We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel to your Saves list
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route du Mont Saint Michel | BP 8, 50170 Mont-St-Michel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Mont-St-Michel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Functional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Needing to stay in Mont St Michele overnight, but wanting to avoid the island due to luggage the Mercure pleated o be the best option. The room was functional, but hardly impressive. It reminded me of conference accommodation. Rather frustratingly while the hotel provides a kettle, they refused to provide ceramic mugs and was forced to use paper cups. The beds were comfortable.

Staff were friendly, and lent us an Umbrella.

Rather frustratingly, while the access code to the compound was provided over email, they forgot a digit and I was forced to ring the hotel anyway. I booked directly through the Mercure website and was frustrated that payment cannot be made in advance as with all other Accor hotels.

The hotel serves its purpose and is functional.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    324
    125
    15
    7
See reviews for
147
321
31
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

It is a Mercure and so one would expect a fairly nice facility in the centre of the attraction. Rooms are spacious and feature a third bed in addition to the large king size bed that is convenient if u have a child. The srtip where the hotel is located is still about 25 min walk to Mont St Michel. It looks close but is not. Take the shuttle across the street that runs about every 10 minute. There is adequate parking and free wifi.
Caution about accessing the hotel strip at the Mont St Michel. There are traffic attendants in that area that would just send you round and round in circles to direct you to pay parking or away from the strip. To access the strip, you need a code to get in at the gate. So once you are outside the strip or near it, you need to ring the hotel to get the code and tell the traffic attendants you are staying at the hotel and have the access code. Otherwise you will be misdirected away. No fault of the hotel. Just how things roll at the location

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel is located after a gate that prevents cars from going near the bridge that access M. Saint-Michel.
This was definetly the great point of the hotel, since as guests of the hotel we could park the car (with no cost) close to the point were the shuttles depart. But, attention: you need a code to open the gate, and of course we only found that out when we could not pass the gate. Fortunately we were in two people, so while my husband drove around (no parking close available) I went to the hotel, got the code and went back to the car.
Others were having the same problem as us, If the hotel could simply advise their guests, that would be a lot more simple.
The room is ok, the location great.
We were not lucky with the lady at the reception: when asking her if she could give us an advice of where to eat inside the mountain she just said to us "The hotel doesn't own any restaurant there, so I have no idea". Not very friendly!
But there are not much choices of hotels near the bridge, so it was ok.
And the hotel had a very nice restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Clean and comfortable hotel. Free WiFi. Shower could have been better designed.
Very convenient for getting to Mt St Michel and good value for room (but cost of breakfast was extortionate.. go opposite to the cafe/bar by the supermarket!)
Hotel restaurant was good (but wine was very expensive) but the service got slower and slower as the place filled up and was pretty poor by the time we wanted to pay and leave - almost impossible to attract any attention (we could easily have left and nobody would have noticed!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Travelled as a group of ten motorbikers. Arrived at about 10pm, much later than expected, as our ferry was delayed getting into Cherbourg earlier in the evening. At this hour everything in the Mont St Michel area seemed to be closed. Two friends who had arrived earlier therefore asked the hotel to leave something out for the late guests. The hotel excelled by leaving a fantastic cold plate with salad for us and plenty beer, all set up on a table in the lobby. Even when we got the bill for this the following day we were pleasantly surprised. To top it off we only changed to this hotel at the last minute as we had read some awful reviews on TripAdvisor about our intended hotel. So glad we changed.

Can't fault anything else - rooms, location etc. all top class. In fact the internal layout is a bit quirky adding to the appeal of this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Realy near Mont St Michel 20 minutes walking or 5 minutes wallking to take the navette, good restaurant and breakfast. Aceptable room. Ok for stay one or two nights. Internet wifi in the room and parking for customers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is very close to the Abbey (just yards from the bridge/main road) and a great value for the price. We took a bus to and from the Abbey several times throughout the day and finally at the end of the night we took the last bus back to our hotel.
The Pros
Excellent location
The room was standard but very nice and clean
The hotel bar attached is very pleasant.
The staff was helpful
The hotel was very close to the Abbey and the bus to take you to and from was stationed just a couple of feet from the hotel front door.

The Cons
Things in the area either close early or limited supplies are available. We drove about 2 miles to the next town to get cigs (only a habit we take to in Europe).

All and all the location is great and the value was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel

Address: Route du Mont Saint Michel | BP 8, 50170 Mont-St-Michel, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-St-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Mont-St-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is equipped with 100 spacious rooms. Located at the entry of the dike, 1800 meters of the Mont St Michel and of its Abbey of 11th century, the hotel features a gourmet restaurant with regional specialities, a bar and 6 conference rooms (100 people). Private and free carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, Despegar.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Accor Mont Saint Michel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.