We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Pygmy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Au Spatial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Au Spatial to your Saves list
Hotel Au Spatial
15 Rue Alexandre Fatton, 80000 Amiens, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Amiens
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for a Pygmy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Arrival proved hopeful as the lady on the desk was very friendly, however the request for a bath was ignored. Then upon entering my room, I had to climb over the end of the bed to reach the door to the toilet. Then upon inspecting the bathroom, the shower cubicle doors didnt work and popped inwards, and seeing as how the cubicle was smaller than a phone booth, if you turned around your bum turns the tap off, and when you move the doors pop inwards banging you on the head if you are washing your lower body. It was not the cleanest of hotels either. My friend with whom I was travelling said, "never mind hen, it's no as bad as barracks" and that was true, however I never had to pay to stay in barracks when in a pipe band, and you have expectations of both places, this hotel didn't reach any basic ones for a hotel.

Room Tip: do not expect much, then you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    8
    5
    11
See reviews for
1
4
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Hotel Au Spatial is very conveniently located, close to Amiens railway station. I stayed there for 2 nights. The room was basically furnished, but a good size, clean and warm. The breakfast at 6 Euros was generous and tasty. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel was quiet, so I had a couple of good night's sleep.
The town of Amiens is very picturesque and the Cathedral is stunning. Well worth a visit. To summarise, this hotel isn't the best I've ever stayed in, but it certainly isn't the worst either. I thought it was good value for money and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

I stopped in Amiens for a night on my way to Arras to visit the Cathedral and see the town. The Cathedral is stunning, and you should really try to get there when they light up the front to demonstrate its original polychromatic facade. Great places for dinner along the canals in St. Leu. The Hotel Au Spatial was recommended in some guidebook and I should have checked TA first. It had a great location, but was barely acceptable for the night. If I had been travelling with a partner or looking for anything at all romantic it would have been a disaster. It is bare bones and feels like you are in an old youth hostel. However, it was passable, clean and very central.

They have secure parking behind the hotel and it is close to the train station.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

This is a very basic hotel. Few TV channels. Very cramped shower. It seemed like a clean room, but then I went looking for something I'd misplaced and I found a load of old cigarette butts and a purse with 10 Brazilian reais in it under the bed. So clean is a relative thing, I guess. The room stank of deodoriser when I arrived and cigarette smoke after that wore off.

Both nights my sleep was extensively interrupted by large noises from upstairs somewhere. Do they have a trampoline up there? A wrestling team? Why does anyone need to move furniture at 3AM? Because of its construction, I believe that this hotel will always be noisy. It is presently in the middle of renovations, however.

The radiator heating never came on in the room, but the room wasn't cold.

I found the staff to be friendly and business like. The location is very central. Amiens is a pleasant city. It's a stretch to give it a two star rating, but given that I've stayed in much worse hotels, it seemed only fair.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Au Spatial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Au Spatial

Address: 15 Rue Alexandre Fatton, 80000 Amiens, France
Location: France > Picardy > Somme > Amiens
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Amiens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Au Spatial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Au Spatial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.