We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional operation serving excellent fresh fish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sole Meuniere

La Sole Meuniere
1 Boulevard de la Resistance, 62100 Calais, France
03 21 34 43 01
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
La Sole Meuniere is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 113 Restaurants in Calais
Price range: $37 - $61
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: La Sole Meuniere restaurant is equally two steps from the centre of north Calais and two steps from the beaches. It���s also quite handy for cars coming off the ferry from England. But with a restaurant this good, you���d go out of your way to find it and then tell the world about it. La Sole Meuniere specialises in fresh seafood and fruits de mer and rarely will you find fish so well prepared. The restaurant is charming and classic, with white walls and table linens, comfy upholstered seating, and wide windows to take in the view of the Manche. The very professional staff seem to be everywhere at once, offering the freshest oysters, fruits de mer ���according to the humour of the sea��� and beautifully grilled noble fish, as well as more complex creations and meat dishes, all artfully presented. Excellent wines, excellent local cheese buffet.
Dubai
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Professional operation serving excellent fresh fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We often lunch in the Calais area when stocking up on wine. This restaurant was recommended to us by a French friend. It was one of the best meals we've had in Calais. We went for the 30 euro menu. The grilled scallops were perfect: fresh and not buried in a cheese source as so often in France. The grilled sea bass was equally good. The fish cassoulet was generous with three large chunks of fresh fish on top of a hearty bean and potato stew. The sauce could have been richer but that is a minor quibble. The patisserie desserts were fresh and very rich. The total bill with a half bottle of good sancerre and coffees was a reasonable 87 euros. The service was professional throughout, the three waiting staff working hard as the restaurant was full (with a good mix of locals and Brits). While the menus were in french the staff were happy to speak English when necessary.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    67
    18
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful food - but with a french Basil Faulty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

On one of our many stop-overs in Calais - usually on the way somewhere - we happened upon this restaurant and had a great 3 course meal there but had the bizarre experience of being served by an equally preposterous waiter who did an excellent imitation of the infamous Basil Faulty.

The quality of the food was first class and would still go there again, but would sit the other end of wherever he was to avoid him.

It would take too long to explain all the 'quirks' he demonstrated but suffice to say it was all from the school of 'Basil'.

Having said that, I would recommend everyone experience the wonder of Basil, but just once.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“An old friend in new clothes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We used to eat regularly at the Sole Meuniere on our trips to France but hadn't been for some time so when we turned up at the restaurant I thought we had come to the wrong place. The décor had been changed and was extremely pleasing being both welcoming and also more up market than before. It was therefore with some trepidation that we looked at the menu fearing that the prices would have gone up as well. They had but not by much considering we hadn't been for at least 5 years. We had the €20 menu which was fabulous in spite of being the cheapest offering. The portions were large, beautifully presented and the service was excellent. This is a must eat place and we will not leave it so long before we go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fruits de Mar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Excellent Seafood Platter for 3 persons, great service and faultless food. Looking forward to my next visit

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A proper fish restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stopped for a quick meal before boarding our ferry, it's was a bit of a pit stop,and now we regret not spending more time.We didn't have a starter and went straight to the main course, and it was the best Sole I have every eaten!! We did manage a quick desert, the rum barba was also incredible.
The service was efficient and charming,and the Maître d was very chatty which made the atmosphere friendly.
Next time I'm in Calais I will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sole Meuniere also viewed

Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to La Sole Meuniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sole Meuniere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.