We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay we've had in Calais” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De La Plage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De La Plage to your Saves list
Hotel De La Plage
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   693 Digue Gaston Berthe, 62100 Calais, France (Formerly Kyriad Hotel Calais Plage)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Calais
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best stay we've had in Calais”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night upon our return from our European tour early this month; we were able to park both motorcycles easily and it felt like they would be safe.

Friendly check in and able to book breakfast. We chose not to eat here (looked good mind) but found it a pleasant enough walk back to the market square for a few beers and food.

Room was simple but well appointed with the unexpected extra of tea/coffee making facilities and also importantly for two very achy bikers a bath!

Breakfast was good and lots of choice. Will definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    89
    69
    26
    22
See reviews for
45
117
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

To be honest I wasn't expecting much as on paper it seemed like a stopover hotel for people using the ferry. Upon arrival it didn't look like much either, but its location was quite good: almost on the beach (as the name suggests) with nice views across the sea.
Staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was clean and tidy. What else do you need? Good value for money. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was our first time doing the tunnel to Calais, found this hotel on late rooms and for £47 we didn't expect much....and didn't care because how much time will you spend in your room anyway? The first receptionist was a but arrogant and rude and told me and my mum we were having a large bed to share when I ordered a twin room!!! I didn't argue because he was very rude.

However the room was pleasant and clean with a door directly into my car (21). We dumped our stuff and went out. Came back later to get changed and sat in the bar for the evening. Didn't eat but the food looked scrumptious and we were sorry we'd eaten elsewhere while out. The service wasn't amazing but they were very busy and friendly. Went to the room literally to sleep.

The walls are thin and we could hear everything a lot if the night but tough! There is no shower curtain but that didn't really bother us there is a door after all! The breakfast was good and well worth the €7.50. Check out was painless and we'd definitely use the hotel again. People complaining about aspects of this hotel need to remember its a budget hotel, you get what you pay for. If you'd payed upwards of €70 then complain but for €55 it was a gem. I don't go away to sit in my room. It's the place I lay my head!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We've stayed here a few times, it's reasonable value and very handy for ferry crossings from Calais and Zeebrugge. Nice position on the promenade. The restaurant compares favourably with others in this region( there isn't much competition.) I guess the best you can say is that it's OK, Prices vary considerably depending on what time of year you travel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and always find it worthwhile.
Located on the beachfront, very close to the ferryport, it is great for an overnight stay or for a few days on the French coast.
Our room (number 18) this time was on the ground-floor and had been recently redecorated. It was clean and comfortable but a little small. It has parking immediately outside the room which is very useful.
Breakfast was good - buffet-style with a good choice of cereals, fruit, cheeses, ham, jams,yoghourts, etc.
Staff were friendly and spoke good English

Room Tip: A ground floor room with parking immediately outside your room is very useful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

If you are looking for somewhere close by the Eurotunnel or Calais Ferry port, the Hotel de la Plage should fit the bill for an inexpensive stop-over. For a start it is well located at Bleriot Plage so you can have a pleasant/ bracing stroll by the beach to blow away the cobwebs. The rooms have been recently decorated in vibrant colours and have all the usual facilities including teamaking and free wifi access. The beds are comfortable and for a few euros extra you get sea views. This is by no means luxury accommodation but it is clean and fit for purpose. The added bonus of a good restaurant on site and vfm breakfast, pleasant staff, free parking all add up to my recommendation. I should add that we have stayed here on average ten times a year for several years and although we try other places at regular intervals we tend to return to the Plage.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Evidently the Hotel de la Plage has annexed the hotel Golf next door which is where we were placed.

The walls were dirty, we were left mouldy mayo in the fridge which stank the room out. Generally had the feeling of a closed down hotel being used as an overflow - which it may or may not be. We booked through hotels.com and the rooms were nothing like those advertised.

TV worked intermittently; hair dryer not at all.

I would suggest as a minimum you try and make sure you're in the main hotel - I can't say for certain but this may be a much better experience.

The view of the channel was some small comfort. If you are booking ahead of a channel tunnel trip like we did I would suggest Cite Europe as a better location.

Room Tip: ensure you end up in the main hotel - this SEEMS to be nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De La Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Plage

Address: 693 Digue Gaston Berthe, 62100 Calais, France (Formerly Kyriad Hotel Calais Plage)
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De La Plage 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel De La Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Hotel Calais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De La Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.