We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and impressive decor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cle d'Opale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Cle d'Opale to your Saves list
La Cle d'Opale
154, Boulevard Lafayette, 62100 Calais, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Calais B&B and Inns
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service and impressive decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in this tastefully restored B&B on a stop-gap travel from England to Germany and were thorouighly impressed with the service and decor. Even though we arrived well past the 23:00 hrs deadline we were still welcomed with a smile and slept fabulously in pristine high thread-count sheets. Even though our spacious room was facing the road, the double glazing made sure that we were not disturbed until we were ready for our breakfast. This was a simple yet delicious affair with the freshest of ingredients. We will be staying here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    30
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
26
76
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wodonga, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My partner and I stayed in a beautifully appointed double room and were very impressed with the warm welcome we received from the owner. We have been travelling for a couple of months and I have to say without doubt that La Cle d'opale has been my favorite and I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone travelling to Calais, whether for one night or a week!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This very nice town house within walking distance of Calais makes an excellent overnight stop. The house itself is charming and has only recently opened its doors to guests. The owner made us very welcome and gave us a map as well as recommending a couple of bistros. We did not sample breakfast as we had an early crossing.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here overnight, having first of all checked out the rating on Trip Advisor. We had previously stayed in another converted lacemaker's house, but were unable to get a booking there on this occasion.

Isabelle, the owner gave us a very warm welcome ans showed us to our double room on the second floor. It was beautifully fresh and spotlessly clean, but although the shower room was very well appointed, the conversation did not make the best use of the room space. We had a look in the other double room on the same floor,which had a full bathroom, and would have preferred this room if we had been given a choice.

As the venture is a fairly new one, Isabelle is aware that some more attention to detail needs to be applied e.g. the rather unsightly wires reaching from the wall to the television and the tea tray which had a kettle and cups and saucers, but no tea, coffee or milk.

We slept well in the comfortable bed and enjoyed a delicious continental breakfast which was just right for us, although some guests might prefer some ham and cheese to be included.

I have no doubt that the owners will address these small issues to improve their business further.

Bonne chance, Isabelle!

Carol Livingstone
London

Room Tip: If you like a bath in your room make sure you ask on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The house was beautiful with lovely décor. Very clean and the owners were really welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. We stayed for one night in June as we were travelling back from a wedding and it was the perfect place to get some rest along the very long journey. Each room is unique and has it's own newly fitted, modern bathroom. Out room was very stylish and the bed was very comfortable. I was even given a sneaky peak into the other rooms in the morning before we left and all were up to the same high standard. If we return to Calais we will only be staying here. My partner also left his phone in the room by mistake and the owners got it back to us in under a week - amazing!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

beautiful house in a calm area. very friendly welcome from the owner who's very happy to help and recommend places to go or things to do. cosy rooms. shame we weren't allowed to use the super deluxe shower as it would flood the room, but the hand shower did the trick too :)
very fresh breakfast (one tiny negative point: we got fruit salad out of a tin, a bit of a contrast with the fresh croissants, baguettes etc) but overall we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Calais is so much better than it used to be and this B&B makes it all the nicer to visit. Close to the centre of Calais and ease of access to restaurants and the beach by car. Comfortable room, the floor upstairs was a little noisy as it has laminate flooring but we soon settled down to sleep. ALso close to the train to get back to England.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Cle d'Opale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cle d'Opale

Address: 154, Boulevard Lafayette, 62100 Calais, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Cle d'Opale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cle d'Opale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.