We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel to your Saves list
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route du Mont Saint Michel | BP 8, 50170 Mont-St-Michel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Mont-St-Michel
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

What can I say... This looked like a worn motel-style hotel. I was very much looking forward to showing my husband Mont St.Michel and very much disappointed with the hotel.
The room we first got had two single beds pushed together instead of a double bed, so we asked for a change and got one on the ground floor, facing the parking lot.
A musty smell stayed with us throughout our stay, the view was non-existent, the toilet constantly ran, the bathroom was dated and as an added bonus we could hear everyone talking by our entrance.
Not much more to say except how this hotel got to be top-rated is beyond me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    324
    125
    15
    7
See reviews for
147
321
31
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The room we had was spotless and very comfortable, (room 14) the staff were exceptionally friendly and the location is perfect, if we ever have reason to visit this area again this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

There are a small cluster of hotels located at the causeway entrance to Mont St Michel, of which the Mercure is likely the best. It is rated as a 4 star and well the rooms are pretty much a standard room. Rooms are clean, lots of towels, all the shampoos and soap you want, tv with BBC as the only English channel, etc. We had considered staying at the Mont itself inside the city walls, but no need to. There are free shuttles that will take you across the causeway every 15 minutes all day until 1 am in the morning (it would take you about 15-20 minutes to walk it). This means you can go out to the Mont in the evening for a meal and walk around (which I highly recommend). While it is busy in the day, it literally shuts down by 7 pm and you have the whole place to yourself. Most restaurants are open till 9 pm. Parking is an issue, so be sure to call ahead to the Mercure, and staff will give you a code to open a gate which will allow you to drive right up to the hotel and park (free at the hotel). So, thumbs up on the Mercure for location and efficiency.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Pros:
- Nice location on a village (La Caserne) with some restaurants and hotels
- Free shuttle to Mont Saint Michel right at the hotel's Dior
- Nice bed / sleep quality
- Pleasant staff
- Clean and spacious rooms
- Free wi-fi that works
- Nice shower
- Free breakfast
- Extremely fast check-in/check-out
- Better than regular Mercure standard

Cons:
- Rate
- Expensive breakfast (other hotels have similar and cheaper breakfast on the village)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel

Address: Route du Mont Saint Michel | BP 8, 50170 Mont-St-Michel, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-St-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Mont-St-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is equipped with 100 spacious rooms. Located at the entry of the dike, 1800 meters of the Mont St Michel and of its Abbey of 11th century, the hotel features a gourmet restaurant with regional specialities, a bar and 6 conference rooms (100 people). Private and free carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Accor Mont Saint Michel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.