We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Glacier

Le Glacier
28 Hotel de Ville, 02100 St-Quentin, France
0323622709
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 80 Restaurants in St-Quentin
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Perth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

On the recommendation of our Hotel staff we frequented this restaurant. Open on a Tuesday night. Good basic food with staff that were very helpful and coped with our appalling French!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    21
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No-nonsense Picard cuisine in a friendly setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Good location in the corner of the main square. Typical French restaurant in appearance, with a clientele of tourists and local residents. Friendly, helpful staff who will run through the menu as necessary.
Steak with Maroilles cheese sauce was cooked to perfection. Desert menu has usual classics plus local cheeseboard.
For a reliable meal without going too far, it is highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012


Pleasant enough restaurant for atmosphere – shame about the food. It claims to offer Picardy specialities – maybe it did but we were not aware of them. Herrings and potato starter and moules and chips were OK but not as good as elsewhere. Greek salad was an odd combination – avocado, egg, feta, sliced chicken! Tagliatelli au saumon was plain boiled pasta with large lumps of boiled salmon dumped on top. Ugh! We heard our neighbours – also English – tell the waiter their dinner was excellent but then they told us the frogs legs were tasteless and the scallops overcooked. 50 euros for two with ¾ litres house wine – what can you expect?

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Lovely local restaurant recommended by the receptionist at the Grand Hotel. Well worth a visit. Proper French food and the best meal we had in France.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Regional specialities at very reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This place is very friendly and between us we managed to order - we can just manage in French, and they don't have much English apart from a very friendly waiter who helped us. The food is very good, with regional specialities and their fixed price menu is very good 13.50 euros for 2 courses, and 15.50 for 3. It is very busy but the service is quick, Madam Patron is lovely and very helpful. We would always eat here again

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Glacier also viewed

 
St-Quentin, Aisne
St-Quentin, Aisne
 

Been to Le Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Glacier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.