We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Calais Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Calais Centre to your Saves list
Mercure Calais Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34-36 Rue Royale, 62100 Calais, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Calais
England
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We chose a central calais hotel rather than one near the eurotunnel as

-we wanted to try something different
-we were starting a short tour through the champagne region
-'Accor Hotels' were doing a 50% off offer through the summer!
The Mercure was fine - very nice clean good rooms right near lots of restaurants bars, the bech and ferry ports. We weren't troubled at all by the Night Club next door which looked as though it has closed anyway. Whether or not the hotel has a restaurant is a bit ambiguous but we didn't eat there in any cae. Breakfast was extensive - ie more than bread, croissants etc The receprions staff were extremely polite and helpful. The car park is 15 euros per night but we parked on the street with no problems. Would reccommend but we would not pay full price for this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    115
    57
    26
    7
See reviews for
32
142
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We ahve stayed here on a number of occasions. It is to be recommended for the enclosed car park at the rear. it only cost 15 euros to park for 24 hours. After arriving through the tunnel, it is a five mnute drive to the hotel and after parking up, we can wander around town wiht our car safe and sound.

The hotel is clean with friendly staff. Thye rooms are small, but the beds are comfortable and there are tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge in the room. There is also air conditioning. Our room this time was at the top of the stairs on the 3rd floor which was a but noisy and could have been a lot worse had the hotel been busier. We prebooked and got the breakfast included which was typical French with a nod to America (pancakes and maple syrup, scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage).

Not a hotel for a romantic stay but very practical for a short jaunt into France.

Room Tip: Keep away from close to stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have stayed in a number of Calais hotels and would rank this one highest. The hotel is nicely done, with comfortable rooms. Nothing truly stands out, but it is all done to good standards. Everything you expect in a hotel is here, and that is good. And the rooms are designed consistently, with nice tones.
The hotel is situated in the center of the town, but has a private car park at the back. Through the front door, you are on the Rue Royale, with its bar and restaurants, where you can enjoy your meals and relax.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here as last stop before ferry after a holiday in France.
The hotel is ideally situated less than 5 minutes from ferry terminal. I had previously stayed here when it was the George V hotel and was a little disappointed to find that Mercure had taken it over as the was a substantial price rise. They have refurbished the rooms to a high standard and we enjoyed a comfortable stay.
I had paid for the half board option and when we went down for dinner I was a litte shocked to find that there was no longer a restaurant in the hotel. The half board option was to be taken at the Histoire Ancienne restaurant almost next door to the hotel. The restaurant was fantastic and is rated No. 1 on TripAdvisor for Calais. Well deserved in my opinion.
Breakfast the next morning was to a high standard.
There is secure parking at the hotel but is quite limited, has to be booked in advance and costs 10 euros.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

The room was not too smal but not large, exceptionally clean as was the bathroom. Very modern and nicely decorated. Private car park around the back which is very secure ( now charge 15 euros though). Breakfast was good too. Would recommend it plus la sole meunière restaurant in Calais.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Calais Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Calais Centre

Address: 34-36 Rue Royale, 62100 Calais, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Calais Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for touring the Opal Coast, the fully-refurbished Hotel Mercure Calais Centre is situated in the city centre, 5 minutes from the ferry terminal and Calais Ville train station.All rooms are spacious and air-conditioned and are equipped with Flat-screen satellite TV, bath and shower and Wi-Fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Calais Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Calais Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Calais Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.