We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Good for a stopover, but...”” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence du Golf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Residence du Golf to your Saves list
Hotel Residence du Golf
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   745 Digue Gaston Berthe, 62100 Calais, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Calais
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
““Good for a stopover, but...””
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Good enough to have a decent sleep and a basic breakfast to hit the road again. Do not expect a friendly front desk manager. Asking for a glass of water and being answered that breakfast time was already over is not the best of the answers... (unless he was ironic, which it did not look like)...although he served it in the end.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    58
    50
    23
    21
See reviews for
74
47
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We booked 2 family rooms for overnight stay.when we arrived there our 5 years old said she does not want to stay in a dirty place,the outside of the hotel does not give a good impression at all.its in a nice location but very poorly maintained.we had to get the hotel keys from a next door hotel.When we entered hallway it smelt of dogs,quite sickening smell.
The bedroom floor had sand on and the previous people had left some belongings which we return to reception in the morning.
All in all would not like to stay here.The charge per night is too costly for such poor hotel.I have previously paid that amount per night for hilton/crown plaza etc..

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Do not know what some people expect, and, why they dont bother doing a 5 minute research of the area etc; one complained not by the golf course, it does not state anywhere golf course;
I stayed last weekend,( I travel 9 months of the year using usually Sheraton hotels) this was a quick stopover;
excellent position, walking distance to restaurants bars etc; on the seafront, with sandy beach, 10mins from tunnel;
spotless crisp bed linen, big soft towels, great adjustable heating, power shower plenty hot water, soaps/shampoo etc; fridge microwave kettle, tea/coffee bisquits in room, t.v. with english channels; recently decorated
24 hour desk with friendly staff,, modern restaurant bar on site, late check in and check out; plenty of parking; and £34 A NIGHT FOR THE TWO OF US, its not a resort hotel, or meant to be, but with room facilities a few days with a family; perfect; go to the bread/cake shop round the corner, do your own thing;
I think some people need to travel and wake up a bit; you get what you pay for and at £34 for
this I cant get it in the far east let alone Europe;

Room Tip: could ask for sea view but for overnighter, any; we were at the back, no problem and quiet as its pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Very nice. Although the staff aren't often there, it doesn't compromise your stay, as it is 'paired' with the hotel next door. The hygiene was excellent. Sleep was good. Aesthetics were good too. Smelled of cigarettes in the hall, but not in the rooms. The bathroom was fairly good, with a powerful shower. WiFi did not work. Next to a very nice restaurant with very good mussels. The sheets were clean and so was the mini-kitchen Had a reasonable range of teas and coffee in your room. The location is great, though it may not seem it at first sight. Although the beach is right next to a working port it is still nice for paddling and walking. I saw two rooms, and the paint on one of the beds was peeling but that didn't matter. All in all, very good; it would be excellent with a few minor changes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Arrived on late ferry into Calais and definitely need sat nav to find it, and key was next door but the young guy there was really polite and helpful
Good clean basic hotel. Room on first floor was quiet, clean and spacious. Small (queen size) double but really firm comfortable mattress with clean crisp sheets. Bunk beds in room too. Small kitchen area looked well enough equipped but we did not use. TV good choice of programmes, pity wifi did not actually work. Plenty of hot water, clean towels and basic toiletries. Breakfast ok but over priced for what it was.
Staff very helpful

Room Tip: You get what it says on the tin and for what we paid we could not expect better or more. Great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Great value as a budget stopover hotel, we stayed twice for two nights over a two week period, having booked through booking.com. The room was clean, and the corridors tidy and smart. The bunk beds in both rooms we stayed in were tired with stripped off black paint, and the bathrooms weren't exactly newly renovated, but I can't complain too much as what do you expect for the price you pay? One of the nights we were there was very windy and there was a cable or something banging against the wall outside which was a little annoying, but the weather was quite extreme to be fair.

Good continental breakfast selection, and the children's breakfast is free for under 12s - great value again.

Our main gripe was that on neither occasion did the advertised wifi actually work. We were not alone with this and witnessed other guests approach them with the same issues. Staff just responded - well I'm connected to it, showing their phones. Not helpful, especially when you need a connection for work etc.

That said I would recommend the Hotel Du Golf as a one night stopover. Great value, spacious rooms with kitchenette area which was very handy, and good location for the ferry etc.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Cleer, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were in a ground floor room so can't really give any comment on the other floors.
The good bits: Clean and good size rooms with good size bathrooms. English German & French TV channels. Free WiFi. Right on The beach. Great restaurant next door. Very cheap.
Not so good bits: The WiFi signal was very weak and unusable. Very noisy from adjoining rooms and the lobby from early hours of the morning and throughout the night.
Overall this is a perfect hotel for a short stopover while waiting for the Eurotunnel train. It's not somewhere I would stay for a holiday, but is 'cheap & cheerful'.
Top tip: The restaurant next door is excellent with great service and great food at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms very very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Residence du Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence du Golf

Address: 745 Digue Gaston Berthe, 62100 Calais, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Residence du Golf 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Residence du Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence Du

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence du Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.