We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for the Tunnel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Charles de Gaulle, 62231 Calais, France (Formerly Hotel Copthorne Coquelles Calais)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Calais
Norfolk, England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good location for the Tunnel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After some debate, we decided to stay here as we have stayed here before and it is very well situated for the Tunnel, being just around the corner from it. However we would have preferred to have been in Calais itself for meals, etc and drove in that night for dinner. The hotel's menu looked a little expensive.

It is a large, very pleasant and airy hotel and we had a good room with comfortable beds and a window you could actually open, which is always a bonus. The English channels on the TV were welcome as well.

We decided to go for a swim but the pool was pretty crowded. This might have been because it was early Sunday evening and it had been closed all afternoon. It was quite good to have a swim but the lockers in the changing rooms seemed unworkable and in the ladies' the toilet was blocked which is obviously far from ideal.

The staff were all courteous and we had plenty of tea and coffee available to make in our room.

Breakfast was fairly good, with a wide variety available and they had attempted an English breakfast of sorts, in view of their obviously large English clientele. However, most items in the "warming" pans were decidedly cold. Additionally, you couldn't help yourself to hot beverages, they poured us a coffee when we arrived which was cold by the time we came to drink it (as we wanted to drink fruit juice first) and was also desperately strong.

If you're coming here for a stop-over, as we were, and not necessarily to sightsee, then it is fine. It appears to have extensive conference facilities as well and plenty of parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Stevie6467,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. My apologies for any disappointment you may have had. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    285
    114
    39
    13
See reviews for
154
252
17
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Arrived at midnight a little perplexed by the hotel's own directions which weren't too accurate and/or tricky to follow in the dark, but was quite impressed to find nice hotel, polite reception and better than expected room. Good size, comfortable bed, clean bathroom - all good! Great night's sleep - slight problem on check out with refusal of credit card (eventually resolved) - would have stayed again on return so was disappointed to find they were full. Not bad for €79 - better value than a Premier Inn on the 'other side' :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight twice, on the inward and outward journeys to our hols and thought it excellent both times. The small but well-equipped gym and pool were very welcome after a day in the car. Rooms and public areas were immaculate, and the grounds are beautiful. Staff are friendly and will speak English if you prefer. Situated just off the motorway to Calais, this is a convenient and welcoming spot for a stopover. Our only reservation is that the food is both pricey and limited - but with so many restaurants just down the road it is not a problem - or take a ten minute walk to the Buffalo Grill, for a steak!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night after touring France. Hotel tired and in need of refurbishment. Holiday Inn could have a gem of a place here if they woke their ideas up. Pleasant location and good parking with easy access to main roads, shopping and Shuttle. Bedroom and bathroom were worn but bearing that in mind a good cleaning job had been done. Bed was clean and comfortable. Electric kettle and sachets coffee/tea provided but no complimentary bottled water. Limited menu at dinner but the food was reasonable. Breakfast was served in a room adjoining the dining area and that was reminiscent of sitting in a Canteen. Basic tables squashed together and breakfast buffet hot or cold lacked any great appeal. Blinds were missing (or had never been there) from some of the windows so if you were facing the wrong way blinded by early morning sun. Very uncomfortable. The breakfast "experience" definitely needs reviewing. Some tables in the dining area had been laid for breakfast but were obviously reserved for privileged guests!

Found all the staff to be very pleasant and helpful from check-in to departure.

We think this hotel is only good enough for a one night stop-over and, if that is all you need, there is better value for money elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear andBUk,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. We are very happy to read that you liked our location. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. We are working hard to ensure that our breakfast service meets our guests expectations and value your feedback.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can better serve you next time

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The good news is that this hotel is just a few minutes away from the Channel Tunnel. The bad news is everything else.

The executive (family) room was a fair size, but it really smelt unpleasant, even after the obvious attempt to mask it with air freshener. The A/C was broken, so it was unbearably hot - that is unforgivable given the price of the room. The bed had a large dip in the mattress on one side, and the wifi didn't even work.

To top it all, there were unruly kids running up and down the corridor late at night.

When I complained at checkout, the receptionist blithely mentioned that she would talk to the manager, without a hint of an apology. That pretty much sums it up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear simonrip,

Thank you for choosing us and we appreciate you sharing your experience.

We are saddened to hear your encounters in our hotel and would like to extend our sincere apologies for we fell below your expectations on the room condition and truly sorry for the inconvenience our air conditioning system has caused you. It is our fullest intention to provide the best experience, as such, we are constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts assuring you of our best attention and service at all times.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night as part of a journey to southern France. It is only five minutes from the Channel Tunnel and very close to the A16 for a fast start the following morning.

It's very similar in character and fittings to other Holiday Inns, It's clean, and of a good standard. The restaurant is relatively pricey - you are much better off making the five minutes journey into the centre of Calais, where there is a good choice of much cheaper restaurants.

The quality of the internet signal (which is free to Platinum members) was lousy, jus about enabling me to read emails, but nothing with any photographs in it.

Overall it's fine for a stop en route to somewhere else, but that's about all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed one night on our way back from south west France. The hotel is ideally placed for Calais ferry ports or The Channel Tunnel. Our room was large clean and comfortable. No complaints except they do allow dogs, so as I am allergic to them I was not happy to see them in the hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles

Address: Avenue Charles de Gaulle, 62231 Calais, France (Formerly Hotel Copthorne Coquelles Calais)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Calais Coquelles is located 2 minutes from Euro Tunnel, Cite Europe Shopping centre, Eurostar station, main Motorways to European destinations and Calais harbour. Surrounded by a peaceful park with an INDOOR SWIMMING POOL, private car park, Bedrooms with air conditioning during Summer period, a fitness centre with extended facilities (Sauna, Steam Room...), meeting rooms with day light, possibility of cocktail and dinner until 350 people and just 3 minutes from the White Cliffs of Cap Blanc Nez and the sandy beaches of the Opale Coast.. !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles Hotel Calais
Calais Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.