We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of le quai

le quai
quai belu, 80000 Amiens, France
0616063782
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 223 Restaurants in Amiens
Price range: $0 - $59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“No...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Average restaurant even for tourists! Meat in the Thai noodles was undercooked, burgers were below par, service poor. The overall, canal side area is just OK- we found the quarter around the cathedral by far more interesting...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    146
    50
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“OK but too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The quai Belu restaurants are just tourist traps, often there for business I tried Le Quai, that's the best on the little warf, does not mean it is very good. The price is just to high for what you have, 7 euros a 50cl of beer!!! almost 3 times more than in Luxembourg.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Have the mussels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This wasn't our first choice of a place to dine in Amiens; despite its canal-side location it looked a little modern and lacking in charm. But every time we walked by this restaurant it was crowded with locals so we decided to give it a go. We ended up having a lunch and a dinner here and it was fab! The service was great, if hurried, and the menu was really interesting. They have a lot of local specialities on offer and these are the real standouts: Flemish mussels, Picardie ficelle, salmon cooked in local beer. Go for the local aperitif too, delicious! And they do an awesome kids meal - perch cooked in cream sauce, tagliatelle and a salad followed by ice-cream. Our son ate his plate clean!

The only real negative I have about this restaurant is a personal gripe: unisex toilets! I'm not sure that all the male patrons realised that they needed to share the bathroom with women so things weren't as clean or as private as they might have been.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Lovely local place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by Le Quai. Beautifully decorated in a stunning setting right on the water, the place was hopping the night we went. Food is inventive and fun--I had beef feuilletés with crisp veggies. Delicious! The service was fine--efficient and nice. We didn't leave feeling we had a new best friend, but we did get our food quickly and water refills when we needed them. We'd go back,

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Even though it was busy, the service and food were very good. Not touristy, even though it is on the water surrounded by other restaurants,

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed le quai also viewed

 

Been to le quai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage le quai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.