We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Beffroi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Beffroi to your Saves list
Hotel du Beffroi
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 rue Andre Gerschel, 62100 Calais, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Calais
Crawley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice and central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Good location with free parking in a street with a good mixture of restaurants and bars. Rooms are a little small but ok for this price for a night or two, very clean!! Close to ferry port.
Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
6
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Don't be put off by the exterior. We had a room on the ground floor for two nights with a little garden. It was extremely clean, just the right size and the hotel has a nice atmosphere. There's a lot of effort gone into the decor, even though it doesn't all match! The location is perfect, on a quiet street just off the centre square with all the bars, restaurants and boulangeries and the market just down the road on a Saturday.
Very quirky, comfy and clean. The only tiny complaint is the adjoining door slams shut when it's opened. Definately worth the money we paid.

Room Tip: Room 2 on the ground floor. It has a french door out into a little garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed one night here, right near the centre of town, very convenient. Clean, good bed & shower. Basic but good.
All the rooms are upstairs, maybe not so handy if that is a problem.
Breakfast was good but coffee wasa bit bitter.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Don't be fooled by the uninviting look from the front of the hotel or the dark brown paintwork up the stair case. or even be put off by the fact that you cannot check in before 5pm . The room we stayed in was basic, decent furniture but clean and we got what we payed for . That is a budget overnight stay that we will use again. Parking was easy and free. Didn't bother with breakfast
,at 9 euro for basic continental breakfast too expensive. chris

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calais
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

pleasant and friendly and even humorous personel, good organization, immediate assistance and help, clean room, comfortable bed, clean sanitary, delicate and well composed breakfast, easy to find and short way to shore and city centre

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked for 38 Euros a night through Booking.com so was very sceptical at the quality we were going to receive and went with the intention we would have to move. However we were very surprised at the cleanliness and quality of the accommodation. From the outside you do wonder, especially as there is a lot of work being undertaken in the area (Place D’Armes is currently a building site), but you are put at ease once inside. If you are looking for 5* facilities you will not get them, if you are looking for somewhere basic and clean you will be happy with your choice. The hotel has no lift but has 3 rooms on the ground floor (Rooms 1,2 and 3). I would recommend room 2 mainly as it does not face the street and has an area to sit outside. Parking is available in a garage for 10 Euros if you don’t want to leave the car on the street and the free Wifi worked well. I would stop again and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

No check in until 4.30 which is strange and a little annoying. The corridors were small and dark and reminded me of a brothel. The room itself was a good size and very clean if a little basic. The bathroom was the smallest bathroom I have ever seen, the shower door wouldn't open fully because it was so small! The hotel would be great if you had a ferry to catch, but not if you wanted a lazy morning! The strangest part of our stay here was being woken up and kicked out of our room by an angry french cleaner at 10am even though checkout wasn't until 11.30!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Beffroi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Beffroi

Address: 8 rue Andre Gerschel, 62100 Calais, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Beffroi 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Beffroi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Beffroi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.