, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel de la Breche, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for the comments you have posted on TRIPADVISOR after your stay in our property, Best Western Hôtel de la Brèche Niort.

I have immediately expressed your satisfaction my staff members ; their involvement, effort and motivation are rewarded; Indeed, we focus every day to make the stay of our customers to the most enjoyable as possible.

Nevertheless, I am very sorry for the discomfort causes by the lack of room service on a saturday ; this is very unusual and exceptional in our hotel.

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at BEST WESTERN Hôtel de la Brèche of Niort for your next stay in our city.

Best Regards

Alain RAIMOND, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel de la Breche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel de la Breche

Address: 9 Avenue Bujault Place de la Breche, 79000 Niort, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Deux-Sevres > Niort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Niort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel de la Breche 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Best Western Hotel de la Breche!Enjoy the serenity and tranquility of a 3 star hotel of character, entirely renovated and contemporary style. Combining comfort and functionality, the rooms are designed to meet the expectations of customers. You will enjoy the tranquility of our hotel while you can enjoy every moment of the lively Niort, near the Puy du Fou, the Marais Poitevin, the Ile de Re and the Futuroscope in Poitiers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel de la Breche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel de la Breche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.