We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amiens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Amiens to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Amiens
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Blvd d'Alsace Lorraine, 80000 Amiens, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Amiens
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Shabby, painted brown long corridors, small rooms, stained sheets, tiny windows. Have I mentioned nasty staff ? NASTY reception staff. Breakfast was good but not compensated for a horrible stay. Do avoid if looking for a pleasant exoerience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMamiens, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amiens, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear NATALIA S,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback.
Please accept my sincerest apologies for the shortcomings you had experienced during your stay and I regret our hotel fell short of your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the quality and services that we offer to our guests.

I appreciate your feedback and hope that you'll give us a chance to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

F COLOMBA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    66
    85
    19
    5
See reviews for
15
86
12
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great location, and the parking (7euros for an overnight stay) underneath were great. But the hotel is tired, needing a complete refurbishment. The bathroom was grubby and shabby, the bed uncomfortable, but at least it was quiet. Sorry, but I can't be more positive than this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMamiens, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amiens, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi Jasmin186338,
Thanks for writing this review. I'm Happy to tell you that a complete refurbish will be done beginning of 2014.
So hope to welcome you again in 2014.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caloundra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed two nights. Arrival was not without some trepidation having read some reviews here. The hotel offers good basic accommodation. Staff were very helpful, the room was clean if small, breakfasts good, WiFi worked. Good location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMamiens, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Express Amiens, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Andrew M,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest.
I'm glad to know that our room and breakfast was what you expect. I will follow your comments to our staff.
Hope to welcome you again in Amiens or in another IHG hotel.
Thanks Again.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel was very reasonably priced at €57 for this you get a centrally located hotel that is easy to find as it is next to the railway station and within easy walking distance of the center. The rooms are small and very dark with only a little window. On the positive the rooms are clean, the staff are very good happy and cheerful. Breakfast, which is free, was adequate and there is free WiFi that I found to be very slow. It could and should do better with the following. Decor what was the designer thinking when he recommended the corridors should be painted the same shade of brown as my dog’s poo!!!! Or was it the only colour he could find to match the carpet, perhaps he was trying to recreate the ambiance of a first world war trench, in which case he succeeded and I take it all back brilliant job well done. At least they have had their monies worth as it is in need of a refurb. I would recommend a brighter colour than “mud brown”. There is no air-conditioning so you have to open the window. The problem is the smell there was a horrid rotting smell. It was either hot or smelly. Not a good nights sleep. I was pleased I did not have to endure another night. I was also concerned that there appeared to be only one staircase at the end of a corridor this would not be good if here was a fire between you and the exit you would be trapped. For these reasons I will not be back and would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMamiens, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amiens, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Coysh,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

We will keep in mind your suggestion for our corridor cause of the 100th Anniversary of the First World War (1914 1918) during our complete renovation end of 2013.

Concernning the room, I'm very sorry of the matter but if you had find something unpleasant you might have ask to our reception (open 24/24) staff to get another one and they would have give you another one (if others available left).

Concerning safety corridor you get two (and not one) on each side of the building and if necessary firemen get a direct acces on each floor direct from the street.

So don't worry you can come again and have a good rest

Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brithdir, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a 3 night city break as 2 couples. Very warm welcome from receptionist who gave good advice on places to eat etc and gave us a map of the city. Room was good, a little on the small side but fine for a short break. Usual room facilities - tv, hair drier, kettle, etc - one critisism is that there is no room to put the kettle tray. The tray itself must be plugged in to operate the kettle but it was stored in the wardrobe and there was no table top or surface near to an electric point so that you could plug it in, even though there was a large desk with plenty of space. We had to unplug the tv, which was on a shelf at head height, and use that electric point. The only other option was to move the phone, clock/radio (nice little extra) and information sheets off the bedside table and use that but that wasn't he ideal solution for me. Temperature in room didn't cause us a problem and noise wasn't an issue even with window open but everyone has different tolerance levels. Corridor to rooms on floor 3 was a bit smelly and the walls are a horrible brown colour and made it feel a bit depressing so a lick of cream paint would brighten it up no end. Continental breakfast was nice, plenty of food and drink available between 6am and 10am. Location is excellent - right next door to train station, supermarket and underground parking, which is only 7 euros for 24 hours (But we only paid 1 euro to park from 3.30pm on the Sunday until we checked out at 10 am on the Monday morning. Bargain!) 10 minute walk one way to St. Leu (canal area) and cathedral, 10 minutes the other way to jules Verne museum or just across the road to the shopping area. Plenty of restaurants to suit all budgets. 25 miles just outside city is one of many world war 1 memorial sites, we went to the New Foundland memorial park in beaumont -hamel. All in all, a good hotel to base yourself to explore the city and war sites, but needs a little freshening up here and there.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMamiens, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amiens, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Helen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

A Complete renovation will be done end of 2013 some every thing may be almost prefect when you will be back

Waiting for welcoming you again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the H,I Amies. The location near the train station was good. The room very small, no airconditioning, so if you open the window is very noisy , if you close is hot , The maintanance of the bathroom very poor.
They give a complemantary nice breakfast

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amiens, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear SusyPe,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This isn't the best HI Express we've stayed in, but it was fine as a stopover on our way back to Calais. Our room was tiny; we struggled to find somewhere to put the second suitcase and you had to move the phone from the bedside table to the already overcrowded floor to plug in the kettle tray. The disturbing musty smell in our room had me checking the bedding, pillows and mattress, all of which were spotless and fresh. Whatever it was, keeping the window open solved it. Everything looked just a little bit scruffy and worn; dingy brown corridors with scuffed paint, limescale stains in washbasin, hole in the carpet in our room.
Sleeping with the window open solved the lack of air con, but resulted in a rude awakening at 6 a.m. when the bins in the alley below were emptied.
Breakfast was good, especially the fresh fruit salad and fresh crusty bread. The reception staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, giving detailed advice and a map on where to eat, we really enjoyed our evening meal at one of the recommended restaurants on the riverside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amiens, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear katie48,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I'm glad to hear you found our reception staff agent to be exceptionally friendly and helpful. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and are happy doing so. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience your breakfast experience may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amiens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amiens

Address: 10 Blvd d'Alsace Lorraine, 80000 Amiens, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Picardy > Somme > Amiens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Amiens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amiens 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Amiens Hotel is situated in the centre of town, not far from the train station, the UNESCO World Heritage-listed Cathedral, the house of Jules Verne, the Picardie museum, the magnificent Hortillonnages (fruit and vegetable market garden), and the old district of Saint Leu. This charming town-dwelling establishment offers 69 comfortable bedrooms, recently entirely redecorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amiens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Amiens Hotel Amiens
Holiday Inn Amiens
Amiens Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amiens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.