We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just the view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquar'Aile

Aquar'Aile
255 Rue Jean Moulin | plage de Calais, 62100 Calais, France
+33 3 21 34 00 00
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Aquar'Aile is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 113 Restaurants in Calais
Price range: $31 - $59
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Exceptional sight on the range English dimensions - 500 boats per 24:00 pass in front of the restaurant locates on the last floor of a panoramic residence 40 m of bays vitrees enable you to see this spectacle impressing - speciality the fish - lobster St Jacques - sin local some meats and game in season the seafood are very present too. Direct information on our site.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“More than just the view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The restaurant is situated atop an apartment block overlooking the Channel with a view stretching across to Dover. The superb view is matched by a varied menu and excellent service. It is an ideal place for both déjeuner à deux or family celebration with the food never failing to please. As an added bonus the chef gives periodic master classes to small groups. These are usually oversubscribed and need to be reserved well in advance, as does a table for Sunday lunch

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    70
    19
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Legendary food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Me and my girlfriend spent a weekend in Calais and asked to some people where to have a good lunch and we thankfully directed to this amazing restaurant. We went there with our two jack russels and were greeted with a glass of wine for us and a bowl of water for them. Their "Celebre Cocotte de Homard" (Lobster cocotte) is one of the dishes I'll remember for life, but the oysters and sole were amazing as well. In the middle of the lunch Fernand (the owner) drops by to check if our dogs are alright and we start chatting. Then he says "I want you to try something" and Jean Pier (the chef) comes up with this smoked salmon. Now, if you ever tried smoked salmon, THIS IS DIFFERENT. Actually this is better. I lost the details of Fernand's story but the basic idea is that it's coming from a local producer that just takes the best salmons and smokes them in the woods or something. Anyway, this was by far the best smoked salmon I ate in my whole life.
OK, I think you understood that the food was great :)
The atmosphere is friendly and simple, not posh at all. Fernand is proudly showing the boat he fishes on, and the place has a sense of being "real" that is hard to explain (actually the restaurant is located in an apartment building, which somehow adds to this atmosphere).
Finally, the restaurant has huge windows facing the sea from which you can see the ships entering Calais port.
I loved this restaurant so much that I no doubt will organize some weekends in Calais JUST TO EAT THERE.
I rest my case :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and spectacular view over the channel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

After a shopping day-trip to 'replenish' stock at Cite Europe, we thought it would be good to find a restaurant near the beach in Calais before returning on the ferry back to the UK. We found this gem by complete accident thanks to SatNav, by lightly touching a 'knife & fork' symbol on the screen which (to our amazement) started calculating the journey. The drive up to the restaurant (off a main road and winding up through a residential estate) looked most unpromising. It got worse at the unprepossessing entrance with no-one in the lobby, only a lift to the left. We almost turned around (thank goodness we didn't) but out of curiosity got into the lift and pressed button '2' (the one above ''Toilettes') expecting the worst...
Au contraire!
Despite our very casual attire (jeans/T-shirt) we were warmly welcomed as VIPs and led straight to a table along the panoramic window overlooking the beach, harbour and Channel.
Service was very efficient and although the menu was slightly more pricey than we'd hoped to spend, the authentic 'French' experience was certainly worth the 30 euros each for a simple 3-course meal. Food (fish speciality) was light, tasty and well-presented... the desserts were exquisite! Linen tablecloths and silver cutlery added quality to an all round enjoyable time, we'll definitely go there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Treated so well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Even though 90% of the room was occupied by a massive corporate "do" we (& other customers) were welcomed & looked after like VIP's, and the food & service were perfect.
Sole meuniere was very big & beautifully cooked. Chef's own little new potatoes were a joy. But we were also treated to a taste of his special oak-smoked salmon, a wonderful flavour unlike any we had ever had, & which we very much hope will be on the menu when we visit next.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A lovely spot to stop at for Lunch in Calais.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband, father-in-law and I had an extremely pleasant lunch on a beautiful sunny day, at Aquar' Aile. The service was very charming, the owner popped out several times to chat and check everyone was happy. The fruits de mer was fresh and tasty and plenty of it on the platter. The set menu Gourmand was delicious.. Monkfish and langoustine tagine, juicy scallops, a tasty strawberry dessert and an extensive cheeseboard. Would recommend and we will visit again next time we are in the area. It was pricey as others have mentioned, but worth it in our opinion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquar'Aile also viewed

Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Aquar'Aile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquar'Aile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.