We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor hotel.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant

Save Saved
You added La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant
1 Boulevard de la Resistance, 62100 Calais, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 27 hotels in Calais
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very poor hotel.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here overnight before sailing back to dover after a weeks holiday in France. On arrival the reception area was slightly dated but the receptionist was nice enought and gave us keys to our room. The restaurant looked lovely so we expected a lovely room too. Unfortunately this was not the case. The room was very basic and very old fashioned. There was a double bed, a bedside table, a small table with a chair and a small shelf with a tv on it (i think the tv was the modernest thing in the room). The wardrobe was a single small metal bar underneath the tv shelf, good job we were only there for one night. There were 2 lamps and a very dim ceiling light in the room. The sockets that the lamps were plugged into were hanging off the wall, not very safe to be honest.
Next i went into the bathroom, the stink was awful, the tilet was a little odd, electric in some fashion and the shower looked very old and not exactly clean. Apparently it is like being back in Greece and you can't put toilet paper down the toilet, but the sign telling you this is actually behind the toilet so you don't see this until you have already done it, and no it won't flush away due to the poor toilet.
I wouldn't recommend this place, not even for a quick overnight stay, i'm sure you could pick up the ibis budget or camponile which are very clean and modern for the same price.
The final thing i would say about this place is definitely don't book it if you tall. I'm only 5ft9 and the bed wasn't long enough, feel hanging over the end which resulted in a poor nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    23
    12
    22
See reviews for
15
27
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I am amazed that an incredibly good restaurant which I have eaten in several times before, could even THINK of owning/linking themselves to such a dingy, dirty, horrendous "hotel" Filthy dirty carpets, cracked and broken windows, a bathroom which can only be compared with a "down the garden" but with the bonus of having running water! The loo was so noisy one needed ear plugs. The bathroom SO small I surmised that one could actually sit on the loo and have a shower (there was no hook up for the shower so it had to be hand held) and if needs be, could be sick in the sink all at the same time! Very effective time wise! The room was dingy and dark, and dirty so I did not want to touch the telly control, so I have no idea whether the telly worked or not. We actually had an hilarious evening texting and sending pictures to our children..... one in Saudi and one here in England with photographs of this MORE than basic room/hotel! No lift, or porter or help with luggage, so one had to lug ones suitcase up 3 flights of stairs. Building resembles a 1950 high rise council estate. When you arrive you have to pay upfront... ie before you see the room, I now know why! I wish we had read your trip advisor reports before we booked there....... we would NEVER have booked!

Room Tip: Forget staying here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here en route from Oxford to La Rochelle and knew we would be only there for a few hours so didn't want to pay the earth. The 35E we paid on booking.com was fair but I would not want to pay anymore.
Pros - very close to the Euro tunnel terminal, very accommodating for a late check in (they gave us a pin code for the door and left a key in the key safe). The bed linen appeared quite clean.
Cons - very basic rooms with old decor and poor furnishings. Although a non-smoking room the soft furnishings (Ben throw etc)smelt of stale smoke. The bathroom en suite was not very clean and smelt of damp and also had no light.
We decided to get on the road early so did not stay for breakfast.
In conclusion this is a no frills hotel that provides a cheap place to briefly stop over but I would not recommend staying for much longer.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Having read some of the reviews about this hotel, we were in fear, and apprehension about our stay. We booked the hotel with Hotels Booking.com, and at €37.50 for a double room, this represented excellent value. The rooms were tired, and the furniture in need of a change, but they were clean, with comfortable beds, and warm. Stayed in room number 11, which was spacious, offering good views over the port. Would return if in Calais.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was a very poor excuse for a hotel, we choose it because of the location, and the offer and reviews on booking.com, we were sorely dissapointed. The room was semi clean, and the noise from the street until 3 in the morning, was not anyway welcoming, We opted for breakfast in the moriing, at 9+ Euros, what a joke that was, there was a toaster, no bread, juicer no fruit to juice, there was stale rolls and a couple peices of bread, very dark, very dry, there was a coffee machine which had a large selection to choose from, only a couple of buttons worked, Got half a cup had to use the milk for cereal to fill cup up but the milk was sour. So no cereal, there was nothing about this meal to rave about, there was also no staff there to ask for help. Never again.

Room Tip: Dont go there Dont waste your money on breakfast..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It really is not unreasonable to assume that because a restaurant is excellent, its own hotel is likely to aspire to the same standards.
Not so in this case. I have been to the Sole Meuniere restaurant many times and it's always been good. This time I decided to stay at their hotel and was shocked how awful it was.
It reminds me of hotels I used to stay in in East Germany in the 70's. Dark, dingy, filthy dirty and depressing. The public areas are just beyond belief.
The carpet in our room was filthy, the shower was falling to pieces and had mould growing on the ceiling, the bedcovers were dirty and old (the sheets were OK) the lighting was dim, the paint on the bedside tables was peeling, the curtains were both dirty and old ... the whole experience one one would not wish to repeat.
You are given a code to gain access the hotel after 9pm (when reception closes). It is written on a tiny, scrappy piece of paper which when I left my room I accidentally left behind. Both 'emergency' phone numbers on the door didn't answer and so I was left freezing cold outside the hotel unable to gain access until I was able to get my partner on her phone to come down and open the door. Again, quite appalling.
Calais itself on a Friday night sounds like a wild west town. People shouting and bellowing until 3 in the morning outside our window - nothing to do with the hotel - but it is still intimidating to stay in that sort of area.
I wouldn't wish staying here on anyone ... there are many far better hotels in Calais for the same sort of money.
I really do urge the owners to do something before the myriad of lousy write ups about the hotel begin to drag the restaurant down with it.

Room Tip: Avoid a room overlooking the road .... you will be awake all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The room we had was fairly basic but it was only 80 euros for a room for four (2 adults,a 16 and a 10 year old plus 1 dog) and it was quiet and we had a shower and hot water and a good night's sleep.Personally I would rather stop here than one of the bland chains(Ibis,kyriad,Holiday Inn,etc).The restaurant here is really rather excellent both in terms of food and service.I've stopped in Calais scores of times and for me,with a limited budget,this is the best one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant

Address: 1 Boulevard de la Resistance, 62100 Calais, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant Hotel Calais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.