We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Hotel and lovely location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel de La Plage

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel de La Plage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel de La Plage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 rue du Commandant Charcot | Plage de Monsieur Hulot, 44500 Saint-Nazaire, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 40 hotels in Saint-Nazaire
England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Cute Hotel and lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have known St Marc over the years. It has grown a lot and the hotel is now part of the Best Western chain.
The receptionist was excellent. We have never met such a professional receptionist even in 5 star hotels. Asked if we wanted to speak French or English.
The room was well presented very suitable for beachside use. Clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was good value.
The only downside was the lack of air in the rooms. It was October so not that hot but it can get very hot there in summer. We had a seaview which was great but if we had the window shut we stifled, if the window was open it was very noisy with the waves. Later that night it was raining so the room began to get drenched with the window open!! I do think that air conditioning as needed in the rooms to make the stay perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    57
    21
    15
    4
See reviews for
16
74
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had 2 nights here and greatly enjoyed the location. The first night we were in a sea-facing attic-type room on the top floor which is part of the original building, so has some connection to the movie. For the second night we were able to upgrade( for a small extra charge) to a room on the first floor with a huge outdoor deck. Both rooms were nice but the outdoor space with the deck was well worth paying extra for.
The restaurant seems to be very busy at lunch, much quieter at dinner and offers a good choice. The advertised 'American' buffet breakfast was really French buffet breakfast.
We're not sure whether to be pleased or annoyed that the whole village is so low key about the association with the movie. There was nothing to buy as a memento. In desperation we have a fridge magnet!
There is a short walk which captures a couple of the movie locations.
Hotel, here's an idea. Have 'Mr Hulot's Holiday ' playing on an endless loop on a TV channel. Many people (all of us at breakfast) come there because of the movie and it would have been fun to watch it while staying there. (Cannot claim this as an original idea. A very famous hotel we stayed in in India does this with a well-known Bond film)
Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: If you are on holiday and the weather is good, pay extra to get a terrace room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdlpSaintNazaire, GHP Hotels at BEST WESTERN Hotel de La Plage, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your commentary on our hotel.

It was a real pleasure to welcomme you.
We get lucky to be on Mr Hulot's beach, but we cannot use his symbol as we would want. So we try to be so fun as possible like himself!! :-)

We hope to see you for a next stay!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Even rooms are small , this is one of the most charming place in France in front of the sea ...
The staff is very pleasant and gives you approriate advices about everything .
The sand beach is clean and a bath can be taken without any problem , just check water temperature .....

Room Tip: Ask for a front sea view ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdlpSaintNazaire, GHP Hotels at BEST WESTERN Hotel de La Plage, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

All the team of The Best Western Hotel de la Plage would like to thank you for your commentary about our hotel. It was a very pleasure to welcome you and help you in order to discover our lovely country.

Hoping to see you again for an other stay!!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Beautiful hotel and restaurant with an old fashioned elegance about it, yes our room was small but the view, the sheer joy of the view, simply amazing.
The room is decorated in contemporary chic, the staff are all rushing around for everyone, willing to help with anything at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdlpSaintNazaire, GHP Hotels at BEST WESTERN Hotel de La Plage, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guess,

All the hotel team would like to thank you for your commentary on its hotel.

We are happy to welcome our guess in our hotel located on the famous Mr Hulot's beach.

We hope to see you again for a next stay.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Once again I was traveling for work and our hosts reserved rooms for us in this very nice hotel. Right on the beach! As I like to do, I arrived a day before our meetings were scheduled to begin and I spent a beautiful, sunny day walking the area and visiting the beach. I'm glad I traveled a day early because the rest of the week was either overcast and windy or drizzling rain.

Sunday morning the little town of Saint Marc Sur Mer has an open air market about a block away from the hotel. Lots of little booths with specialty food. Cheeses, fruits, vegetables, meats, fishes and breads. There is a little store across the street and a couple of small restaurants close by.

I enjoyed the comfort of the hotel but the weather could have been better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdlpSaintNazaire, GHP Hotels at BEST WESTERN Hotel de La Plage, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guess,

We would like to thank you for your commentary on our hotel.

It was a real pleasure to welcome you and we hope having to see you again for a new stay!!!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed over on the way south so that we could visit Nantes - the hotel is right on the beach in a small, pleasant, suburb of St Nazaire. Very pleasant and helpful staff, the room, with a view across the lovely beach, was not huge but perfectly acceptable, clean and well appointed. The storm crashing onto the beach lulled us to sleep! Hotel restaurant was very good - food was imaginative and good quality, service was good although once the rooms filled up (mainly with locals) after 8pm there were not really enough waiting staff to keep everyone happy. Definitely worth reserving if it is anything like busy. Not much alternative locally apart from a couple of bars and a pizza parlour and the restaurant is not a cheap option. Travelled into Nantes from here - concierge suggested that we drive to the Atlantis shopping centre on the west side of the city (about 40 mins) and take the tram from here - excellent way around the traffic - tram leaves from outside the southern side of the mall and costs E 1.50 to the centre, about 20 mins.

Room Tip: Worth the supplement for the sea view 2nd floor - car park view is less romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdlpSaintNazaire, GHP Hotels at BEST WESTERN Hotel de La Plage, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guess,

We would like to thank for your commentary.

It is a real pleasure to welcome you in our hotel and in our country.

Hoping to see again during a next stay.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very famous hotel, starred in a "M. Hulot" film of the fifties. Seen this hotel many times as we viewed the beach nearby, We booked in for four nights arrived just after the twice a week market which occupies the access street closed, ( Sunday and Thursday street closed until 3 PM). I am disabled and had checked before with the hotel to confirm there was a Blue Badge parking spot, ( extra width for drivers door to open fully). There was one, but when I saw the access to the hotel I was horror struck, 8 or 9 steep steps, no sign of a ramp, later confirmed there is not one, although there is planty of room to install one. Staff are very helpful it gettingl uggage in, but, I had great difficulty getting up the steps, the smokers use the steps to sit on and use the two hand rails also to sit on.
A bit of a problem with reception, sorted out by a trip by the receptionist to the "Office".
Very good room faceing the " M Hulot" beach.
I highly rate the hotel and restaurant and our room.
One of the best smaller French we have stayed, good disabled facilities inside, BUT those steps!!!

Room Tip: a room overlooking the " M Hulot" beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel de La Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel de La Plage

Address: 37 rue du Commandant Charcot | Plage de Monsieur Hulot, 44500 Saint-Nazaire, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > Saint-Nazaire
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Nazaire
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Nazaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel de La Plage 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the BEST WESTERN Hôtel de la Plage, the setting for Jacques Tati’s famous film Les Vacances de Monsieur Hulot (‘Monsieur Hulot’s Holiday’). Set in the village of Saint Marc sur Mer, it is the only hotel on the Guérande peninsula that is right on the beach, looking out across the Atlantic Ocean. Completely refurbished in 2008, the hotel offers rooms that combine charm and comfort, each oneunique, decorated in different shades of colour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel de La Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Nazaire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel de La Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.