We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Georges - Zanzibar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clipper

Le Clipper
19 bis Quai Guine, 85100 Les Sables-d'Olonne, France
0251320361
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Zanzibar, Tanzania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Georges - Zanzibar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I went for dinner 2 days ago and received a very friendly welcome and, the place being empty because l was a bit early, l could sit on the terrace along the railing. Not willing to take an aperitif, l ordered a whole bottle of red Sancerre (33€) to drink through my 3 course dinner. To keep me waiting l was brought an appetizer consisting in a small mousse of leeks topped with some tapenade which was very pleasant to. The foie gras mi-cuit (half cooked) consisted in a very decent portion of goose liver, moist but had still several little nerves in it that are not so pleasant to pick-out. It was very bland and the accompaniments, some sea-salt, a compote of apple, finely crushed pistacios, a couple of wallnuts and 1/2 an appricot did not help to henhence the lack of taste of the liver. The main consisted in a fillet of grouper (dos de cabillaud) very well cooked served with sautéed potatoes. I was suggested to have the fresh strawberries with whipped cream on puff pastry but the berries where not ripe and not nice to eat. Service was really kind but l found that the 78.50€ l paid where too much for the quality of food l ate.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    39
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

On a cold, wet, windy winters' eve we happened upon this delightful and most elegant yet cosy restaurant on the quayside. The hosts were wonderful - most helpful (took our wet coats to a part of the restaurant where they could dry out more easily), very smily and good humoured (when my husband dropped his little bowl of cheese in the soup and fired soup all over the wall and tablecloth, they dealt with it with a laugh and without any fuss or any sign of being annoyed about it). We had a superb meal - we could hardly believe the quality for the price we actually paid. As we went to leave it felt like we had made new friends, they were so sweet with us - definitely will return next time we are down this way.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A bit overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I first started with a foie gras, I don't think I ever ate a foie gras that bland. I felt like I was eating fat for no reason. Main course was a Troncon de Turbot served with a risotto and truffle sauce. The fish was underdone, I informed the waiter who said it was supposed to be cooked like this. Could have been true if my friend here hadn't asked for the same dish which was cooked differently but anyway.
Dessert was a Fraisier. Tasty, good fruits, the Crème was just sweet and thick enough. This one was made of Crème Patissiere, you can also find others made with Crème Mousseline which is a bit thinner and therefore kind of fresher as well. "Plus fine en bouche"
Overall, I wouldn't recommend this restaurant I find overpriced for what you get. There are far better places in Les Sables d'Olonne for this price and even cheaper. Ask the locals during your holiday. :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Le Clipper - Delicious food made by owner chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Le Clipper is at the end of the quai along the inner harbour of Les Sables d'Olonne; almost to the frerry stop which takes you across narrow harbour entrance and deposits you (and your bike if you have one) on the La Chaume side of the town. There are many restaurants on this street but do not get sidetracked. Even the good ones are serviing reliable Vendeen staples like langoustines, fish soup, etc. You can go into most of them and have a pleasant meal.
But -
If you go to Le Clipper, you will be met with a smile, given a interesting, varied menu. You will eat food you thought you knew but cooked and served in ways you would never have expected: fresh passion fruit salad dressing with the cheese (all perfectly ripe), gentle spices focusing your mind on the texture of the fish, the compliment of crab pressed with plumped raisins. This is a sophisticated menu and very unusual.
You can gaze out at the passing holiday makers and remind yourself that, glass in hand, eating this well is truly a vacation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Friendly service, nice starters but disappointing main courses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Family lunch in this traditional sea-food restaurant located on the fishing port of the Sables d'Olonne. Local atmosphere with some attempts to stay on the upscale end of the local restaurants.
Friendly and helpful service.
All entrees were nicely presented, fresh and with subtle associations of tastes (eg lobster salad with melon and strawberries).
Unfortunately, our main courses were disappointing, especially for a renowned (locally) seafood restaurant. Although presentation and receipes were pretty engaging, all fish dishes were dramatically over-cooked which annihilated the refined tastes that you usually expect from sole, bream and red mullet.
Had the fish been properly cooked, it would have been a very pleasant experience with good value for money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Clipper also viewed

Les Sables-d'Olonne, Vendee
Les Sables-d'Olonne, Vendee
 
Les Sables-d'Olonne, Vendee
Les Sables-d'Olonne, Vendee
 

Been to Le Clipper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clipper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.