We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient location, perfect base to walk to the Mont” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel to your Saves list
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route du Mont Saint Michel | BP 8, 50170 Mont-St-Michel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Mont-St-Michel
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very convenient location, perfect base to walk to the Mont”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel is very close to Le Mont Saint Michel. It is enclosed in a private complex with secure parking spaces and lots of restaurants nearby.
The location is extremely practical:
you can walk to the Mont St Michel via a little path (30 minutes) or use the free shuttle service which runs all day long every 15 minutes (pick up point near the Relais Saint Michel, 3 minutes walk from the Mercure hotel)

Our room was looking to the back of the hotel. It was very clean, in immaculate condition, spacious and comfortable. the toilets were a bit small with a sliding door. Flat TV screen, kettle, phone and Wi-Fi available.
The staff were kind and friendly.
We were just able to get a view over the Mont St Michel when stretching above the window. That being said, in this complex no hotel has a full view over the Merveille apart from "Le Relais Saint Michel".
It should not put you off though, because the Mercure's location is an ideal base to visit the Mont St Michel.

If you are tempted by a stay on the Mont St Michel Island I would strongly advise you to refrain from it. The Mont St Michel is very tiny, so all the rooms you will find there are charming but very small. You would have to pay for an expensive parking space during your stay and carry your luggages there (no cars allowed). The streets are very narrow and the island is full of tourists during the daytime. So the only time when the restaurants and hotels can empty their rubbish and replenish their stock is at night: you will endure a very noisy night and pay a very high price for it. It is much wiser and much more enjoyable to stay in a hotel located in the complex mentioned above. This way, you will have the best of both worlds: the amazing scenery of the Mont St Michel at a stone throw, and a peaceful night of sleep at an affordable price.

Room Tip: If you are tempted by a stay on the Mont St Michel Island I would strongly advise you to refrain fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    365
    142
    18
    11
See reviews for
159
359
36
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here at Mercure Mont Saint Michel in April 2012 as we wanted to visit Mont Saint Michel. It is on the same road and less than one mile from the Mont. There is a large free of charge car park. We got this for a very reasonable price directly through the Mercure website.
Hotel was clean and welcoming. Staff were helpful and pleasant.
Our room was huge and really nice and quiet as it was at the back of the hotel overlooking the Salt marshes that this area is famous for.
It had a very large bed, comfy armchairs and a table and chairs, plenty of maps and information in the room, television and tea and coffee facilities.
The bathroom was also massive and had a good sized bath and shower.
We had a really good overnight stay here and would stay again if we needed a base in this area.
There are bakeries across the road where we enjoyed fresh croissants, orange juice and coffee for breakfast sitting outside in the sunshine.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Nice location, good breakfast.
You need a password to get to the hotel(they should put this info on the web-site), so I was at the gate and I phoned the hotel front desk to obtain the password.
Everything else was just fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hotel has the feel of a country retreat, which makes it charming. Staff were friendly and helpful, ready to explain timing of shuttle services and allowing us to quickly bypass a massive Japanese tour group that showed up at the same time as us to quickly get the key to our room. Rooms are very decently sized - it'll be a welcome change of pace from cramped Parisian quarters.

Non hotel tip: get the cheapest food you can while you're visiting - prices are indeed inflated at Mont-St-Michel, so this is a good place to munch on a baguette instead of splurging. Save your dining money for Lyon or other food destinations.
Also, plan your visit to MSM for high tides. Very cool to see, and plan on arriving early enough to see the water coming in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is pretty decent, couldn't complain about the cleanliness of the room but all the big tour buses could be heard early in the morning and every time someone came up or down the wooden stairs, we could hear it loud and clear. It sucked for me because I'm a night owl and only wake up late. The last shuttle from Mont Saint Michel leaves at 1am too, and we only came back then.

Be prepared to pay the hotel 1.50€ on top of an overseas roaming call on your mobile phone to ask the hotel staff for the access codes to open the barrier gates for your car to get through. Parking outside the hotel is "free". Every time you drive out and want to come back in though, you'll have to call again for the new code and it costs another 1.50€ from them to give it to you. Don't quite understand why it has to be as such, instead of complimentary access to guests with hotel bookings.

Breakfast was 14€ per person so we skipped that and went to the Super Marchè across the street for a simple warm breakfast instead :) The staff are professional though and wifi is free, though it's impossible to sign in from your room (mine was located upstairs) unless we went down to the reception on the ground floor.

But it's located very close to Mont St Michel and it's a smarter alternative to staying in the island where the prices for accommodation would probably cost you an arm and a leg ;)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is right across the bridge from Mont St. Michel. Free parking. Easy access by bus to the abbey. Very clean and quiet. It is a hotel used by tour buses, but we had a great room with comfortable bed, etc. We did not hear anyone else all night. They had a wonderful breakfast buffet. Very convenient. Would rather stay here then on the island. Much less expensive and more convenient as far as bags, etc. You will need a code to get your car to the hotel or you have to park in the public lots outside the village. Great view of the Mont after dark. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for a night in Sept 2012.

Pros:
1. Location is quite good. Just opposite to a supermarket and a cafe where you can buy souvenirs or have a cup of drink or sandwiches. Can access to the entrance of the wall outside the Mont by bus, and the bus station isn't far away, can access quite easily on foot.
2. Room size is ok. It's big compared with rooms in Paris in general.
3. We stayed on the ground floor. Luckily not noisy during my stay.
4. The room is clean, although seeing mosquito sometimes.

Cons:
1. Breakfast is below average. Limited choices and not really tasteful. Luckily it's complimentary.
2. The attitude of staff in front desk vary: we asked for information about bus/ Mont St. Michel for several occasions. Some of their attitude were friendly but some looked impatient.
3. Style of the hotel is a bit dated.

In short, the hotel is ok overall but if I visit MSM again in future, I may try other hotels.

Room Tip: As the hotel has no escalator, travellers may request ground floor upon check in.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel

Address: Route du Mont Saint Michel | BP 8, 50170 Mont-St-Michel, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-St-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Mont-St-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is equipped with 100 spacious rooms. Located at the entry of the dike, 1800 meters of the Mont St Michel and of its Abbey of 11th century, the hotel features a gourmet restaurant with regional specialities, a bar and 6 conference rooms (100 people). Private and free carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Accor Mont Saint Michel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.