We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and amazing staff !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hovercraft

L'Hovercraft
11 Place Foch, 62100 Calais, France
03.21.34.59.73
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 113 Restaurants in Calais
Price range: $12 - $38
Cuisines: French, Bar, Brasserie, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: L'Hovercraft restaurant is one of the best-known, most popular restaurants and pubs in all Calais. The supporters of northern football teams make it a point to gather here for sporting retransmissions on the big screens and there's always an enthusiastic crowd here. The corner pub looks just like a French brasserie, with striped awning, rattan chairs on the pavement under bright blue umbrellas, but inside the relaxed decor gives way to the dynamic, young footie-loving ambience. The menu includes both regional dishes and meaty grills, traditional brasserie cooking with some vegetarian choices, things like sauteed veal, endives with ham, sauerkraut gratin. All-day service and themed evenings make this a major meeting-point for travellers.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food and amazing staff !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was our third time in the Restaurant and we keep going back for more :)

Our food is always amazing, its quick, filling and very well presented.

We also love the staff "Simon" "Max" and the Chef who made us a fantastic sandwich even when he had closed the kitchen ! now that's what I call service.

My advice don't waste your money going else where...

Ohhh.... We went to the Lighthouse in Calais and it was amazing, 271 steps to get to the top but the view was incredible.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    44
    19
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Better than your average cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We popped in to Hovercraft for a quick spot of lunch during a day trip to Calais. Pleasant and efficient service on top of better than a average food for a cafe made this a good choice. We were very conscious of the time as we had a non flexible ferry fare but didn't want to settle for fast food. Hovercraft hit the spot nicely -we'll be back

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“L'Hovercraft - more than just hot air.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We breezed into L'Hovercraft on a fairly miserable, rainy Tuesday evening a few weeks back. Easy parking just around the corner and a reasonable greeting saw us sitting on the heated and enclosed 'terrace' at the front of the building. It's a basic place propelled along by Gallic laissez-faire attention.

Hands washed and with a 'biere a la pression' already on the go, we chose calamari and moules frites, french onion soup and steak frites - washed down by a carafe of palatable muscadet. Good service reflected a quiet evening; the food was served promptly and although we waited between courses, the waiters put up with our Franglais and we had no complaints. The moules could have fed two, defeating my son who can always eat for two!

The evening livened up when a score or so of locals drifted in during our meal to sit where they could and watch the footy (Paris Saint-Germain in the Champions League). No hooligans there as they sat eating their pizzas, moules, frites, coffees, beers and cokes. Civilised passion and a good atmosphere.

No puds, and a reasonable l'addition and so we'll mark it it down for future visits. Hoverlloyd and Seaspeed sunk without trace about 12 years ago. I'm glad this Hovercraft is still around.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

we arrived in Calais after a long days travelling and wanted a good French meal before continuing our travels the next day.
The food was fantastic especially the moules washed down by a rather splendid bottle of Bordeaux
The service was pleasant and they spoke good English
Would recommend to anyone for a good value meal to start off their holiday

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“just keep coming back so good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is an ideal restaurant for families, been there many times always good food , very French , been run by Brits for years. French and English staff and very much used by the locals so has to be ok

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Hovercraft also viewed

Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 
Coquelles, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to L'Hovercraft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hovercraft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.