We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meurice

Save Saved
You added Hotel Meurice to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Meurice
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5&7, rue Edmond Roche, 62100 Calais, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Calais
Poitiers, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Friendly, comfortable and atmospheric. A bit of a time warp - in a nice way. Bathroom idiosyncratic to say the least - but it all worked fine.
Very definitely not a chain and we will now use the hotel every time we stay in Calais.
No swimming pool nor fitness centre -so ignore rating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    157
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
59
182
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Spur of the moment trip to France after receiving no reply from the ebay vendors of a Lacanche cooker, so instead we jumped on the Shuttle with the car and went to Calais.
We did check with Tripadvisor as we were leaving and decided that the Hotel Meurice promised a slightly more atmospheric experience! We were not disappointed . On check in, they quickly resolved the cock up my PA had made, ie one night for two rooms as opposed to two nights with one room. Hey Ho, the PA enjoyed it though! Just around the corner in the Main Street is the Restaurant Ancienne which was excellent. Returning to the hotel, as mentioned in other reports the dog came rushing out to greet us. He's a sweetheart, re homed and if you take some charcuterie from your breakfast he will be your friend for life...and his name is Lol, so lots of treats folks.
The room was excellent, in an old fashioned way, two doors adjacent to each other provides entrance to the bathroom, quite why I'm not sure! But fun all the same. Excellent shower, which was slightly vertically challenged but just needed a quick screwdriver to resolve, immaculate linen. Bathroom immaculate. Bed, not my cup of tea, a bit harsh, but the PA liked it. Interesting decor, telly hopeless, tried everything and couldn't get it to work. Breakfast great, continental but loads of it. Also there is a restaurant attached to the hotel. We went for Plat Du Jour....fab, wine ( house) also very nice. Car parking (pretty secure) beneath the hotel. Overall a really great place to stay. The staff were outstanding. But you must bear in mind it is desperately old fashioned, but that is the charm of it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I am going with the others, who rate this hotel as being a heady mix of eccentricity and oldey woldey charme!! Staff absolutely lovely - couldn't have been more helpful, charming and polite. Sorted out an initial booking problem with minimal fuss and upgraded our room to a slightly larger one f.o.c. due to a large party booking. Heady mix of antique furniture, including an ancient throne-like commode halfway up the stairs and ornate washbasins in reception washrooms. Cosy snug/whiskey bar, featuring massive selection of malts. Someone had gone wild with v strong cleaning products in the Reception; when we arrived, my husband nearly keeled over with the "fumes" however, this had largely dispersed by the next day (or maybe we'd just got used to it). Re. The dog in reception, previously mentioned by other TripAdvisor members. He is on a lead permanently, but basically, it appears he was a "rescue" and has been traumatised when v young. We won him over by little titbits from our dinner/breakfast! Plenty of hot water from shower, although it was somewhat vertically challenged and wouldn't stay up its little pole long. We couldn't get our TV to work, but we weren't that bothered. Wifi is now free - it worked very well in our room as well as all over the hotel. The room was very well heated, including during the night, which did make it a little hot, despite being able to open the window a bit. Big, solid walls = v quiet! Lovely bath towels, linen, exactly as others have described. Bed firm - I loved it, but it was too firm for my husband - it's all a matter of personal taste. The restaurant next door - attached to the hotel - was excellent. Food was delicious and very good value. So..... if you want something personal and different, I would definitely go for this hotel. There is a secure car park underneath the hotel, currently 8€/night, although plenty of off street parking (do remove valuables in this case, car robberies are still "big" in France).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here with my son for a couple of nights and liked most aspects of the hotel.
The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk to the shops, restaurants etc. Calais-Ville railway station is around 10 minutes walk from the hotel and the ports are a short bus or taxi ride.
I was encouraged by the good reports on here so I thought I'd give it a try.
Our twin room was a reasonable size and had a large en-suite shower room and separate loo.
The shower worked well and there was plenty of hot water.
The room had TV with plenty of French channels including Canal + & Canal Sports. There were also some English language channels.
The beds were comfortable with good quality linen. It was difficult to get the curtains to fully close properly in the room.
Breakfast was included in our rate, there was a good selection at the buffet.
The building itself was quite old fashioned and charismatic.
Staff were ok but not amazing and I didn't like the fact there was a dog (presumably belonged to one of the owners) that kept peering round from one of the rooms just next to reception and barking loudly when we checked in and out.
Everything else fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The previous reviews were right in that this hotel is a one off and just what we like ourselves rather than new box like paces. After a long drive this was a haven. Very comfortable and beautifully decorated room on first floor with big bathroom. Great big bed with fluffy pillows. The tv connection was inconsistent but got bbc 1 in the end. Wifi is free once you get your device connected. Big breakfast selection in really good position and near the Ancienne restaurant which is really good. Receptionist when arrived was superb and so helpful.
Good garage below hotel. Try it and enjoy a hotel as the used to be!

Room Tip: First floor with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Hotel Meurice has lots of character, unusual old furniture, a lovely little whiskey bar just off reception and a marvellous central staircase. It is situated a couple of minutes walk from the main road with lots of restaurants and bars. We had a nice meal and then looked for a nice bar but they were all full of young people wiht loud music so we returned to the cosy bar in the hotel for our nightcap. Our rooms on the ground floor were on the small side but had a separate bathroom and separate WC which is always nice, flat screen TV and WIFI (you have to pay for it - about 10 euros for 24 hours). Everything was perfectly clean. However, none of us slept too well and we could hear a noise of running water all through the night. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel. I do think this is a little gem and I would return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

If you like your French hotels cavernous, extremely comfortable and with non-matching furniture, this lovely old, slightly eccentrically decorated, hotel in Calais is well worth a trip. In a peaceful setting opposite the Parc Richelieu but two minutes from the Rue Royale in the St Pierre end of town, the Meurice offers great value and a real sense of old-fashioned France. They have been slightly defeated by their cable TV connection (happy times wagging the dongle around to catch the BBC six o'clock news), and it's been a long time since I saw hessian walls in a hotel, but our family room was fantastic (no 44, at the end of a corridor hung with wonky Modigliani reproductions and photos of bathing huts). Two interconnecting rooms, one double, one twin, separated by a curtained arch, and a spotless and well-equipped bathroom. Breakfast included - total cost for a family of four...just over £105. The beds were comfortable, the linen pristine and very high quality, the welcome friendly but not over-pushy. Breakfast next morning was excellent, although I personally prefer to have coffee made for me rather than extruded from a Nespresso machine. Other than that, a huge choice of hot and cold dishes, excellent croissants and even a selection of sliced cheeses and charcuterie for Dutch and Belgian visitors.
We were slightly perplexed by the fact that the "house" restaurant, La Diligence, was dark on the Friday night before Christmas, but the receptionist explained that the restaurant is now separately managed from the hotel and undergoing some renovation work.
A peaceful and very atmospheric hotel. We loved it!

Room Tip: Room 44 is the only family room, I think...but if not it's the one to ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Meurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meurice

Address: 5&7, rue Edmond Roche, 62100 Calais, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meurice 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Meurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meurice Hotel Calais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Meurice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.