We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mere Poulard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Mere Poulard to your Saves list
La Mere Poulard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grande Rue BP 18 | BP 18, 50170 Mont-St-Michel, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Mont-St-Michel
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Although expensive, we paid just as much for less in other cities, which had no character and once in a lifetime experience. Since both my husband and myself have back injuries and debilitating pain at times, I booked this hotel to guarantee we we staying inside Mont St Michel, with no potential problems of walking, transportation etc. It was a great decision, as when you are ready to explore the next morning, simply walk outside the front door. The hotel staff were nice and helpful, very professional. We arrived with 2 good sized bags and the staff quickly had them brought to our room, 4 flights up, I believe. Poor young guy, panting when he got there. God bless him. It definitely is not for wheelchair bound persons, but most of Europe is not disabled friendly, so not unexpected. The room and hotel is very interesting, lovely experience all together. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was quite expensive but one cannot complain about price if you have seen the price and continue to order, then you have knowingly made that decision. No fault of the hotel or restaurant. We were travelling across Europe, 7 countries, including a cruise, and this meal was one of my all time favorites. We both had meals with chicken. My dish was like a deconstruction of a stew, it was absolutely fabulous. They held our luggage after check-out which was nice, gave us the opportunity to wander around without dragging it along. We were very happy with our stay and would do so again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    175
    119
    81
    131
See reviews for
156
326
36
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We booked our room a year in advance but were notified the day before our flight that there had been "a systems error" and we no longer had a room. However, they did find us an alternate which turned out to be the best thing that happened to us. Once we got to the Mont, we realized that the so called systems error was more than likely an opportunity to have a tour group stay at the hotel and random American tourists got bounced. We had decided we would still honor our reservation at the restaurant and, honestly, it was the worst meal we had in France. Very overpriced and not that good. But, the plot thickens because La Mere Poulard had the audacity to charge our credit cards for the price of their rooms even though we stayed at a hotel with rooms that were cheaper. Don't bother wasting your money.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mont-St-Michel hotels

Miami, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I traveled here with my family for my eldest son's 10th birthday. There are 5 of us and finding a room to hold all of us in Europe is tough. La Mere Poulard has a family room high up with a tremendous view of the ocean. The tide was out when we were there but wow! The best time to arrive is about 3pm when the tour buses are all leaving. You'll have the Abby to yourself! We toured it in two hours (closed at 6) and had a great dinner at the La Mere Poulard restaurant. It was a bit pricey but good. There was not much of a selection for the kids for dinner.

The beds were great but the pillows were flat and they only gave us 1 per person.

I recommend that you stay here if you can. It's a great location and what an experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Wife's lamb and my filet was over cooked. We asked for "raw", they said "medium", we said "no, raw, like blue". Thought they finally got it. Waiter went in the back, the chef actually came out and look at us. Saw we were Americans. Our food came out completely over cooked, unedible. No high end restaurant would cook a filet or lamb that way. We had to ask the waited to redo it since we asked for raw (and this was 65 euro's EACH). Waiter was super nice and understood. Took it back. My filet finally was edible. Wife's lamb, beyond over cooked again.

65 Euros each for two tasting menus. My first course, 4 oysters, second course overcooked filet, third course chocolate mouse. Again 65 Euros. $85 US. We do tasting menus all the time and for that price, withOUT wine, you expect someone more and not over cooked meat. Went to Chateau Chenonceau in Blois restaurant a few day latter, half the price and twice the value. Fantastic food at that Chateau. Skip this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross on Wye
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had heard about this restaurant and wanted to experience the famous omelettes...but was totally aghast at the price!

It was an experience -and there was areal sense of history and the past. I loved the decor and the photos / autographs of famous visitors.

The food was outstanding - albeit expensive. The maitre 'd was polite and helpful - not at all condescending, and took time to explain how the menu and charges work. e.g. you THINK you are paying for Menu 25 euros. In fact it is 25 euros per item. I did not want the lobster with the omelette and opted for the plain omelette with mushrooms - the total bill for 2 of us was 102 euros. We did not have wine etc but instead, apple juice.

As I pondered the food whilst eating it, I sensed that in fact you were not just paying for the food but for the sense of history and sense of place. A one off experience - yes. Worth it? Just about! I shall talk about this for months to come and remember it for the rest of my life.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

When you enter Mt Saint Michel you are transferred into a magical world. My partner and I wanted to be full emerged in this world for two days so we booked La Mere Poulard.

In short, we were met by a grumpy person on reception, not offered to assist us with luggage when it was quiet obvious we had a lot of it. At the time we were travelling to Portugal on motorbikes, we tented all the way but splashed out at Le Mt. Saint Michel. So we had a lot of gear which we had to haul up the four flights of stairs on our own, a little assistance would have been really great.

Room was ok, it was pretty but a bit tatty.

When we went for food that night service by our waiter was not the best. We got the omlette as it is recommended to try it in so many reviews, what a disappointment and so EXPENSIVE!!!

All in all for what it cost us to stay here I would not return. It was very very expensive and I did not feel we got the experience we had hoped for out of it.

I loved our trip to this magical place and the accommodation did not take away from it but would look elsewhere for accommodation next time.

Room Tip: There are some wonderful places outside of Mt St Michele for a substantially lower price than what i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vigo, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel is located inside the island, near the abbey, it is an old hotel but with charming. There is not elevator, the bathroom is not so good as desired.
It is expensive but you paid for the location. It has a restaurant where cooking the most famous omelet in Mont Saint Michel, and you can see how they cooking the omelets.

Room Tip: Choose one with views to the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Mere Poulard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mere Poulard

Address: Grande Rue BP 18 | BP 18, 50170 Mont-St-Michel, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-St-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Mont-St-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Mere Poulard 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the only setting of its kind in the world, nestled in the middle of the medieval city of Mont Saint-Michel, La Mere Poulard offers you the charm and comfort of its hotel, the tradition and quality of its restaurant, the warmth and conviviality of its piano-bar: an unforgettable moment in this magical place full of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your La Mere Poulard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mere Poulard Hotel Mont-St-Michel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mere Poulard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.