We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not The Best.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MyFerryLink Calais - Dover

MyFerryLink Calais - Dover
Calais East Terminal, 62100 Calais, France
0044 845 313 3380
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 16 Attractions in Calais
Type: Ships, Other
Attraction details
France
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not The Best.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

The interior of the ferry is tired and outdated a bit like some of the staff. I was served the worst cappuccino I've ever experienced, tepid and no frothy head. The ferry was 15 minutes late departing and arriving.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    82
    40
    13
    28
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Really good value! Took 95mins to get there on the ferry! All was straight forward until we were coming home. We were told upon arrival that the staff were on strike so they were transferring us free of charge to the euro tunnel! Which was great! We would of liked to if known before hand though as we could of gone straight there!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Returning from France”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Was told by P&O to book a late ferry and if space was available I could hop on an earlier ferry, tried to do this to be told there was a 90 euro charge, so waited for 4 hours for the ferry I had already paid for, Parking can be expensive, we left the car park and re parked several times to extend our free parking time. The terminal building was dull and drab as was the food.
When queuing for the ferry be patient and calm you will get on, saw a couple of crashes because people would not wait there turn, the loaders will give you directions and they know what they are doing
Once on board the facilitys are very good, but the queues for the café were huge so get there early they do run out of things, seat s go fast too, disembarkation was as bad as getting aboard cars cutting each other up trying to get ahead and the roads out of Dover were jammed so be prepared and be calm, after a mile or two the traffic thins out and everyone calms down
Our crossing was smooth sailing sit back and enjoy it and the white cliffs of Dover were an impressive sight even on a rainy day boy were we glad to see them

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Cheap, and authentically French, a good way to start your holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Booked on a whim on the Friday, crossed Saturday with partner and car, returned Sunday, for the grand price of £24. Sailings both left on time, staff seemed efficient, it was clean, I like the fact the staff own and run it, no complaints and will use this ferry company again.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“P & O Dover-Calais Ferry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

The port of Dover ferry terminal is not for the faint-hearted so if you are taking your car to Calais please allow sufficient time for the formalities. The 90-minute crossing is ok; there are numerous restaurants, bars, toilets, slot machines and places to sit down and nap.

It is possible to go out on deck in sheltered spots and get some fresh air which is really a good idea in almost any sort of weather but most passengers stay inside. You must get out of your car, you can't just stay there and sleep at the wheel.

P & O is a very experienced shipping line and their ferry service reflects that fact.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MyFerryLink Calais - Dover also viewed

 

Been to MyFerryLink Calais - Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MyFerryLink Calais - Dover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.