We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Charles de Gaulle, 62231 Calais, France (Formerly Hotel Copthorne Coquelles Calais)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Calais
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We recently stayed here for one night, to break the drive to Paris up.

I booked a twin room for my 11 year old daughter, my 5 year old son and myself and without me even asking, when we arrived the gentleman at Reception arranged a fold up bed for my son, so that we would be more comfortable, which we certainly were.

Free wifi was great and allowed us to watch streaming movies on our ipads, not that we really needed to as the TV had a number of British channels such as ITV and BBC on. The kids insisted on watching X Factor and theres me thinking that we had got away from that!

A good sized room and bathroom and for a Holiday Inn we obviously knew before hand what we would be expecting and were not disappointed.

Breakfast in the morning was good, buffet style. Scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon etc, were joined by the usual "Continental" mainstays of various delicious cheeses and hams, yogurts, fruit juices and of good coffee. A delicious selection of Pain au Chocolat, cakes and of course heaps of fattening butter croissants which I thankfully managed to stay clear of.

The hotel has some superb facilities including a good sized heated indoor pool, a steam room and also a sauna. We were only there for the day but it was I guess one of the main selling points why we chose this particular hotel, like no doubt others have done before us. We were not disappointed and in fact if anything we were pretty impressed how everything was run and how clean the place was.

Very friendly staff, a good sized room, super breakfast and situated close to the Ferry Terminal, the Eurotunnel and all the surrounding motorways. What more could you want?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    260
    102
    38
    10
See reviews for
140
229
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here as a stopover after a Channel Tunnel crossing. It's ideally situated for the Tunnel and it only took us about five minutes to get there. A tip is to turn left at the roundabout which takes you onto the road where the hotel is, not right! The hotel is comfortable and warm with friendly staff and free WiFi which was very handy. Breakfast was a bit basic - more like what a Holiday Inn Express would service in Britain, but it did the job we wanted, and we went on our way rested and well prepared for the next part of our journey.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had previously stayed here when it was the Copthorne and were interested to see how much it had changed. We arrived after a very long, tiring and rainy journey but were immediately made to feel welcome by the friendly & helpful receptionist who offered us a "goody bag" for our dog. We had a welcome beer in the bar and walked the dog on the extensive lawns (there are plenty of bins around for the necessary!) Our room was large and comfortable with English t.v., a kettle and very comfy king size bed overlooking the lawns & Health Club. There is free entry to the swimming pool and well stocked gym and lots of people were making use of these facilities. We didn't want to brave the weather again so booked a table in the restaurant for dinner. Dogs aren't allowed in the restaurant but we were given a table in the bar, in front of the wide screen t.v. and offered the restaurant menu (there is also a bar snack menu). The Kir and food were a little expensive but the bottles of house wine are good value at E17.00. I ordered veal Scallopini with mozzarella & sage but this was unfortunately rather chewy and was served with heaps of carrots, my least favourite veg. My other half had fillet of Julienne in an orange sauce which was scrummy and served with new potatoes. Dessert was cold rice with rhubarb coulis which was pleasant but a little stodgy. The staff were very friendly but the service was a little slow as they were focussing on the restaurant and a conference room. Breakfast the following morning was excellent. Again, we had to eat in the bar but we were able to walk through and collect our food from the very good buffet. This hotel is ideally placed for the Channel Tunnel and shops in Cite Europe and we will be using this for all our Chunnel trips in future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We made the mistake of trusting the sat nav post code, don't when your close look for the holiday inn signs on the islands we ended up the wrong end of a very long road.
Once here hotel is all you expect of a holiday inn, decent rooms free wifi pleasant staff.
The bonus was the restaurant having spent 11hrs in the car we ate in the food was very good well presented and good value.
Great location for the tunnel and that last minute shopping.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed over night on our way back from the South of France to relax before getting the Euro tunnel the following morning.
Good location and quiet.We had a clean spacious room with friendly staff.
Easy parking.
Resturant expensive though.
Not sure why the swimming pool doesn't open untill 5pm seems a bit strange.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

off the ferry. Had booked this hotel and it lived up to expectations! Friendly receptionist was very welcoming. Not many restaurants within walking distance so we booked a table in the restaurant. Excellent food and service. Hard to fault and would go back without hesitation. Good place to start our tour.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Myself, and my daughter and her family, stopped at this hotel on a room only basis, on the way home from south west France via Disneyland. The double room, bathroom I had to myself was large and very clean as were the rest of the public areas. We did not have breakfast so I can not comment on that. The location is ideal for the channel tunnel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles

Address: Avenue Charles de Gaulle, 62231 Calais, France (Formerly Hotel Copthorne Coquelles Calais)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Calais Coquelles is located 2 minutes from Euro Tunnel, Cite Europe Shopping centre, Eurostar station, main Motorways to European destinations and Calais harbour. Surrounded by a peaceful park with an INDOOR SWIMMING POOL, private car park, Bedrooms with air conditioning during Summer period, a fitness centre with extended facilities (Sauna, Steam Room...), meeting rooms with day light, possibility of cocktail and dinner until 350 people and just 3 minutes from the White Cliffs of Cap Blanc Nez and the sandy beaches of the Opale Coast.. !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles Hotel Calais
Calais Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.