We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive new experience in Amiens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Amiens Centre-Gare

Save Saved
You added Campanile Amiens Centre-Gare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Amiens Centre-Gare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29/33 Rue Paul Tellier, 80000 Amiens, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 hotels in Amiens
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Positive new experience in Amiens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a pleasant addition to the stale choice of accommodation in this historic town. Thanks to Anzac day I was unable to get a booking at the Holiday Inn so I was forced to choose Campanile where they gave me a premium room (203 I think). The hotel is only a year old but still has some teething problems with service and rooms; overall it was a very pleasant experience. The room was compact with a very comfortable double bed. I had difficulty hot wiring the flat screen TV with an HDMI cable to play UK TV as the TV was build into the wall. Internet is free and works well. Ventilation in my room was also a problems, but I eventually found a window that opened. The restaurant was a breath of fresh air. I strongly recommend the Monkfish. Service can be slow but on the whole friendly and excellent. Breakfast was a hearty fresh buffet with lots of breads and spreads but limited on cheese and meat. This hotel is a good one stop shop if you don't fancy traipsing around town looking for a somewhere else to eat. On the other hand, it bears no reflection on the atmosphere or town it is situated [which suited me fine].

Room Tip: Check that you can open the windows in your room as the building can get stuffy. If service or getti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    85
    23
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
56
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have stayed two nights in this confidently located hotel. Design and furnishings are contemporary. Room size is ok, not particularly large, but adequate with good space to put bags. Like the bathroom.
The reception staff were friendly and very helpful.
We had a problem in the restaurant our first night. There were only two staff serving, hotel was booked out and a lot of people had booked to eat. We booked but our booking wasn't written down, that was ok we were one of the first there at 7:00pm so got a table. Our order was mixed up, including a gin and tonic without the gin. Our main meal was very disappointing, steak,medium rare that arrived steak tarte, , the outside millimetre was cooked, the inside was still cold. We asked for them to be cooked a bit more (we have never done this before and we know its not a good idea) our dinner was returned two minutes later with the steaks nearly cooked through. They had been microwaved. The worst part was the response of the waiter, firstly he told us the "we French eat our meat rare!" So what, when a customer orders medium rare they should be able to cook it like that. He then got very indignant when asked if they had been microwaved. This is the first case of arrogance we have experienced in our travels in France. We were offered a free coffee!

Room Tip: Parking is available in a public car park across street. You can find short term parking out front t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNE D, Directeur général at Campanile Amiens Centre-Gare, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear customers,

First of all, thank you for your comments. Your opinion is very useful in order to be better.
I understand that you have appreciated the hotel but you have been very disapointed with the Restaurant. Above all our waiters seemed to be mixed up with the english terms for the cooking of the meat, and following your remarks, the different tems with exact translations are now posted at the restaurant desk. And I personnaly check the way they cook the meat when it is turn back to kitchen.
We welcome many Australian people all around the year and specially for the Anzac. I hope to welcome you again in the future.

With my best regards,
Anne DEHU
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The room was large and well appointed, with the biggest bathroom I've seen in a hotel in a long time! I ate both breakfast and dinner in their restaurant as well and was very satisfied with the quality and cost of the meals. The area around the hotel isn't anything great, but it's a quick walk to get to any tourist destinations so that wasn't a problem for me at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNE D, Directeur général at Campanile Amiens Centre-Gare, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your nice comment on your stay in our hotel.
The team is always happy to have good remarks and it encourages them to continue to give their best.
Our hotel is quite new, and it is important for us that you appreciate all the services of the hotel.

We wish to have the pleasure to welcome you again

Best Regards
Anne Déhu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for the night due to the appalling weather and road closures in northern France.

Went to reception with my wife and 3 kids and was told that all hotels in the city were fully booked.However the girl on reception found us a double room and a cot which we gratefully accepted.She also went out of her way to find out traffic info for us the next morning.
As for the room,it was clean,bright,modern,comfortable and with all the facilities you'd expect.
Should i ever have the urge to return to Amiens,i shall be staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel opened in April 2012 and is a world apart from your average Campanile. It is downtown and, as the name suggests, close to the Amiens rail station. I only spent one night but my room was clean and comfortable. The hotel has good insulation so there was no street noise. There is a private car park immediately opposite and the hotel is within easy walking distance of several good restaurants. Breakfast was good with the usual continental selection. The restaurant is somewhat minimalist in design and i preferred to eat out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNE D, Directeur général at Campanile Amiens Centre-Gare, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

I am very pleased that you appreciate your stay at the hotel, and I am forwarding your comment to the team.
It is true that the hotel insulation is good as we are a new construction.
I hope next time to convince you to test our restaurant.
And if we have the pleasure to welcome you during the summer season, you will enjoy diner and breakfast on the outside terrace.

With my best regards,
Anne Déhu
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed one night and found a very nice room,comfortable and clean. The restaurant is not offering so many choices but, its quality is good. Staff is nice and ready to help. There's a parking closed only by 7 euros for 24 hours.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNE D, Directeur général at Campanile Amiens Centre-Gare, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur,
Je vous remercie de votre commentaire et je suis ravie que le nouveau concept Campanile "Nouvelle Génération" vous plaise.
Notre équipe fait effectivement le maximum pour vous donner envie de revenir et je suis sûre que vous avez encore plein de choses à découvrir sur Amiens.
Bien cordialement Anne Déhu Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Booked this hotel for it location to the train station as this was our pick up point for a battlefields tour and the price. The hotel is new and very clean, rooms are spotless, the food prices are good with breakfast being a small continental selection of breads, croissants, cereals, yoghurts, ham and cheese for €9. It is so close to the train station but you do not hear the trains. Rooms are good but the twin room has 2 very large singles that do touch each other, although they are made up seperately it is like sleeping in a king bed. Found a quick way to the hotel from the station which is when exiting from the train it is on the very right prior to going through the inside of the station so only about a 100m walk rather than the 15 min by going out of the train station and walking around the block. Would and will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Campanile Amiens Centre-Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Amiens Centre-Gare

Address: 29/33 Rue Paul Tellier, 80000 Amiens, France
Location: France > Picardy > Somme > Amiens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 hotels in Amiens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Amiens Centre-Gare 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campanile Amiens Centre gare, is a new construction,situated in the town center, just opened since March 2012. Comtemporary rooms are equiped with high standard bedding and coffee and tea facilities.Bathrooms have large shower or bath, and connecting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Campanile Amiens Centre-Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Amiens Centre-Gare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.