We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our regulars for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie de la mer

Brasserie de la mer
30 rue de la mer, 62100 Calais, France
+33 3 21 96 17 72
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Brasserie de la mer is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 117 Restaurants in Calais
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: La Mer restaurant in the midst of Calais��� most popular tourist area wears its culinary heart right on its sleeve. This warm, traditional restaurant ��� the sibling of La Sole Meuniere ��� serves nothing but fish and fruits de mer, including twelve different kinds of moules. And it serves them all day long, even at four in the afternoon after you���ve hit the hypermarche and require sustenance. The d��cor here is comfortable and welcoming, with panelled walls, white table linens, and seafarer-costumed waitstaff who know their crustaceans. Specialties include cassoulet de la mer, sauerkraut de la mer, fish couscous, paella. Drink house muscadet and linger over superb cooking.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“One of our regulars for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Whenever in Calais always have at least one lunch at La Mer. We are very fond of oysters and various shellfish and we know they will be fresh and excellent.
They sometimes have frog legs on the menu and they are always good as well.
Pleasant surroundings, well located, reasonably priced and the staff is courteous and friendly.
When very busy one can wait a little longer than expected but overall very good.
Many locals use La Mer which is always an excellent sign.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    92
    19
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Seafood and Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

On a recent Business Trip to Calais this restaurant was recommended via TripAdvisor. I actually had two meals in this restaurant and one was with my customer. I understood they had recently renovated the restaurant and it was very nicely done with a relaxed decor. The seafood was very nice with a large selection and variety. I very much enjoyed the Sole special and I would recommend it on your next visit. My customer enjoyed the meal as well. The staff took very good care of us both friendly and attentive. I would recommend this restaurant on your next visit to Calais France.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“This restaurant is half the price of The Channel or Sole Meunier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The food was wonderful. Scallops with a cream and cheese sauce to start, hot crusty rolls and butter, moules with garlic and cream sauce and cod with lobster sauce. Desserts were creme brulee and a cafe gourmand. All really delicious, hot and served with style. We also had a little amuse bouche of some sort of mousse while waiting for our starters. Lots of French customers. No loud mouthed chavs from the UK either. They were all on the other side of the road eating kebabs. This place is a real find. We always loved The Channel, Sole Meunier and the Detroit. However, they are now too expensive for an overnight stop type meal.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, Herts
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great food and good wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Wandered up and down looking at all the restaurants in the area and chose this one for our 1 meal in Calais - and so glad we did. Have been to France several times and had very mediocre food, so this was actually the best meal we had ever had in France. Service was friendly and attentive. House wine was excellent and very reasonable. The bread was warm and served in a bag (sweet touch). I had the salmon lasagne which was great - the portion was large and I could not eat it all. Husband had a monkfish curry and it was delicious. Relaxed atmosphere. Really liked it - can't understand how it is only ranked 28th out of 81 restaurants. Recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Good all round fodder and the staff were fit, so I am told! The mussels were abundant, a meal in itself. Value too...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie de la mer also viewed

Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Brasserie de la mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie de la mer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.