We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Charles de Gaulle, 62231 Calais, France (Formerly Hotel Copthorne Coquelles Calais)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Calais
Porthcawl
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for just one night as a stopover en route home from the Alps. Parking is good, the hotel reception efficient and helpful, the room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The bar is very good and reasonable and the restaurant also. The buffet breakfast was very good with lots of choice including bacon, scrambled eggs etc, etc.

We'll definitely stop here again.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a very quiet location, and I don't think any of the rooms would suffer from nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    260
    102
    38
    9
See reviews for
139
228
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at this hotel after a long drive from the south. The staff were great and the food good to. The room was clean and the beds very comfortable , infact I had the best night sleep during our three weeks touring France . Would defineltley recommend !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oosterhout, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked last minute and we were not disappointed.
Great value for money, nice comfortable room, spacious and clean!
Good size bathroom, also very clean!
We booked the room as we wanted to try out a restaurant in Calais before crossing the channel with Eurotunnel and we will do this again.
We thought the breakfast was rather overpriced though and we were in a hurry to catch an early crossing so we decided to skip breakfast and have early brunch instead in the UK.
Good idea!
Room was basic, spacious and clean and had everything you might want but nothing luxurious.
We will certainly go there agin when we travel to the UK.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good, we had one next to the parking lot and it was very quiet at night ...I g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, Uk
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I was owed a few days leave after the Christmas period so we decided to have a couple of days shopping near Calais using an excellent promo for the Channel Tunnel. Normally if we do this we decide to stay in the Suite Hotel or Ibis near the terminal as they are opposite the Cite Europe mall. However, for a change I thought I would look at the Copthorne, where I last stayed with my wife over 5 years ago. Anyway it is now branded as Holiday Inn but what particularly appealed to me was that on Expedia they advertised 'family' rooms for 2 adults and 2 children, so I decided to book. The hotel seemed little different to the way I remember the Copthorne. There was a wonderful Christmas theme to the reception area which we thought had taken great care and planning. The receptionist was lovely and friendly. The 'family' room was badged as an 'Executive' on the door but it exceeded our expectation. The room was neatly divided into two sections separated by a sliding door. The sofa bed was made up into a bed for the children (which was fine for them), huge bathroom, walk-in closet and two TVs meaning I could watch the news while my teenage daughter could watch something on E4 (most main English TV channels, plus some German in addition to the French local and national channels). We had intended to eat out but the menu looked good. Missed breakfast as we woke up too late, so comfortable were the beds! My son had a swim in the inside pool which he enjoyed. Late in the evening we went to the bar in the hotel which is made to feel a bit more like an ordinary bar/cafe and even has a pool table meaning it feels a bit more relaxed than some soulless hotel bars. The car park was very safe. Mind you, a contingent of CRS (riot police, who were all impeccably courteous) in uniform were staying in the hotel, so I doubt any car thieves would have tried their luck! We will stay here again, depending on price and availability.

Room Tip: Pay extra for an Executive room as they are large and divide in two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I spent one night here on a wine shopping trip. The Hotel is near a number of excellent outlets and is very good value. We have been staying here for many years and remember it from its Copthorne days. Nothing has changed. The room was good and the bed very comfortable. The basin is beginning to show age but apart from that no complaints. We did not eat at the Hotel because it is far cheaper at Auchan Supermarket and years ago we were not happy with service in the restaurant. Check in staff very friendly and I noticed the health club is still excellent. Free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Spent a lovely overnight stay after a long drive from Oleron. Enjoyed a drink before having a great 3 course meal.Room was clean and comfortable & good value for money,we have stayed there before & will be staying again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed for one night before ferry and because of snow stayed in and dined in the restaurant.
Very nice food and lovely staff but very expensive drinks even at the bar/pub.
Reception staff should point out that the wifi is only applicable for one mobile and I had to return to reception to ask for another.
All in all anice clean hotel with spacious rooms

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles

Address: Avenue Charles de Gaulle, 62231 Calais, France (Formerly Hotel Copthorne Coquelles Calais)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Calais Coquelles is located 2 minutes from Euro Tunnel, Cite Europe Shopping centre, Eurostar station, main Motorways to European destinations and Calais harbour. Surrounded by a peaceful park with an INDOOR SWIMMING POOL, private car park, Bedrooms with air conditioning during Summer period, a fitness centre with extended facilities (Sauna, Steam Room...), meeting rooms with day light, possibility of cocktail and dinner until 350 people and just 3 minutes from the White Cliffs of Cap Blanc Nez and the sandy beaches of the Opale Coast.. !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles Hotel Calais
Calais Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.