We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bagnoles Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bagnoles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bagnoles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Place de la Republique, 61140 Bagnoles-de-l'orne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Chateau Gontier
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A very warm welcome awaits you at this hotel, the rooms are well appointed and a good size,and are very good value. A nice little bar or the terrace for an appero. The breakfast is buffet style but with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    26
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
63
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SHEFFIELD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed 4nights while visiting friends, new couple had taken over the hotel September 1st they are very friendly and helpful. Our room was standard room,quite compact with a very clean bathroom with an extremely good shower,we only had breakfasts which had avery good choice and reasonable price. Excellent for the price

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony overlooking the fountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just enjoyed only one night, wish we had stayed longer. As described before the room and bathroom was small but clean and bright. Owner was helpful but spoke little English. Overall a good hotel in a great location. We would return given the oppertunity.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Bagnoles hotel is a great hotel, in a good location. We had a family room which was small but very comfortable. Clean bathroom and good shower. We arrived late which was no problem and the owner assisted us straight away with parking, carried the suitcases upstairs. Extremely accommodating and very friendly. Buffet breakfast was good and more choice compared to other places we stayed in France.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at the hotel at the beginning of July. It was a lovely place with very friendly owners and we even met Fifi (the lovely dog)! We would like to say 'Thank you' to the owners.
The hotel was very clean, we had a room with a balcony overlooking the fountain, which was brilliant on a rainy day, as we could watch the world go by from the balcony without getting wet.
The food in the Bistro was great, but shortage of staff was obvious and let the experience down in a way.
My husband's main course was overdone, but was replaced when we complained.
We would definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

It felt a bit different arriving at this hotel - the owner rushed out in the damp weather to help us into the last place in the car park. The other comments here about the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners are spot on - they were a delight.

The nice surprise for us was the Bistro restaurant on the ground floor. I'll confess that our expectations after experiencing some great meals in Burgundy and the Lot were not that high. However we were wrong. The food was excellent - a steak one can cut with a fork is always a good sign - and the popularity of this place was evidenced by the fact that it was full of locals.

I cannot understand the comment about tiny beds - we had room 10 which had a king size bed which was very comfortable. It also had a nice private terrace. Shame the rain didn't let us use it!

We stopped here as a stop over on the way from the Lot to the ferry at Caen. It took about 90 minutes in the morning to get to the ferry port.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The owners are friendly. The room was very comfortable with the added bonus of a sofa and also a desk. The room and bathroom were spotless.

Breakfast was OK but nothing special.

Room Tip: We had room no 3. No balcony but fairly large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bagnoles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagnoles Hotel

Address: 6 Place de la Republique, 61140 Bagnoles-de-l'orne, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Bagnoles-de-l'orne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bagnoles Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Bagnoles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagnoles Hotel Orne/Bagnoles-De-L'orne, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagnoles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;