We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BE WARNED ... I wish we'd been warned” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant to your Saves list
La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Boulevard de la Resistance, 62100 Calais, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Calais
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“BE WARNED ... I wish we'd been warned”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

You really need to read this

let me start by saying I don't exaggerate and I try to be fair

I've stayed in many hotels in Europe and Spain.

we arrived at the hotel la sole meunière at 2 pm only to find out that the hotel was closed locked up tight till 4pm so we waited in the car.

when the hotel opened we were shown to a room (22) which was very small/dirty/dank and dismal which smelt very musky(not at all fresh), there was damp/mouldy grout and lots of black mould in the shower area and around windows(i have photos to prove),
The beds and furniture were very,very old, with NO decor in the room...dirty marks all up the walls (looked like spit in some places) bits of the ceiling hanging down loose...The toilet was shared with othere guests and opposite the room without hand wash facility (you have to come back to your room to wash your hands) the tv was not much bigger than an ipad and dumped way up high.

This hotel is absolutely nothing like the photos- these photos must be taken years ago.
it is a dirty unwelcoming place, no Tea/drinks making stuff in the room - Reception shuts at 11pm so NO staff around in case of Emergency and no balcony as advertised...very upset !! (would have used stronger words here!!)

The lady on reception was using her husband,on the phone as an interpreter... I told the receptionist we wouldn't be willing to stay in that room as it was far below an exceptable standard and it was nothing like the advertised pictures she tried to fix the problem by offering an additional single room for one of my young girls to stay in on their own !!
Strange country don't speak the lingo and another dingy looking room away from the rest of the family ??

I asked for a refund

She agreed but as a final gesture she showed me a double room that at a push may have been acceptable for a couple (moderately clean with a few pictures on the walls)but then said both my girls would be on another floor of the hotel !!

Enough was Enough I politely requested the refund

She called the owner who Rudely snubbed / Barged past me without talking to us ...He spoke in french for about 5 minutes to the receptionist then walked off moaning in French leaving the women on receptions husband to tell me on the phone that he will partially refund us because booking.com takes 15% so We cant have that back !!

I have a photo's showing the receipt they got me to sign showing partial refund and photos of the room and mould and rotten furniture as mentioned.

To top it all they say parking on the site but that is over the road over some train/tram track in a derelict car park and the car needs moving by 9am or it gets a ticket or pay 10 euros per day for there secure parking (notice they say day ?? )

We never ate in the Restaurant but if this is the hygiene in the hotel whats the kitchen like ? you decide

I have had to run round calais(France) to find a hotel on short notice for me and my family @ 120+euros because this hotel wasn't as advertised and im really not happy.

when I complained to BOOKING.COM after a week and multiple emails and a lengthy phone call they initially offered me 8 yes 8 euros as compensation not even half the money that the hotel had taken on there behalf ?

Then they increased it after more emails and half hour on the phone to just cover the 20 euros that I had taken by this hotel and I was told if I didn't accept this amount then the case would be closed and no refund would be given !!

AVOID BOOKING WITH .......BOOKING.COM cause there customer service is as bad as this hotel !!!!!

Thank You

Damian Evans

I will upload the photo's I took... I would have taken more they locked up the room when she noticed me taking some !!

AVOID IF YOU CAN... !!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pnouchi, Propriétaire at La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Google Translation
Mr Evans,
Nous avons bien remarqué votre passage et nous sommes désolés si notre hôtel ne vous a pas convenu.
Il est bien indiqué que la réception ouvre à 16h00 et ferme à 23h00.
Vous avez cherché sur Booking un tarif attractif, deux grands lits et un petit lit donc une chambre familiale, pour un tarif de 80 euros - la taxe de Booking à 18% donc il est normal que vous ayez payé beaucoup plus cher dans un autre hôtel qui vous a proposé la même configuration.
En tant que propriétaire, je ne souhaite plus vous avoir comme client sachant que vous nous avez fait garder la chambre pour le cas où vous n'aviez pas d'autres possibilités.

Au plaisir de ne plus vous revoir sur Calais,

Cordialement,
Pierre NOUCHI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    24
    13
    25
See reviews for
17
33
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

This is a sound, basic, value for money stop over. Additionally it has excellent secure garage accomodation as an alternative to the free parking in the street outside.
There is no reception before 4pm and the rooms though clean and comfortable are basic. This is reflected in the value for money price.
I am not sure that I would recommend a longer stay but as a waypoint on your way out or homeward it fulfills a necessary function very well indeed. Save your money for your ultimate destination and take advantage of this superbly located, quiet, comfort value-for-money option.
PS The attached restaurant while also giving good value is definitely more ambitious and highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015 via mobile

We started to come to la sole some 20 years ago and I must say it just gets better.

Over the years aspects of the restaurant have changed and moved on but the quality, service and sheer gastronomic experience has just continued to get better.

For all these years, Pierre and his team have gone the extra mile to exceed your expectations every time, you might not visit for a couple of years, however, on your return, you are welcomed as almost part of the family, with everyone asking how the children are and how they are growing up so fast.

Some people see Calais as just a transit town for the ferry, eurotunnel and for your onward or home bound journey, I would go along way to try to change this price prion and encourage you to visit and soak up the atmosphere, culture and
Great shopping too.

The true gem, however is la sole, charm, sophistication and a fine dining experience hard to beat, I would challenge the top chefs to beat it.

We love la sole, let's hope we can do another 20 years!

Thanks Pierre.


David

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pnouchi, Propriétaire at La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant, responded to this review, January 31, 2015
Google Translation
Chères amis Nous tenons à vous remercier très sincèrement d’avoir pris le temps de partager votre commentaire au sujet de la sole meunière sur Tripadvisor.
Nous sommes réellement ravis de savoir que vous avez passé un agréable moment dans notre établissement.( 20 ans de plaisir )
En attendant de vous recevoir prochainement, nous vous prions d’agréer l’expression de nos respectueuses salutations.
Pierre nouchi
Maitre restaurateur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Reading some of the reviews, I wonder how come they expect the Ritz at these prices!
We booked on line at a rate of approx £37 a night for the a couple, and breakfast was 7 euros extra!

The beds were very comfortable, the sheets clean and crisp, the en-suite squeaky clean. Staff very polite and helpful.

Wi-fi was spotty, but so was most of Calais!

I will certainly stay again, and have no hesitation in recommending it. Good value for money!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Rue de la Mer can be a little noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

We stayed in the hotel as we were eating in their wonderful restaurant that evening, which is a favourite of ours and we have eaten there many times over the last few years. We haven't stayed in the hotel before, but as we had a very early Eurotunnel crossing the following morning, we decided it was worth a try.

The room we were allocated was at the top of the hotel up some fairly steep stairs (no lift). When we got to the room, we found it to be very dated and basic indeed with large stains on the carpet. The ensuite was a retrofit and again basic and included a toilet that made a huge noise when it was flushed - it was similar to a ferry/train toilet with a "Vacuum" type flush, so I'm afraid we may have woken everyone up in the morning when we were getting ready to leave!

The night we stayed in the hotel, there was a funfair on the patch of land opposite the hotel, and as we were in a room at the front of the hotel, we had the full funfair noise right through until it closed at 02:45 in the morning. Obviously this wasn't the hotel's fault but it did mean we got very little sleep before leaving at 05:30.

The restaurant has recently had a refurb which is lovely, so hopefully the hotel will be next on their list!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

I will leave the review of the restaurant for a dedicated review and focus here on the hotel.

My main reason for going here at all was, in fact, to eat in the restaurant and, since the hotel is attached to it, it seemed sensible to stay right on the premises - and the hotel was very cheap too!

The hotel is very basic indeed, as other reviewers have noted. The room was of a decent size and had all the basic amenities, with the key word being 'basic'. The ensuite resembled something that might have been squeezed into a Blackpool B&B and had mirrored wardrobe doors on it. The toilet was of the macerator variety and was, of course, very noisy in consequence. The room we had was on the second floor [no lift] and overlooked an attractive street/precinct below.

The lady on reception was very pleasant and so too was the lady who served a good breakfast in the morning. I took advantage of the hotel's garaging located just an easy walk away in the belief that Calais could be a dodgy place to leave a packed car unattended. The cost of the garage was 10 euros, a small price to pay for such peace of mind.

It's always said that you get what you pay for and, at just 33 euros for the room, you really can't expect too much. I was invited to complete a questionnaire regarding the hotel because it's to be the subject of refurbishment. I'm sure that it will improve then.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

My partener and I booked a room here on our way to the tunnell. Whole experience was dreadful. Check in was very slow and the parking was a worry as many youths prowling all night. The room was appauling. Lavatory seat was loose and the strange flush contraption didn't work. Bead cover was stained, carpet filthy, and a smell of drains. The window looked over the roof tops and numerous extractors and air conditioning units roaring.Whole place desperately needs re-furb. We always stay in Logis Hotels in France and this experience was made all the worse for having stayed in an excellent one the night before.
After complaining we were offered a room at another Logis (Hotel du Beffroi) which we accepted. Calais is very noisey at night and there is a rather unpleasent atmosphere in the place at the moment.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant

Address: 1 Boulevard de la Resistance, 62100 Calais, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant Hotel Calais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.