We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of le centaure

le centaure
11, Place d'Armes | 62100, Calais, France
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 113 Restaurants in Calais
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We visited La Centaure for the first time in 2012 where we had a great meal after a day shopping at Cite Europe. When we returned to Calais in 2013 we simply had to go back. The food is exceptional and the atmosphere is friendly and lively. Staff are all helpful and the service is great. I had the seafood pasta which was full to the brim with mussels, prawns, clams.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    28
    10
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Copthorne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another good eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Very good food, well presented & not expensive. Sheltered terrace outside for the smokers amongst us !

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Liveliest place in calais by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Great place! ! Great food! Great staff!
Been here many times and always have enjoyed every aspect, thoroughly recommended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food, bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Been to this restaurant many times over the years . The food is always good ( moule frites , steaks etc ) but service not great. Today , we had particularly poor service. Miserable waitress, seem more interested in French locals than tourists. Think its time we try another restaurant, there's many more places to try in the town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

More lively than sophisticated, this restaurant serves the most fantastic and substantial salads. There is one that comes with pate and toast on top, which also has so much fruit in it, that it is essentially a full three-course meal on one plate. In case that sounds too much, I should add that it's all delicious, zingingly fresh and if you eat here you will definitely get all your vitamins (not the typical holiday experience, for me at least!). The seafood salads are equally replete. Although it looks very touristy, the clientele is mostly French - always a good sign. Am sorry I did not discover it on previous trips!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed le centaure also viewed

Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to le centaure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage le centaure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.